Every Word I Speak, Every Breath I Take…

The last few days I have been having the worst wisdom teeth pain. Like, it’s been so bad that I can barely eat and dread opening my mouth for conversation. Even breathing and swallowing is agonizing. I’ve been in a near constant T3 haze, with little actual pain relief…just a sludgey brain.

Usually, I’ll go through spurts of my wisdom teeth hurting, but it’s never this bad. It’s never this intense pain when I swallow, breathe, or talk, and it’s never dragged on this long.

Today is day 3, and when I woke up this morning I instantly started sobbing and crying because it hurt so bad — and I’m no stranger to pain! Pain usually makes me irritable, but not like this. I guess it’s quite different when the pain is in your mouth and even swallowing is agonizing.

Matt actually called into work, so that I could spend the day resting and trying to get the probable infection under control. There were no available dental appointments so I have to wait until 5pm tomorrow to see the dentist, but I went into the walk in to get antibiotics. I’m praying that my dentist can get me in quickly for the actual wisdom teeth procedure, I’m tired of not being able to eat anything or open my mouth. I love food too much to not be able to eat it.

Nolan also played hooky today. Matt wanted to spend the day with both boys, since he rarely gets to see them due to working all the time.

Speaking of which, I’m glad Matt was able to call in, and be here. It was a tremendous relief for me. He sent me to bed and asked his mom to take me to the walk in. When I returned, the boys and I snuggled up to watch Monsters University while Matt organized the backyard for winter…something we Canadians are already thinking about, unfortunately. It’s already the fifth of November (remember remember), and the snow usually hits anytime from now and just doesn’t quit.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, pain, personal, updates, words, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Every Word I Speak, Every Breath I Take…

  1. tierney says:

    Luckily I didn’t have any real pain before mine were out, but they were necessary to get out. It’ll be over in a blink and if you’re lucky, you could get them out on a Friday (so Matt’s around on the weekend) and you’ll be feeling way better by Monday. Try relaxing with some heat on your jaw after the kids go down for the night!

    Oh..and trust me, you’re so used to your normal pain and have figured out ways to balance your life with pain but the addition of any new pain always comes as such a shock- you’re not alone!

    • Jess says:

      I’m glad to hear I’m not alone with the shock of additional pain. I am feeling like a wuss, I’ll confess! I’m going to try that heat on the jaw thing. Thanks hun!

Leave a Reply

