Growing My Business

One of the things that really intimidated me about becoming a Scentsy Consultant was the having to, well, talk to other people. Like, in person. Face to face. The idea of being in direct sales certainly never appealed to me before I heard about Scentsy. I instantly fell in love with the product, and I just had to be a part of the Scentsy world, even if that meant being in direct sales, something that has always intimidated me.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned since becoming a Scentsy Consultant, it’s that being in direct sales is not as terrifying as I originally thought and that you can definitely make money. Sure, talking to a huge group of people I don’t know is still a nerve-wrecking thought, and since I’ve yet to host any at home parties, I still haven’t come over that nervousness and I bet I likely won’t until a couple months in. But I’m finding something that I honestly didn’t think I’d find before…and that is that I’m excited to do it. 

I have a couple home parties lined up for November with a few more in the works, and I’m….excited. I’m excited to introduce this wonderful product and company to people. I’m excited to watch as they discover the amazing fragrances and share with them just how awesome Scentsy is. And I’m not just saying that. In order to be in direct sales, you actually have to believe in what you’re doing, in what you’re selling. I do. I’ve never had a doubt about Scentsy, I’ve never thought that I wouldn’t get sales. It’s a product that sells itself. Yes, in order to get my business to grow I do need to put forth a steady effort – but that’s the fun part. Branding myself, getting my name out there, doing up cute little sample packages and handing out catalogues to my friends and their friends – all of that is exciting and fulfilling. Nerve-wrecking, yes, but exciting and fulfilling. 

The other day, I brought a catalogue to the bus stop to give to a lady there. The entire time I was walking, I fretted. I was nervous about it, worried she’d hate me for “pushing” product on her…but guess what? She loves Scentsy and usually just orders online, but she’s excited to start ordering from me and she’s even talking about hosting a home party! She wants to get those host-credits and half-priced items. Understandably so, who doesn’t love getting half-priced items? I brought another catalogue yesterday, to give to a lady I see walking her day care kids every day. The same thing happened! She loves Scentsy and orders it online usually, but was happy to hear she now knew someone very local. She’s going to be placing an order soon.

So, I’m making it a regular habit to hand out catalogues, samples and business cards. I’m making it a habit to have those things on me at all time. There’s a difference between “pushing” product on someone and saying “hey! I sell Scentsy. Would you like a catalogue?”

20131031-093108.jpg

I also put together a bunch of samples with my information and a cute little tag to hand out to the moms on Halloween. Personally, I’d be stoked to get a little something for me while taking my kids trick or treatin’…you know, I mean aside from their candy that I’ll totally be having too. However, I didn’t end up doing that because duty called – my littlest bug was too scared to go trick or treating without me, so I went with him. That’s another great part of this job though, the flexibility.

I’m excited to report that I nearly reached my goal for the month: getting to 1000 PRV. I was about 240 PRV off, but I’m still excited – coming close is awesome. I never would have thought that my first month of business would be this good, and I’m proud of myself for all that I have achieved. An amazing customer base, getting the Shooting Star Award just a few days after signing up as a Consultant, the feeling of booking a party, and doing online parties. I’ve done so much, and I’m definitely patting myself on the back for it. I can only continue to go up from here! 

I know that November is going to be an even greater month! I’m hoping to focus on booking more parties and maybe even growing my team by one or two people 😉 I’m also confident I can reach an overall 1200 PRV and easily nab that Scentsational Start Award in the bag 😉

Here’s to November, and growing my business!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bits and pieces, blogging, fears, figuring it out, happenings, honesty, hopes, musings, Scentsy, updates, words, work, yay me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Growing My Business

  1. This is awesome! I’m so excited for you! I can just “see” the smile in your words and how excited you are. I’m cheering you on hardcore!

  2. Pingback: Hitting Goals — and then some! – The Fevered Pen

Leave a Reply

