A Night Out on the Town – Sorta

Yesterday, my sisters and I took my dad out for dinner and to go see a Steve Earle concert for his birthday. It was a lot of fun! It was the first concert I’d been to since I [attempted] to stand in the pouring rain at Edge Fest nearly 6 years ago.

20131030-092844.jpg20131030-092850.jpg

Steve Earle put on a great show. He was entertaining, political, thought provoking and enjoyable. K & I only really knew one song too, and that was Copperhead Road. We used to dance to it when we were little kids, stomping around the living room. His music was still good and he still has an amazing voice and I lost count of how many instruments he and his band mates played. Seriously, I’ve never seen anything like it.

The Mastersons opened for him. I’d never heard a single song of them prior to the concert but they were also good! Her voice was beautiful.

20131030-093407.jpg

We ended up leaving the concert before it ended, because my dad, K and I were all exhausted and I couldn’t sit in the chairs anymore. But we got to hear Copperhead Road and seriously – that song lit up the house. It’s crazy to think how people still react to it, but it’s a classic.

So, if Steve Earle ever comes your way – I totally recommend his show. Seriously. He’s a riot.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, cool beans, personal, stuff, the good, updates, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

