Recognizing the Little Things…

I have a confession: I’m guilty of not always appreciating the small things in life. The little goodies from each day that never fail to bring a smile to my face. The sweeter moments, the good things.

I recognize them when they’re happening, of course, but I have trouble recalling them in times of…difficulty.

My days are almost always overshadowed by the fact that I didn’t sleep good the night before. I never sleep good the night before. Good sleep is such a rarity that when it happens, I don’t even know what to do with myself. I don’t even recognize myself the next day. I have patience the next day. I have an easy smile and it’s just…weird.

Lack of sleep doesn’t make for a very patient Jess.

But…I am so blessed. So lucky. Even if it feels like my 2 year old will never grasp sleeping all night, alone, in his own bed and not on the couch…I am blessed.

My children are beautiful and healthy.

20131022-100722.jpg

20131022-100729.jpg

We have a roof over our heads and food in our bellies.

We have a dog. I know, most people don’t really consider that a major thing, a blessing, but most people don’t see how my children interact with our dog. They don’t see the bond and friendship. They don’t see how wonderful having a dog truly is, simply by looking through the eyes of those children.

20131022-100954.jpg

I’m blessed in that I keep a very booming social life for myself and the kids. We have play dates with friends often, I have coffee with other friends often, and weekly hang outs at my place with my friends. It’s great!

We are blessed in that Matt has a job that he loves. I love seeing how excited he is to go to work, and hearing the stories he tells. The most interesting one? They scrapped the cars from a very big movie that’s being filmed. I’m not sure if I can say what movie, so I won’t, but he was so excited about it and so was I. I now can’t wait to see that movie, just to have Matt point out what cars came in to be scrapped.

And I’m blessed too in that I’ve recently started my own business venture, and I have to say…I am LOVING IT! I’ve achieved a “shooting star award”, which means I hit over 500 dollars in sales during my first 15 days of being a Scentsy Consultant. I hit that number on my third day of being a Scentsy Consultant, before my starter kit even arrived, and all thanks to my amazing family and friends who came and supported me during my launch party. It was extremely successful, all because of them! Along with the award, I get a major discount on the Scentsy Shooting Star Enhancement Kit (which I’ll be taking advantage of, for sure!). My next goal is to make the Scentsational Start Award. (And on that note, the Monster Monday sale is still on – it’s been extended so go on and take advantage of that!)

So, things are good and I feel like I needed to take a moment to really focus on that good — even if I am sleep deprived!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, good stuff, growing, honesty, iPhone posting, just thoughts, life as I know it, love love love, me, motivation, musings, personal, photos, reminders, Scentsy, updates, what I'm feeling, words, work, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Recognizing the Little Things…

  1. Unsure "Adult" says:

    You achieving that with Scentsy makes me want to sell it.

    I’ve tried Mary Kay but, I don’t wear make-up. I just liked their face wash. I was working on Dove Chocolate Discoveries & I am sure I could sell more here, if I was a bit more persistent & could find people who like chocolate, aren’t scared of the price because they look expensive but, for the amount you get & the quality, it’s not–I think this might be the motivation I need to get back on track with the Dove Chocolates though–& for making sure I appreciate all those little things as well.

    • Jess says:

      I’d be happy to sponsor you if you’d like! I can now sponsor anyone in Canada, the States, or Mexico, and anyone from those areas can order off my personal website (by clicking the flag beside the search bar and changing it to their country). It’s only been a few days and I’m really loving it! It’s tons of fun and it’s a product you can get behind because the quality is great and the wax scent collection is MASSIVE.

      Let me know, send me an email if you’re interested (jcahdavis AT gmail DOT com).

      Having lots of little businesses like Scentsy and selling chocolate is a great way to earn some extra income 🙂

  2. Unsure "Adult" says:

    Reblogged this on Boo's & Ooo's and commented:
    We all need to appreciate those little things. & I think this is exactly what I needed to give me motivation to start selling Dove Chocolate Discoveries again. Fingers crossed.

  3. Pingback: Growing My Business | The Fevered Pen

Leave a Reply

