A Letter to My 16 Year Old Self {52 Weeks of Blogging With a Purpose}

Dear Jess;

I’ve struggled with writing this letter to you. I’ve typed up sentences, paragraphs even, and quickly erased them. They don’t sound right…none of them. How do I begin to tell my 16 year old self anything really? How can I begin to explain how life is going to throw you many curve balls, it’s going to shock you and test you, and that nothing will go according to plan when I know how horrible that sounds to you?

You’re all about your plans, you still are. But life has a funny way of making those plans change. I know, that doesn’t sound good to you — but trust me, it is good!

I know you think you’ll end up with that guy you’re totally not really in love with, but the thing is…you won’t. You also won’t end up with the next guy you think is the one. He can talk the talk, but he doesn’t walk the walk. You also won’t end up with rebound guy (thank god). But I can promise you; the guy you do end up with is actually the love of your life. You’ll meet him and everything will make sense. You’ll fall in love with one another quickly.

I know you go on and on about how you don’t want biological kids, about how maybe you’ll adopt when you’ve established your career as a Social Worker, but…life (ehem, and unsafe sex) has a funny way of throwing curveballs, and those two positive signs you’ll see in two short years will alter the course of your life in a totally amazing way.

I know, at 16 you pictured yourself by 24 as a Career Woman, you pictured yourself graduating top of your class from the Social Worker program and working as a child and youth worker, paying bills and driving your own car and living in your own apartment with a cat or a dog and a shit-ton of books, and a hot boyfriend that doesn’t bother you too too much, and your own rules.

But this life you actually end up with is far more amazing and fulfilling than that. You’re married to a pretty incredible guy, who’s totally hot. Like, bad boy biker hot only without the motorcycle and the bad boy habits. He’s sweet (most of the time) and only has eyes for you. Those two kids you have? AMAZING. They are beyond adorable, beyond perfection – even if they drive you nuts on occasion.

You have a home, a dog, and a ton of books — even if they’re on your iPhone. Hey, don’t complain. You’re saving trees!

Oh ya, you have an iPhone. Along with like everyone else on the planet. Cool huh?

I don’t really know what else to tell ya, other than try not to be too heartbroken when the next two relationships don’t work out. I promise you, the door will open to a much hotter prospect and you will end up married to him and curling up in his arms every night. Also, don’t worry about your career aspirations so much — you will get there, even if you have to wait a little while.

And don’t ever stop writing. Who knows, maybe one day that will be your big fancy career 😉

Signed,
Your 24 Year Old Self.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, blogging with purpose, letters, me, prompts, words, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Letter to My 16 Year Old Self {52 Weeks of Blogging With a Purpose}

  1. lisalday111711 says:

    I love this post! What a great idea. I am inspired to do something similar. So what is this 52 Weeks of Blogging with a Purpose? Is it a challenge? Looks fun and I was curious. I am so glad you recognize how even when life throws you curve balls it doesn’t necessarily mean that is a bad thing. Sheryl Crow says in one of her songs…Life happens while you are making plans. So true.
    Lisa

    • Jess says:

      It’s 52 weeks of blogging prompts! Mostly related to motherhood and the like. On From Mrs to Mama. Next weeks prompt is: How my childhood impacted who I am today.

      Join in!

Leave a Reply

