Canning Pears

Yesterday, my neighbour C and I canned pears using the pears from my old house pear tree and from her boyfriends tree.

I’d never canned, well, anything before. I’ve been canned (har har har) before, but ya. C is relatively new to canning as well. It was a fun experience, a bit of effort but totally worth it.

20130918-144855.jpg

Obviously, you need pears to do this. A lot of them. And sealable mason jars as well. You have to peel all the pears and sterilize the jars and lids. That’s a tad time consuming, but ya.

20130918-145034.jpg

Then you bring 8 cups of water, 1 and a half cups of sugar, and cinnamon (as much as you desire — we used A LOT) to a boil and add the peeled and cut pears. Let them boil for 5 minutes, then put them into the jars. Stuff as many as you can in, then fill with the liquid (not to the top, just to where the rim begins…if that makes sense).

20130918-145855.jpg

To seal the jars, submerge in boiling water for 20 minutes and wait until you hear a pop. Sometimes it happens right away, sometimes overnight. You’ll know it’s sealed when you go to press down on the top of the lid and it doesn’t push then it’s sealed.

20130918-145925.jpg

I think we did pretty well. We made 25 cans in total, we split it and both took 12 each and have 1 to C’s friend who helped peel and cut pears and entertain Archer for me.

I’ll definitely be canning more in the near future! I’d love to do apple sauce next. You can never have too much apple sauce! I’d also like to can some tomatoes and whatever else is in my garden.

Next year, my canning endeavours will be more profitable, as we are going to add more veggies to our garden. More peppers, more onions, more and different kinds of tomatoes, herbs, and so on and so forth. The list is endless!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bits and pieces, blogging, canning, cool beans, happenings, homemaker, in the kitchen, kitchen stuff, learning, little projects, odds n ends, personal, quick notes, recipes, the good, this n that, tidbits, to-do lists, words and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Canning Pears

  1. Unsure "Adult" says:

    This gives me hope that one day–maybe in a year or just a few months–that I will be able to go back to what my family grew up doing. I miss canning & don’t remember doing a whole lot of it as a kid but, I have good memories from it so, I can’t wait to get started again.

  2. Unsure "Adult" says:

    Reblogged this on Boo's & Ooo's and commented:
    This is what my family grew up doing! & I am so looking forward to trying it on my own as my kiddos grow–right now, with a (almost) 4 month old, it would be ridiculously hard, with as crabby as he has been. But, when we get moved into the new house (that we just got approved for yesterday), I am going to start stocking up on canning supplies & next summer, I am going to grow as much in a garden as I can! πŸ™‚ Super excited! πŸ˜€ The dream continues.

  3. Great post! I just moved into a house that has an overwhelming amount of fruit trees (pears, peaches, plums, apples) and I have no idea what to do with them all. I really need to give this a try.

Leave a Reply

