High School Back Then {52 Weeks of Blogging with a Purpose}

This weeks 52 Weeks of Blogging with a Purpose prompt is high school back then. Such an interesting, awkward topic.

Oh, high school. How I loved you, and how I hated you. So many awesome memories, and so many unpleasant memories. Some of the best times of my life, and some of the worst times of my life.

20130916-120737.jpg

I remember waking up, fighting one (or both) of my sisters for the bathroom to get ready. I would do my makeup in my room, using the sliding mirror closet doors. My go to look was brown or green eyeshadow, mascara and eyeliner. I would always wear my long hair down.

I took a bus, and it picked us up at the end of our very long drive way. We’d all walk to the bus stop. I hated taking the bus. It was the worst for bullies and cliques.

Once at school, I’d meet up with my friends. Before the bell would ring, we’d hang out in the hallways. At lunch, we’d usually walk to Subway. I had a guy friend that almost always bought me lunch. A turkey sub with extra cheese from Subway, or if we ate in the cafeteria – French fries. Lunch was my “favourite” part of the day, just hanging out with my friends.

There were many awkward high school relationships. Some didn’t last any longer than a day, others lasted over a year. There was that awkward crush I had on a “popular” guy who’d only message me on MSN…and then he sent me pictures of his “member”.

I got over that crush pretty fast, thankfully.

But there was the crush that lasted almost 4 years, on that same friend that would buy me lunch. He took me to Semi-Formal the first year we were all old enough to go. I had my hair down professionally and my sister helped with my makeup. I wore a satin long evening gown, and I danced with my friends until I could no longer stand. We went to an after party, where one of my friends projectile vomited everywhere. We left after that…the stench was too much. We were back and forth for a while. He stringed me along. There was many tears shed on my part, from how he made me feel. We ended up dating, and breaking up, because I realized the reality of him wasn’t that great.

There were many friendships lost in high school, and many formed. There were camp fire parties, basement parties, and grave yard parties (yes, you read that right. Grave yard parties…if only I could go back in time and slap myself). There was me falling into a creek at a party and getting soaked, having to wear my ridiculous pjs in front of all the guys (who were there for the “day” part, not the “slumber” party).

All of the notes my best friend, JD, and I would exchange – all folded so expertly.

20130916-183250.jpg
{via}

There were several ones of her and I fighting, and her “breaking up” with me. I think she still has them all…

There was flip phones and T9 texting, MySpace and MSN. There was ‘selfies’ with actual cameras. There was MANY fights with my sister, who was 13 months older than me and felt like I was ruining her “image” with my gothic phase.

20130916-124428.jpg

High school sure was an interesting experience. It helped shaped me into the person I am today. It also gave me a lot of complexes.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, blogging with purpose, good stuff, growing up, link ups, me, personal, random, updates, words, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to High School Back Then {52 Weeks of Blogging with a Purpose}

  1. Pingback: Propose A Purpose | Boo's & Ooo's

Leave a Reply

