The New House… {Before}

Yesterday, I took Nolan to our new house. He’s been asking about it every day, wondering if it had a kitchen, a place for his toys and his bed and so on and so forth.

20130826-214650.jpg

I cautioned him on the drive over. I told him that the new house was going to look a lot different when we move in. I told him we were going to paint, and make some minor changes here and there.

He nodded with understanding, and we toured the house. He loved it! He’s excited for it. He can’t wait to see his and Archer’s room painted (blue, right mommy?) and the play room set up. He adores the backyard.

I’m in love with it too. I didn’t want to share pictures yet, but why the heck not? I do apologize in advance, it was hard to snap pictures while Nolan ran ahead of me asking what which room was, so some are shaky.

Behold, the Before Pictures:

20130826-215144.jpg

The back door (which we will mainly be using, probably) leads in to the dining room and foyer/laundry room.

20130826-215432.jpg

The kitchen has a lot of cupboard space, and there’s the shelf I was talking about! Plants would look great on it.

20130826-215900.jpg

The top pictures are of the living room, and the bottom two are of the play room. Lots of space, as I said! I definitely love it. The paint colours I chose will look great!

20130826-220039.jpg

The boys room! That desk thing will go, and the boys will both have their own “half” of the room.

20130826-220247.jpg

Our room is a little smaller than the boys room, but we’re cool with that! There’s plenty of room to make it functional.

And last but not least…the backyard…

20130826-220340.jpg

So much space. We didn’t even venture to the back part of the backyard.

We do have our work cut out for us. See what I mean about painting? Definitely has to happen. The cupboards in the kitchen are older too, so I’m going to buy that cupboard wallpaper stuff and line them all.

I’m going to have Matt build a couple closets in the cubbies in our room (which aren’t pictured, but they’re there!). The smaller one will be turned into a linen cupboard and the larger one will have my dresses.

I also want to have the living room and play room carpets steam cleaned.

Aside from those things and putting up the fence, that’s really all that needs to be done before we move in!

The landlord said we could do anything and it’d all be replaced by them — putting up the fence, painting, etc etc. Since he works out west, Matt and I offered to do all of that stuff so we could have it done to our liking. Since he’s reimbursing us, we don’t mind putting in the effort!

There’s only five more days until we get the keys. Matt may not be ready to paint and all that right away, but we’ve had a lot of offers for help so I’m not overly worried about it.

Now for the fun part…packing. Since the accident, I’ve been slacking. Majorly. All that changes this week! I’m going to start with the bedrooms and pack up the majority of clothes, leaving out a weeks worth or so (as a bonus; we’ll downsize in laundry for a bit). Then the kitchen — I’m pretty sure I’m not going to be needing the pot roast pot, or the billions of baking dishes. I don’t bake and I don’t even use the pot roast pot, not with my crockpot readily available.

I still can’t believe there’s only five days until we get the keys. That flew by!

I just hope that I can accomplish everything within the first few weeks. The pressure is on!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bits and pieces, blogging, happenings, house and home, moving, musings, N, projects, scribbles, things, this n that, tidbits, updates, us, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The New House… {Before}

  1. YAY! new house! Nolan looked super psyched! LOVE all the pictures!

  2. tierney says:

    so exciting & lots of character!!

Leave a Reply

