The Weekend…

This weekend marked my first solo weekend with BOTH the boys, with no breaks at all…and I handled it pretty well, if I do say so myself. Sure, my house isn’t as spotless as I’d like it to be, but I’ve kind of given up on that, considering I have unrealistic expectations.Β 

This weekend, I stayed [somewhat] on top of laundry, and was extremely consistent in potty training. I handled night wake ups by myself, and clean ups/meal preps by myself. I know that it seems kind of sad that I’m recounting this for y’all, since most of my readers are full-time SAHM moms who all but solo parent 7 days a week, but considering Matt has been home for the past 7 months helping me whilst job hunting…this is a big deal for me. {And I admire you solo-mama’s SO SO MUCH, I’m not trying to undermine what you do in the least!}.

I was beginning to think I couldn’t handle two kids and a household by myself. Sure, it’s only been two days…but those two days showed me that I’m not as incapable as I thought I was. Matt’s been off work since Archer’s birth, practically, and he’s never been far from home and always ready to dart back if I need a break, so I’ve never really gotten the chase to prove to myself I could do it. Sure, I had several weeks down south of “solo” parenting, but Matt’s mom and step-dad helped out so I wasn’t entirely alone.

How is it that I work more efficiently with Matt not home? I’m not trying to push tasks onto him to lighten my load, then I get lazy because I end up assigning him more than I do because why not haha. So, this weekend showed my that I am, indeed, capable, and I feel great.

Sure, my patience was tested this weekend – over and over – and I had some not so awesome mommy moments {yelling, etc}, but if I do say so…I did pretty well, considering for my first weekend alone with both boys, I decided to do a Potty Training Boot Camp.

The boys have been pretty damn amazing too. I was dreading that they’d team up on me, especially at night, but honestly things have flown so smoothly that I’m still reeling with shock! Even the evenings which should be chaotic because they usually are went easy. Dinner prep, dinner itself, the after dinner kitchen clean up and living room tidy up went amazingly – Nolan helped me both nights with dishes and picking up his toys. I skipped baths the first night, but last night I bathed both of them at the same time. I’ve always been super intimidated about bathing them both at the same time when it’s just me at home, and I thought I wouldn’t be able to handle it…however, I just made sure to have a diaper and Archer’s PJs ready in the bathroom so I could dry him off and dress him while Nolan continued to play in the tub, then I put Archer in his bumbo while I got Nolan out and dried off. Easy peasy!

With Matt still pursuing the out west job, I’m feeling slightly more confident about my skills should he get that job…I mean, I’m sure 20 days of solo parenting will be extremely difficult and very lonely, the two days I just had gave me a taste of that. I actually went to bed at like 9pm both nights because there just wasn’t anything else for me to do! But I know that I could handle it, and that gives me confidence.

I’m also looking forward to tomorrow! Matt’s first day at his new job, it’s going to be super nice to get into a routine with the boys again. Somehow, I feel best when Matt’s working full-time and I’m handling everything on the home front, you know?

Anyways. Here are some of my favourite photos from this weekend:

I hope everyone else had a great weekend! Now I’m off to do some laundry and cleaning before Matt gets home πŸ™‚

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in homemaker, mom life, momlems, randoms, recaps, stuff we did, the weekend, thoughts, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Weekend…

  1. Way to go, Mama! I never doubted you for a second. I know I was so anxious about being at home alone with a newborn and a 15 month old. Looking back I'm kinda glad Ryan was off to work immediately after Hannah's birth because I think when you get used to having the help all the time it would just up the anxiety level about doing it solo. And I'm way more efficient when Ryan's not home too! I get lazy with him around. Somehow when he's at work laundry, dishes, cleaning, and good meals all get done a lot more quickly!

  2. Missa says:

    Good for you!!! It's amazing what we can accomplish when we have to πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. It's funny how that works huh? They must think we're so incapable lmfao!

  4. Exactly! I should learn to stop doubting myself lol.

Leave a Reply

