Date Night!

Last night the husband and I got to go on a date! I got all dolled up…

Matt and I walked to the movie theater, since it’s just around the corner. We saw The Avengers, and it was amazing, seriously. I loved it so much, and I don’t think I’m being biased or anything just because I have a crush on Thor haha. I loved the one-liners, and the dialogue, and obviously the special effects were amazing. I just over all LOVED the movie, so did Matt.

After the movie, we walked to Tim Hortons. I craved a coffee but I was good and got an apple juice, since it was 11pm and I didn’t need to keep myself up any longer. We walked home, and then cuddled and talked in bed for a while. I was so tired, I wanted to stay up longer and just talk but holy hell I was exhausted…probably because I had been up since like 6am.

We talked to Matt’s step-mom about making date night a semi-regular thing, so whenever she’s in town (she works out of town a lot) we’re going to make sure we sneak out for a couple of hours on dates. Even if we can’t “afford” to do anything, we could always walk to one of the nearby beaches and just sit and talk, attention focused 100% on each other. I love being a mom, and I love giving my kids attention, but I think that Matt and I have been focusing all of our attention on the kids for so long that we’re both feeling at war with each other…you know? We need to make some time completely about us. Last night was so therapeutic, especially after how I’ve been feeling lately. I really needed a break from our norm, and I got it!

So, yeah. Moral of [this piece] of the story is that we need to make more time for each other as a couple, as husband & wife, not just as parents. As for the Boomerang…I’ve called my doctor and have booked an appointment. I can’t be seen until June but I’m trying to keep myself busy and put less emphasis on the stuff that I can’t control (Matt’s job situation, not being able to have a spotless house, etc etc) and just enjoy things more.

I’m also going to start doing things for me more. Taking a little bit of extra money, even though it could always go somewhere else, and spending it on myself. I need new clothes, otherwise I’m going to continue to feel horrible about myself/my body. My clothes are several sizes too small. My body has changed since I had kids. I have boobs, for one, and more curves. I’m not fat but I’m not a size 4 anymore. Buying clothes that suit my body type will help me feel a little bit more confident and that will do wonders for my self-esteem. I just need to kill the whole mindset I have about spending money on myself and clothes. Small things, to help improve my mood and self confidence. Obviously if you feel like you look like shit, you’re going to feel like shit.

And obviously, I’m aware of the fact that there’s probably a billion more things I need to work on/discuss with a counselor, but since I have to wait until June I’m going to do what I can now.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in date night, depression, me, realizations, self improvement, self-esteem, stuff we did. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Date Night!

  1. I swear I commented on this already but anyways…

    I LOVE that shirt you're wearing. Is it a necklace or is it an attachment for the shirt? You look great in it, super flattering.

    I'm glad to hear you had a nice date night. Hope you guys do make a habit out of it! Ryan and I haven't had a date night in ions either. We always take turns going out. I was a bit inspired by you though so this Friday it's our turn.

    P.S. You're strong. I totally wouldn't be able to have an apple juice smelling all that Tim Horton's coffee.

  2. Hot momma! Rj and I really need more date nights.

  3. It's a decal on the shirt lol. Thank you!

    What are you gonna do on Friday?! And for the record…I totally had about a quarter of Matt's coffee 😉 I was just SUPER thirsty so I needed to drink some juice fast haha

  4. Thank you!! You guys should! Go see The Avengers lol

  5. Good for you for doing stuff for yourself! YAY! And hooray for date night! Wil and I need one ASAP!

Leave a Reply

