Nap Time Confessional: Uninvited Guests

Note: Wrote this yesterday afternoon. Forgot to publish haha! 

The kids are sleeping, again…at the same time. This is only the second time this has happened. The first time, I sat down to get some writing done and then had an uninvited guest. I’ve gotta say, I am not a fan of uninvited guests, which is why I’m writing this whole post. It’s basically dedicated to uninvited guests and even if I seriously love the person stopping it, the fact that they did so with me unaware always leaves me a little bit pissed.

 I kid you not, I rarely get dressed. Unless we’re going to play group or somewhere else, I don’t bother changing out of my PJs because there is no point. I’m just gonna get another outfit dirtied, and if I’m being honest {which I am}, none of my pants fit me right. My ass hangs out every time I bend over, and that’s not exactly comfortable. I’d much rather wear comfortable sweats or PJ bottoms. 
And why waste makeup on a stay at home day? I’m broke, I don’t have the luxury of spending as much on makeup as I used to spend. Seriously, my stash is dwindling and I’m not about to use it up on a regular day of just me and the kids. I’m just going to get banana goop in my hair anyway, right?
So, most days I am not dressed for company. Even when we do go to play group, usually I take off my “outing” clothes and throw my sweats back on the moment we get home. It’s far more comfortable and if I could ditch the [nursing] bra without leaking all over the place, I totally would. 
Needless to say, I don’t want people showing up uninvited. I prefer a text message, a phone call – something to give me a heads up so I can pick up the dry cereal off the living room floor, ya know?
I have two kids, one of them keeps me pretty much grounded on the couch nursing for a majority of the day. My house generally reflects that. Toys, clutter, spilled dry cereal on occasion…
 I try to keep shit clean, but there are some days when I know nothing is going on so I’ll just chill out with the kids and not care about picking up after them immediately
That’s always when someone drops by unexpected. Never a text, never a call. I don’t care if it’s family or a close friend, I generally like to make sure my house doesn’t look too bad and that I’ve at least tossed on a pair of jeans and brushed my hair/teeth. 
So, if you know me in real life and are thinking about “dropping by”, just give me a 20 minute head start to make sure I don’t look like hell. Alright?

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in confessions, frustrations, stuff I'm saying, who knows. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nap Time Confessional: Uninvited Guests

  1. Rachel-Ann says:

    i agree, my inlaws stop by constantly. ive started just telling them the dog barks and wakes tristan, so make sure you give me a heads up. lol my dog excuse works every time 🙂

  2. Such a good idea, only we don't have a dog and the nap thing doesn't phase the uninvited guests 😦 they don't really care because they don't have to deal with the kids.

  3. Dani says:

    I hear you, I hear you

Leave a Reply

