Scattered Thoughts

I’ve been a rather crap blogger lately, blogging basically only pictures of our day to day things…
I’m sorry for that. I used to write, actually write things. It’s hard to break away from the boys to write, and lately when I can I’ve been devoting time to a little writing project I’ve been working on…
A novel.
I’m excited about this little writing project of mine, but I’m not sure where it’s going to go…or how far I’ll get before I give up.
I know. It’s horrible, isn’t it? For someone who dreams of publishing a book, of holding that book in paperback or hardcover copy…I’m all over the place with my writing.
I have so many different ideas, and sometimes they cross over and then the stories have way too much going on.
For instance, I started writing a novel three days ago. Sent the first bit of the chapter to Elizabeth, then changed everything about it. I’m basically working on an entirely different novel, a different idea.
One that is difficult to write, but I want to write it. It’s about mothers with mental illnesses. 
I’m probably going to change everything about it again.
I suppose I can be thankful that I’m writing again, I’m dedicating time and energy to trying to bring my ideas and characters to life. 
I know Matt wants me to pursue writing. He wants me to follow my dream and he knows that my one consistent dream has been to become a writer, to publish a book and see my name in print.
So, here’s to getting even less sleep while I write more.
And I’m sorry for being so vacant here…
I’ll try to dedicate at least one post with deep substance and meaning each week. 
This counts, right?
(Just kidding)

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in dreaming, goals, stuff and stuff, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Scattered Thoughts

  1. It's totally okay to start a project and then start something else. It's how we learn how to write; if I hadn't stopped some of my older projects, I wouldn't have some of the newer ones that I'm more proud of. I found a story the other day — a second draft — that I last touched in 2008. While reading, I found elements that I unknowingly used in a story I wrote about two years ago — a story that I've been submitting because I know it's good enough to be published in a magazine. I'm now working on the older story because I now have the experience to help it become what it needs to be.

    There's also nothing wrong with changing things over and over in a story. Sometimes, it just isn't working. I recently changed a character's name three times before it finally felt right. I was then able to move forward with the piece. You'd think something that simple and small would be unimportant, but it is.

    You will figure it out. Just keep writing. I believe in you.

  2. Um… That second paragraph should end: “…but it is important.”

    I am such a dork.

  3. Follow your dream girl, make it a goal. I have faith in you.

Leave a Reply

