Nesting??

Lately I’ve been fighting the urge to give our house a total and complete makeover. 
I want to surround myself with The Pretty and bask in it every day. 
This almost feels like nesting, only I know for a fact that it’s not (because I’m not pregnant).
I’m pretty sure I want to make our home beautiful for me and only me….
All of my boys could care less what colour our end tables are, or how we display our photos.
Currently on my “WANT TO DO RIGHT THIS SECOND” list is finding one of those really cool old school windows made into mirrors (for the dining room) and repainting our living room end tables:

Right now they are just wooden with a glossy finish. They are the only wooden thing in our living room though. Everything else is black. Our TV stand, the bookshelf, the floating shelf….
I’m torn between replacing everything in the living room and going with a white wash/birch/light and natural look, and just sticking with black for now. Obviously replacing everything is more expensive. 
As it stands now, all I need to do is paint the end tables to get everything to “match”.
And Matt doesn’t really want white wash/birch/light natural. 
He wants to paint the end tables matte black and give it a strong protective finish. I’m game with that.
So, in May we’re going to do just that! 
In June, I’ve asked for some Ikea bookcases for my birthday. I want two of these for our bedroom and two of these for our living room (to go beside the TV stand on either side). I’m like borderline obsessed with bookcases. Matt keeps asking me why in the world I’d want so many bookcases. Obviously because they are totally multi-purpose pieces of furniture! The living room bookcases would double as DVD storage and other knick knacks. The bedroom bookcases would double as night stands, and are cheaper than actual night stands.
I also want to do something to the couch area. I know that I could buy a slip cover, but I haven’t liked anything out there as of yet. I’d love to find one in turquoise. I love turquoise for our living room. But, finding a turquoise slip cover has been proving to be quite difficult! 
So, I’m thinking bright cheerful throw pillows! I’d prefer solid colours but the selection in this town for throw pillows isn’t so great. 
I’ve also got my eye on some chairs from Walmart, unless I can find something better at a thrift store. I love second hand furniture with a fresh coat of paint! I’ve just not had any luck finding anything that I like. Except for that one time, but Matt wouldn’t cooperate and pick it up for me 😦
It was a really cool retro TV stand.
I hope to find one like it again soon, for the basement.
ANYWAYS.
I’m totally in a “give my house a total makeover” move and lack the means (okay, funds) to do so, and that’s driving me NUTS.
I just want to put all my ideas into action and get shit done!!! 
Luckily I was able to do a little something something today….

In Archer’s room:

 I found some vinyl wall stickers. This quote I love, it’s hanging above Archer’s closet door. I also got some photo’s developed. I put one of my pregnant with Archer photos on his dresser. I’ve got a couple of the boys too, but I’m waiting for the picture frames I spray painted (okay, Matt spray painted) to dry 🙂
 The closest I could come to a tree vinyl wall decal. I like them! We plan on getting one more set, later on. If I can find an actual tree wall decal, it will go on the wall beside the window. 
Other homey touches:
 Over our bed; a little quote. I wanted “always kiss me goodnight” but the Dollarstore didn’t really have a lot of options.
And two (also Dollarstore) pictures that we hung beside our bedroom door and the kids bathroom door. I bought them to go in our bathroom, but they are suede so they can’t. SIGH.

 My pregnancy photo collage frames! On the right is when I was pregnant with Nolan, and the left is when I was pregnant with Archer! Basically all the photos on the right are fuzzy and distorted, so I’ll need to figure out how to get them not fuzzy and distorted. But for now, it’s better than looking at the empty frame like I’ve been doing for over 6 months now!

I finally got a wedding photo developed! Yes, Matt and I have been married for over a year and I still hadn’t gotten any photos developed. This is only a 4×6 and it’s super tiny, but it will do for now until I can get a super huge print and frame! Also in the picture (of pictures) is my Great Granny on her wedding day, and my dad when he was a paratrooper.
So, yeah. That’s what I’ve been doing to satisfy my urge to totally makeover my house. Thank you Dollarstore! I don’t even feel guilty about it because it was so damn cheap!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in decorating, fever, house and home. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nesting??

  1. Melissa says:

    looks good! i really like the tree decals! CUTE!! 🙂

  2. I love the pregnancy photo collages! I hope I remember to do that when/if I get pregnant!

  3. jessi ♥ says:

    Thank you!!! I love them too 🙂 I think I might not even need to buy more!

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    Chances are, I'll probably be bothering you to take pictures every month SO you will! lol

  5. I think your home is starting to look quite beautiful! I haven't done ANYTHING with mine except paint. I feel like my house always looks cluttered…probably because it is.

  6. Amber says:

    Love all those quotes on the walls! We've been in our house for almost 5 months and I am still working on getting everything put together and painting all of the rooms lol. It'll come together though, just give it time.

Leave a Reply

