Archer’s First Haircut!

I was hanging out with my cousin-in-law last night, the one who’s going to school to be a hairstylist, and we got to talking about Archer’s massive amount of hair. I’ve been considering getting him a trim for a while now, because his hair hung straight in his poor little eyes and the emo part was getting a little ridiculous.
But, I really didn’t want to take Archer to a hair salon to have his hair cut. My regular hair dresser is off on maternity leave, and I haven’t found another suitable substitute.
R (my cousin-in-law) said she’d give him a trim, and I decided to give it a go…
 On the left: before
On the right: after
I was scared that I wouldn’t like Archer’s haircut, but I do! I really do! I can see his gorgeous peepers and he still looks super adorable. I had R leave the top thick and just trim his bangs and side burns and trim the back so that he stopped rocking the mullet.
I was getting a little tired of all the “she’s so cute!”…people assumed that because Archer had lots of hair, he was a girl. Uh, no. He’s dressed in BLUE. And, like, come on. 

Archer was rather unimpressed with having his hair cut. He cried! He was quite sad about it. It took us almost an hour to trim it, because he kept freaking out and I kept having to stop to feed him. But he does love being able to see! He’s no longer rubbing his hands in his eyes to try and get hair out of them.
He can see the pig better to yell at it! Hah.

Matt really likes it too! Even though he was the one that was like “Absolutely not!”. 
Of course, I did it when he was out…
Luckily he forgives me because he likes it!
So, yes. A milestone was completed last night.
My baby had his first haircut and I’m pretty much overwhelmed with emotion whenever I look at him…
He’s growing up so fast
It seems like just yesterday we brought him home, and here he is getting (needing) his first haircut. 
Time needs to slow down just a little!
P.S. If you’re looking for a good read, I just got The Forever Girl by Rebecca Hamilton and I’m loving it. Best part? It’s on for $0.99 for Kindle! If you don’t have a Kindle but you do have an iPhone, you can download the Kindle ap and buy books that way. So, that’s what I did!
I really want a Kindle but Matt is convinced I won’t like it. I think I will! Having an e-reader would make trips much more enjoyable, and probably save battery life on my iPhone 😉

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in book worm, books, family, love, mama love, milestones, photos, quick notes, reading, the CUTE. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Archer’s First Haircut!

  1. Aww ohmigosh! His first haircut already! It makes him look so grown up. But still ever sweet. I got an e-reader. You would LOVE it. You can also download book torrents online for free, so the e-reader pays for itself really. Mine came with 100 e-books already loaded on it. They go on sale for like $30 at the Source all the time. Do it do it do it!

  2. Renee says:

    Oh he looks so scrummy!!! Wev already given Lachy 3 haircuts!lol! I dont understand the whole 'She's beautiful' comments, especially in a blue jumpsuit with trucks all over!! And thanks for the book tip!! I need a new read!! 🙂

  3. jessi ♥ says:

    I so wanted to wait until he was over a year old but I don't think that would be possible!!! I want a Kindle so bad, I've asked for one for my birthday. I'll check out the Source and see if I like their e-readers. What's yours?

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    Isn't it frustrating?! People assume bald babies are boys and hairy babies are girls, despite what they are wearing. Jeeeepers. Love the name Lachy by the way! Is it short for Lachlan?

Leave a Reply

