Project: Homemaking

I’m feeling a little home sick this morning. I am missing our house. I miss our bedroom, and our ugly sofa, and everything else in our house. I’m so eager to get back, to get started on all the projects I’m planning in my head; all the projects that I hope will make me fall in love again with our space.

I think I’m ready to move Archer to his own room, and reclaim our bedroom as an oasis. I’m not 100% positive, my mind does occasionally change but we’ll see. At first, I didn’t want to move Archer to his own room because I feared he would wake Nolan…however, the two rooms we’ve been in are side by side and during the night, Archer doesn’t wake Nolan at all.

I’m going to do a serious spring cleaning when we get back. I honestly have the spring cleaning bug so bad and I just want to purge purge PURGE! I’m still going to downsize my wardrobe and everything that we have. I don’t wear half the clothes that I have, and it’s time to say goodbye to the stuff I often do where because I’ve had most of those things since high school. I’m going to write a more in depth post about this later, right now I kind of want to focus all about the house!

I’ve got ideas for our bedroom…ideas on making it more of a romantic escape for Matt and I. A place where we can go to reconnect. I want to get a couple of small bookshelves to double as nightstands (I love the EXPEDIT shelving unit, when it’s turned on it’s side it’s the perfect size!). I also want to get a little desk for my writing, and more art work. Warm decorative pillows, that sort of thing. I want to make smart purchases for our house that make it more inviting for us yet aren’t over the top or impractical. I think I’ve finally talked Matt into moving our bed to the middle of the room, too! Since day 1 in our relationship, Matt has needed to have the bed against the wall. But I want a more “grown up” bedroom, and if we do keep it against the wall our room will always look empty and some what juvenile.

Matt also had a good solution for the whole “lack of counter space” issue that I complain about daily. He suggested getting a microwave stand to put the microwave on, and putting it by the pantry. Seriously, why didn’t I think of that ages ago? We’re going to check out Value Village and other thrift stores, but if all else fails Walmart has one. Although I don’t like it at all, and I definitely don’t think it’s worth 45 bucks…(so I’m hoping our second hand search welds a microwave stand!). We also need to buy new dining room chairs, because Matt’s dad is going to want his back this summer. That’s okay though, if I can’t find ones that I like in second hand stores, Walmart has chairs that I like.

Matt’s mom may have a pull out couch for us…if we can get it up North. Which is awesome, because Matt gave away our futon and I hated it anyway. A pull out couch would work great in the basement, doubling as our “guest” room and maybe I’d even be able to go down there more (I couldn’t ever sit on the futon). 

I’m getting ahead of myself, and blogging about all of the things that I want to do and am going to do is driving me crazy. I think it’s time I served lunch and got the boys ready to go for a long walk.

THREE MORE DAYS UNTIL KATE’S WEDDING!!!!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bits and pieces, house and home, housewifey stuff, projects, random, stuff and stuff, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Project: Homemaking

  1. I moved Hannah out of our room at like 3-4 months because we both need our space to sleep. I never regretted it. I went on a cleaning frenzy last week. It was very necessary and I felt a lot better afterwards but I'm just feeling the need to do more now. I hate clutter and I feel like my whole house is CLUTTERED. You're driving me crazy too because now I feel lazy for not doing anything about what I complained about. Hahaha.

  2. Shannon says:

    You should check out kijiji for a microwave stand too. You might find a deal, although sometimes you have to wade through some crap to find it. Good luck!

  3. jessi ♥ says:

    I'll definitely check out Kijiji too! Didn't think of that lol!

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    I can't wait to go on a cleaning frenzy when I get home! I'm just itching to purge and start doing some home projects. I hate clutter too!!!

  5. Liz says:

    I live the idea of small bookshelves as nightstands! Why didn't I ever think of that?!

    The desk that I use for my writing is small, but I make it work. I have an old filing cabinet next to it that was my grandmother's, and the cabinet my printer is on was my grandmother's. I love secondhand furniture.

    Now you've got me wanting to do some spring cleaning! (And I really need to, so that no one else gets sick!)

  6. jessi ♥ says:

    They must be cubed bookshelves! For me, anyway, and turned on their side lol. I don't even have a desk for writing, which is probably why I never get any writing done. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

