The Time Change Tireds

I’m suffering from “time change tireds”, or perhaps “I stayed up WAY to late the other night and am now complaining” is a more appropriate term. Saturday night, I went to my sister’s house for a “sister’s movie night”. We ate Skittles that Dad bought us (customary tradition), popcorn, talked about the upcoming wedding and watched Straw Dogs (which was actually, surprisingly, pretty decent).

It really was really fun, even if I didn’t get home [with Archer in toe] until like 2:45am, didn’t fall asleep until 3-3:30ish, and then woke up at 6am to feed the baby…and then again at 7:45am when Nolan woke up. It’s honestly the only thing that makes me really sad that we aren’t be moving back here – is not getting to go over to my sister’s house for movie nights and girl talk.

Anyways, needless to say…yesterday I was borderline lethargic. Matt was still sick with the flu, so he was upstairs resting/puking/all that fun stuff. I was kicking myself for having stayed up so late, I felt bad because it was gorgeous out and I had no energy to do anything but lay on the couch and whine about how tired I was. Seriously, I am not one who manages well on little sleep. My sister can do it no problem, but I need to be in bed no later than 11:30pm in order to function [at all] the next day.

Thankfully, my mother-in-law is awesome and took Nolan with her to the mall for the day. I would have loved to nap a bit, but it just wasn’t in Archer’s plans – he slept for maybe 20 minute intervals here and there. I survived the day by drinking coffee. Tons of coffee.

Nolan had a blast at the mall, Kim sent me a bunch of cute little pictures to keep me updated. Got to love “real time” babysitting, huh? No really, I do. I am, by nature, an anxious person who worries way too much. Getting real time updates and pictures calms my “OMG WHAT’S HAPPENING?” anxiety and helps me to relax ever so slightly. 

Nolan had a blast hanging out with his Nana, Uncle Kody and Uncle Kody’s girlfriend (who Nolan is pretty much in love with). He was super pumped when he got home, he couldn’t tell me fast enough all the fun stuff he did. So, that was nice – it lessened my guilt a great deal.

During dinner, we watched the hockey game and Nolan made Nana and Grandpa Kent super happy by saying this:

After Nolan was in bed, Matt, Kim, Kent and I sat down to watch Bridesmaids, which is one of my all time favourite comedies ever. I honestly adore Kristen Wiig and Melissa McCarthy – they are two of my favourite actresses. They are both hilarious and never disappoint. Added to the regular funny that Bridesmaids offers is during the puking scene, Archer had his own projectile vomiting moment. He just had to join in on the [gross] fun? I don’t know. I just thought it was funny because this kid rarely pukes.

Anyways, then I went to bed and got a fairly decent nights rest, or at least…as decent as one with a baby that still wakes up for feedings at night can get. But hey, I’ll take it. Aside from the time change tireds, I’m definitely a fan of longer days with the sun! That means summer is around the corner, and I love summer.

Today’s plan will consist of me working on the slide show for Kate’s wedding (holy crud…it’s five days away y’all!) and I’m hoping to get outside with the boys, since it’s actually pretty nice out there right now. I think a trip to the park this afternoon is definitely in order!

Happy Monday, all!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in I don't really know, I talk to hear myself speak, photos, rambling, randoms, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Time Change Tireds

  1. Christa says:

    Oh i love sister time! That's why i REALLY want bray to have a sister. But i also REALLY want to have a son. The problem that falls into place is that we only want 2 kids haha. SHOOT! lol.
    Looks like you had lots of fun!

  2. Ahh kids are so funny! Landon sees hockey on TV and yells, “OH MOMMY IT'S HOCKEY! GOOOOOAL!” We're tired today here too. Hannah's working on her last tooth (FUCK YEAH, ALMOST DONE TEETHING FOREVER) and I am also surviving on large amounts of caffeine. It's barely doing the trick however and I'm starting to wish I could inject it directly into my veins.

    Bridesmaids is one of my all time favs too. I love that it was Oscar nominated. I saw it about a month before my wedding so it kinda hit close to home for me 😉

  3. “Do you feel that steam? It's coming from my under carriage.” LMFAAAAAAAAAO.

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    Sister time is mint!!! I love it too. And I totally understand! Before I found out that Archer was a boy, I was also wanting both! A girl because I already had a boy and I thought I'd feel more “complete”, and a boy because I knew their brotherhood bound would be super amazing to witness! For the record, the moment I heard “boy” I didn't feel incomplete like I thought I would, I felt whole 🙂 two boys rocks!

  5. jessi ♥ says:

    Teething DOES suck balls. So glad this is our last time going through it too! And yeah, I love that movie!

Leave a Reply

