More thoughts on Kony 2012

The other day, I wrote about Kony2012. I was (and still am) very affected by the message in the video, and I support the Invisible Children in their attempt to make him a household name in order to stop him.

Since then, there have been plenty of articles bashing the cause and while they all agree that Kony’s offenses are horrible and need to be stopped, they don’t agree with the cause or think that Invisible Children is legit about their finances.

I’ve read all the articles about that side of things. If you haven’t, I encourage you to – educating yourself is a good thing, doing your homework on a cause is important. After reading this post by Grant Oyston, my eyes were open further about the matter. I still think that Kony needs to be stopped, and I disagree with the notion that “something isn’t always better than nothing”. While this post did make me question the integrity of how this organization spends their money, I still support their efforts to stop Kony. Besides, Invisible Children responded to the questions of their financial statements, and in the 2011 Fiscal Year they were spent 80.46% on programs that further their mission; that’s pretty damn good. Any organization has overhead costs and needs to invest money to keep it going, that’s a given.

Then, I read an article that basically says KONY2012 is just more “White suppression”, more of Idealistic Westerners thinking they have to save the helpless Africans. I can’t tell you how angry that made me, that my want to help another country equals out to me thinking I’m a white savior. Um, no, I definitely don’t think that at all, thanks. Fact of the matter is, Kony has been doing the same, horrible, unspeakable things for 20 years. If Africa could fix it, I’m sure they would have by now.

I also hear people ranting about how the Uganda government’s army is just as guilty of rape and looting. That may be so, unfortunately that’s an issue within a lot of armies due to pack mentality. I’m not saying I approve it (because I don’t), but in order to change all of that, you have to start somewhere. Kony has been at his horrible offenses for so long now, that I honestly think that stopping him is a priority. You have to start somewhere.

Then, of course, there is the fact that a lot of people believe our effort and time should go towards fixing problems in our own backyard. We should be just as educated about problems in Canada and America as well, and we should also care about stopping bad things from happening here. But in order to make a difference, you have to start somewhere, and if spreading the word of Kony2012 and buying an action kit is how you start making a difference, do it. I think this is a great opportunity to get people educated on the going ons in this world.

 Some really great comments from a friend of a friend in response to their opinion on “this new fad”.
(And no, they weren’t towards my Matt).

If you’re still doing your homework on the Kony subject, I suggest you read this interview of a Political Scientist’s opinions on Kony2012. If you’re leery still about donating money to the cause, that’s fine. Spreading the word is enough to make a difference.

And before you get mad at people for posting a billion Kony related things on Facebook, just think about this: would you rather see a billion Farmville updates on Facebook, or posts about Snooki’s pregnancy on Twitter, or would you rather see people taking an interest in world matters and politics? 

I know what I’d rather see.

What are your thoughts on Kony2012? Do share. 

To watch the video that’s stirring up so much political debate, click here.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in big things, causes, Joseph Kony, opinions, stop Kony 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More thoughts on Kony 2012

  1. Nicole says:

    Good post. I just posted about Kony too! I agree with you… you have to start somewhere… and yes, there are causes here that need to be seen too… so? what's the point? that US causes are more important?
    I have a friend that said that stopping Sex Trafficking is more important than stopping Kony bc while this affects 50,000 kids, Sex Trafficking affects over 20Million. True… I agree. But Kony has a face… now with a BIG bullseye on it. Who's the face of Sex Trafficking? A lot of faces… they need to be stopped too… and it's so broad.
    But how does THAT make THIS any LESS important? It doesn't!

  2. (1/2) I completely 110% agree with you and I've been avoiding Facebook because let's face it, I am outspoken about my opinions and I'm about ready to start tearing people new assholes. I saw one childhood friend write about how we're all a bunch of “armchair activists” and “nobody will care about this in six months” and “we have to take down the entire army which would include killing child soldiers.” It makes me want to rip my fucking hair out.

    Here is an organization, trying to find justice for the children of Africa and people are still finding a reason to shit all over it. And I'll tell you why they're shitting all over it: because they didn't think to do something themselves. We have to start somewhere, like anything else of this nature. Start small and work our way up? Or do nothing? I'll choose start small and work our way up thanks. As for whether or not Invisible Children is legit, I have also done my research before giving this organization my money. I feel satisfied with what I have read and it's MY MONEY so it's really no one else's business how I choose to spend it. Furthermore, even for the people who DO believe that this organization is a “scam”, there is no denying the reality of Joseph Kony's actions. Therefore, if for nothing else but creating awareness, Invisible Children is in fact legitimate. (1/2)

    White suppression? I'm not saying Africans are entirely helpless but lets face it, it's a “third world” continent with limited financial resources and infiltrated governments. Everybody knows that. It's not meant to be an insult, it's simply fact. It is our duty as a “first world” country to HELP THEM. I know I sleep better at night knowing I've done SOMETHING to try to make a difference. Once again, if these assholes wish to turn my hope for humanity into something negative, they need to realize this is my business, not theirs.

  3. (2/2) I absolutely believe we need to address the issues in our own country. I've written many a blog post about my thoughts on Stephen Harper, his poor decisions for our country, voting, and educating ourselves on federal AND provincial politics. Here's my issue: I'm willing to bet that 5 out of 10 of the individuals who are complaining about us not taking care of our own citizens didn't even find the time in their fucking day to go to the polls and VOTE. In our most recent federal election we had a voter turnout of 61.4% which is the third LOWEST voter turnout IN CANADIAN HISTORY. I vote at every election. I spread awareness about the importance of voting to other people, via word of mouth, social networking, email, text message, BBM, AND blog post. I also know that I contribute to a charitable organization of my choosing in the country of Canada every year. So for someone to tell me I don't do MY part for my own country can kiss my big “white suppression” ass. And then they can go register to vote. We have soup kitchens, food banks, social assistance, homeless shelters, a public health care system, rehabilitation centers, you want me to carry on about how else we take care of our citizens? Spending a mere $50 on an Action Kit isn't going to result in our country suffering in any way. Neither will posting awareness statements on Facebook or Twitter. If people on my friends list don't like what I have to say, go ahead and click that little delete button.

    We've spent years in Iraq and Afghanistan fighting a war that has gone in circles, and will continue to for another DECADE…why not put our Canadian military somewhere that we'll make a fucking DIFFERENCE?

    So to summarize my thoughts.

    1.) It's nobody else's business how I spend my money or if I wish to become an “activist.”
    2.) All causes have to begin somewhere, from the ground up. It's NOT going to be easy.
    3.) This organization is NOT fraudulent. It has already accomplished one of it's major goals (spreading worldwide awareness of Joseph Kony).
    4.) It's absolutely possible to take care of our own while still helping others. (2/2)

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    I hate that mindframe. “Oh, well we should be focusing on THIS not on THAT”…why can't we focus on more than one thing? Jeepers. Stopping Sex Trafficking IS just as important, it's ALL important in my books. I want the world to be a super safe place for my kids to grow up in.

  5. jessi ♥ says:

    AMAZING points, I love them all and agree with them all! How come people can complain about you spending money on a Kony2012 cause, but don't bat a lash if you drop 300 bucks on a diaper bag? People's priorities are all messed up.

  6. I was really affected by the Invisible Children video. It was quite powerful, and despite any controversy surrounding the organization's intentions, I think that the cause is legitimate and Kony needs to be stopped. I personally think Russell is an incredible filmmaker and did an amazing job on the film. He gets the message out there that we need to take action as a community and help these children!

Leave a Reply

