Joseph Kony and the Invisible Children

I am ashamed to admit that when I woke up this morning, I didn’t have a clue who Joseph Kony was…or why people were trying to make him famous. At first, I actually thought Kony was some kind of band or something. I know. I’m so ashamed to admit that, because it’s embarrassing. For someone who uses social media as much as I do, how can I not know who Joseph Kony is?

So, I clicked on the links, and watched the video and I’m so glad I did. I knew, abstractly, that in countries like Africa, there were child soldiers, but I didn’t know much else about it, because I’ve been so wrapped up in my own little world.

This campaign to make Kony famous so he can be arrested made me leave my own little world, made me learn about something I’m pretty sure I’ve been avoiding learning about. Why? Because it’s painful. Because I didn’t think I could make a difference, and because I have two beautiful little boys, and I would die if someone abducted them and forced them to do the horrendous things that Joseph Kony forces children to do. But it’s because of my boys, that I’m going to use my voice to spread the word about Joseph Kony. To help this cause, in any small way that I can, spread even further, bring it to even more light. To get Kony famous in the worst way possible, so that he can be arrested and this madness can stop. 

So, if you don’t know who Joseph Kony is…get informed. Watch the video, really watch it – from start to finish. Then like the Invisible Children on Facebook, sign the pledge…write a blog post, a tweet, post a picture on Instagram, or a Facebook status about it. Make him famous, help bring him down.

Look for an event in (or near) your town to “cover the night in Kony”. Basically, people are going to get together at sundown on April 20th 2012 and cover their towns in posters to raise awareness of Kony. I will be attending one locally, and if you can…you should too.

This is important, so spread the word.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in causes, challenges, changes, Joseph Kony, stop Kony 2012, the greater good, the Invisible Children. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

