Nursing Update on the Updates

Last night was a fantastic night, in terms of sleep. Even if I spent the hours before heading up to bed at 10:30pm trying to soothe a ridiculously miserable baby. Even if my back was killing me and my wrists were shot. The night was good to me. I put Archer down around 11, and he stayed asleep until 3am. Which is wonderful, especially for me, for us, since lately. He woke up, and I nursed him for half an hour. He went back to sleep. An hour later he started squawking again, but simply wanted a diaper change. Then he was out until this morning, around 7:45am. Glorious, wondrous sleep how I’ve missed you.

Archer does this, every once in a while he gives me a good chunk of sleeping and I use it to recharge and realize that I can do this. I am fully aware of the fact that formula doesn’t equal out to perfect sleep patterns. Formula doesn’t solve all problems, and neither will pablum.

Thank you all for your comments and suggestions on yesterday’s post. I’ve been thinking a lot in the past 24 hours about what it is that I want to do, and what it is that I’m going to do. My goal, when I was pregnant with Archer, was to breastfeed until he was at least 6 months old, and then re-evaluate. I’m sticking to that. I’d ideally like to nurse him until he’s a year old, and switch him straight over to cows milk. Formula is expensive and if I’m being totally honest, I’d rather spend that money on food for me to eat because I love food. Heh.

Seriously though, I want to do this. I want to breastfeed, and exclusively. Now that I know he can take a bottle, I’m going to start pumping regularly again, and have Matt (or whomever) give him one bottle of pumped milk a day. I was using formula because my sister got a bunch of samples from her work, but I’m going to donate the remaining samples to the local food bank for a mother who actually does need them. It’s selfish of me to continue to use (and, in a way, waste because he generally refuses it) the formula when I have absolutely no issues with supply, and Archer has no issues on my milk. He is thriving on my milk, he’s growing fast and gaining tons of weight.

As for the wedding…my friend Jolena had some great tips for me. She’s loaning me cup inserts that will collect milk if I leak and prevent me from having any of those awkward shirt situations (you know the ones I’m talking about, when you leak so much you soak your pad and shirt/dress). I’m going to nurse Archer before I get dressed, and then after the ceremony and pictures. I’ll just have to deal with the discomfort of full breasts until I can nurse or pump. No big deal. Not in the long run anyway, it’s just one day! I’ll pump again after dinner and speeches and the dances I need to be a part of, and then Archer (and Nolan) will be on their way back to Nana’s house for the evening with tons of pumped milk for him. I won’t be drinking, so we’ll probably drive back to Nana’s too (once we see the bride and groom off).

So again, thank you for your comments and for sharing your experiences with me! You were all very helpful 🙂

I’m beginning to really see a pattern with nursing. Every once in a while, I get very blah about everything – I think that’s when I need to make an effort to be around fellow nursing mamas or see a LC just for that extra boost of “you can do this!”.

Related: I took two breathtakingly beautiful photos of Archer this afternoon as we sat on the front porch waiting for my MIL to pick us up for an outing. Honestly, he is so adorable it kills me. Enjoy your renewed baby fever! A great cure for that is to come over to our house at 3am 😉

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in breastfeeding, life as I know it, struggles, trial and error. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nursing Update on the Updates

  1. tierney says:

    OH MY GOD!! When I saw the first photo my heart swelled ..but then I saw the second and my heart burst. Those are gorgeous photos!! They make me want to have a baby asap, but then I realize I'm already a struggling (read: broke) student without a baby, so clearly, adding a baby into that mix probably isn't the best for anyone. In the meantime, I'll live vicariously through you!

  2. Life as Leah says:

    I nursed my son for the whole first year exclusively and then switched to cow's milk…and I struggled with a lot of the same-it seemed like he ate every hour and a half! I am going to have another baby in ten weeks, and one of the ideas I've come up with in order to try to get more sleep this time but still exclusively breastfeed (why spend so much money on something that isn't as healthy for your baby as free breastmilk??? especially when you can use that money for yummy grown-up people groceries) is to try pumping a bottle or two for middle-of-the-night feedings. I haven't tried it yet, but I was thinking maybe it would cut down on comfort feedings in the night, and maybe the baby would only wake to feed when he truly is hungry. Also, if you have a bottle prepared, maybe your husband could get up with the baby every now and then on the nights when you REALLY feel desperate for a better night's sleep. Just a suggestion! Hang in there though, it sounds like you are doing great, and the boys look happy and healthy!

  3. I already have baby fever like crazy… Thanks for reinforcing it 10 folds with the AMAZINGLY ADORABLE pic's of Archer! Ugh. lol.

    Yay for more sleep. Hope you can get more of it. Glad you figured out a plan for the wedding. I'm sure it will work great!

    Have a wonderful weekend Jess.

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    Haha! Aww!! I have no problem with you living vicariously though me! One day, I'll get to relive baby days through you! So, it's a fair trade 😉

  5. jessi ♥ says:

    Those are good suggestions!!! Thank you!

  6. jessi ♥ says:

    My pleasure! lol. Thank you! I hope you had a wonderful weekend too ❤

Leave a Reply

