As I Await on the Stove Repairman…

My attempts at blogging the last few days have been vain. Matt left on Valentine’s Day to head home, I was kind of bummed out about it. I knew we weren’t going to do anything “special”. We never really do; Valentine’s Day is just something that Matt doesn’t celebrate, and if it weren’t for my attempts at acknowledging it I’m sure he’d pretend the “bullshit hallmark holiday” wouldn’t exist at all. This year, I surprised him and even delighted him by cutting out paper hearts and writing things that I love about him on them. He found them hidden in his coat pocket.

He said I was cute and couldn’t stop smiling. Perhaps one day, my little attempts to make him enjoy himself on Valentine’s day will pay off and he’ll surprise me 😉 Regardless, I don’t really think about myself on Valentine’s day. I think about the ways I can surprise him, and my boys, and just do it.

Matt is sweet every other day of the year, and he often surprises me and does super nice things for me every day (although I would be lying if I said I wouldn’t like a grand show of flowers or some romantic night out on Valentine’s day…I’m totally needy). On Valentine’s day, I was babysitting my sisters two kids and had mine there as well (OMG FOUR KIDS! I’ll blog more about THAT momentarily), and he brought me a homemade sandwich and my favourite pop ever.

But of course, as he handed it to me, he made sure to tell me that those treats weren’t because of Valentine’s day, but because he loves me every single day.

So, that was how we “celebrated” Valentine’s day. It was really just another day – except for me feeling slightly jealous over all the friend statuses on Facebook describing, in great detail, all the awesome things their significant others had done or were doing for them haha. I got him back though…

Maybe next year he will be a little more into Valentine’s day 😉

Anyways. So. Back to how I babysat my sister’s kids on Valentine’s day….holy crud muffin, I’m 100% confident now that the decision to get my tubes tied was the right one. I love all those kiddos more than life itself but are they ever a handful! It was so difficult trying to meet the needs of four kids, almost always at the same time! Nolan was the worst. He didn’t listen to a word I said, did everything I told him not to and more, and instigated his cousin all day long. How do mama’s of more than two do it?! It must take a certain kind of patience that I lack.

Speaking of Nolan (and lacking patience for that matter)…where has my sweet, cooperative little boy gone? He’s been quite the holy terror the last few days. He doesn’t listen, he does things that he knows he shouldn’t do, and he basically tests and tests and tests me until I want to sit in a corner and cry while rocking back and forth with my hands over my ears. I’m trying to remain calm when dealing with him, but he definitely knows how to push buttons. One of his new found favourite activities is to wake his sleeping baby brother up, his sick sleeping baby brother…I might add. The poor little munchkin that has been so clingy and sad and constantly wanting cuddles. That’s all fine and dandy, but when he’s sleeping, there are other things I need to do. Like interact with Nolan, or brush my teeth. You’d think Nolan would realize that waking his sleeping brother up isn’t in his best interest, because it means we no longer get to have one on one time, but either he notices and doesn’t care or the joy of waking his brother up far outweighs the joy of playing with boring old mom. I do feel that Nolan and I need to go out somewhere, together, alone, just the two of us. Maybe that will help elevate some of his behavioral issues?

I’m also wondering if he’s been more difficult here because we haven’t really done the whole “quiet time” thing. I’ve started to again, since yesterday, but we’ll see how that helps in the next few days.

He is sweetest at night, when it’s just the two of us. When I’m tucking him in, reading him The Sleep Book and rubbing his back. He tells me the favourite parts of his day, and we talk about what we’re going to do the next day. Then we say our goodnights and I tell him I love him, and he says “I love you too Mommy” in the sweetest little voice.

I’m terrified for the next year. I hear that three is the age to fear. I have nightmares about the horribleness it must be, if he’s already so difficult. Any tips on how to prevent temper tantrums, and get your toddler to listen to you would be greatly appreciated. I have a feeling I’m going to need all the help I can get!

As for Archer…despite being sick and super clingly, he’s still easier than the two of them. Go figure?

I really hope he feels better soon. The past several nights he’s been up every 40 minutes coughing and upset because obviously having a cough and a cold when you’re that little sucks balls. It sucks balls for me and I’m all grown up and stuff. At 5am it’s the worst, this cough of his. He usually only settles when he’s in my arms, in bed with me. Then obviously I sleep like crap because I’m over conscious of him being in the bed with me. SIGH.  

Anyways. I’m gonna end this now because I’ve TOTALLY had issues with this post too. My stupid laptop decided to do a configuration halfway through it. Then took FOREVER starting up and now I need to have a tea, relax a little and get cleaning before the stove repairman comes to fix my MIL’s stove. 

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in I don't really know, Instagram junkie, quick notes, stuff and stuff, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to As I Await on the Stove Repairman…

  1. I wish I could be as calm as you are about not celebrating V-Day.
    I cried because Scotty hates the day and we didn't do anything but go to Wal-mart and fight.
    I blamed the TV. I was fine until the news started showing things people were doing. I was watching the news hoping not to see anything but there it was and I cried.
    I hope next year is better. Maybe I should have sent that text to my hubs and then maybe he would have been a little more into it.

  2. Abigail says:

    Aw I'm so sorry about Valentines Day 😦 It stinks to have hopes and expectations and then not have them fulfilled. I think secretly those little presents he got you were for Valentines Day, he just didn't want to admit it. He clearly loves you madly and that is what's important.

    ::hugs::

  3. We don't do much of anything for Valentine's Day either and I really don't care. Mother's Day though…that better be made into a huge deal this year! Ryan has fallen short all other Mother's Days but he seems to be improving with age haha.

    Hope Archer feels better soon. I'm sick too, it sucks for sure. But it's so much worse having to listen to your baby cough.

    When do you expect Matt to return?

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    Aww! Nikki!! That sucks 😦 I also felt worse when I saw stuff other peoples sigs were doing. WAH. I know I'm lucky, and I know he loves me but…big gestures are awesome haha!

  5. jessi ♥ says:

    That's true!!! I didn't really have an expectations (I've learned better lol), but I hear ya. I think we do kinda get our hopes up thinking that they'll SHOCK us and then they don't lol.

  6. jessi ♥ says:

    I've been meaning to read your “v-day” post…haha. I'll head over now!!!

    Matt should be returning on the 22nd or 23rd, he's had delays in renting the engine hoist and is waiting on that 😦

Leave a Reply

