Archer, Four Months

Dearest Archer;

Yet another month has whipped by us, and suddenly you are four months old and not so little anymore. I can’t believe how much you are changing on a month to month basis, but its completely notable even just looking at the pictures Nana has of you on her camera from Christmas.

I’m not sure exactly what you weigh (we haven’t had you weighed in over a month! I know, I need to get on that!), but you are wearing 6 month sleepers and 3-6 month clothes with a few 6 month pieces tossed in there. You are my chunky little monkey, and you eat a lot! You are still nursing every two hours or so from half an hour to forty-five minutes at a time. You love to cuddle, and you love to lay on the floor and play with your activity mat. You still aren’t a fan of belly time but you’re doing very well with it now. You’re not rolling over yet, but I suspect you will any day now! You’re also getting very good at sitting up, and you love to look at the world around you from a sitting position. I can’t believe how strong you are getting! And how fast you are growing. Nana keeps joking that you are heavier than your brother! I’m not sure (again, I really need to get you weighed!) but I think you’ll be catching up to him in no time at all.

On February 5th, 2012 we gave you your first ever bowl of rice cereal and…you loved it! You only have about two teaspoons each day, but you enjoy eating it. You still love mama’s milk best!

On February 9th, 2012 I left you in the capable, loving hands of Nana and Daddy while I went out with Auntie Shannon and Auntie JoJo to Toronto for the day. It was our first time being apart from each other for that long, and we both handled it very well although I missed you and I hear you also missed me. You were still a very good boy and you drank all the milk I left for you without complaint, which really made me happy!

Your brother, Nolan, absolutely adores hanging out with you and making you smile. You adore him too! And you tolerate his loud, sometimes irritating toddler behaviors with a lot of grace.

You are suffering from your first bout of sickness ever. You are congested and hoarse, and you have a sad little cough. Despite being extra snuggling and waking us all up several times during the night coughing in your sleep, you’re handling this whole sickness thing pretty well! You love to make noises right now, because your voice sounds funny and scratchy. Regardless, I hope you feel better very soon because I don’t like seeing my little dumpling sick!

The other day, Great Granny gave me a little basket full of things she wanted me to have. In that basket was a picture of me from my baby days, and when we held that picture up to you we couldn’t believe just how much you look like me!

So, there you have it, little one. You are four months old now and every day you make me proud and happy.

Lots of love,
Your mama.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Notes to Aj, photos, quick notes, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Archer, Four Months

  1. I love these posts. Wish I had done monthly ones for my kids.

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    Aww!! I wish I had been more on top of it for Nolan.

  3. Heather says:

    So cute! That hair, gah, I'm so jealous.

    BTW, I nominated you for a “cute blog award”. Go to my blog to check it out 🙂
    http://justanothrstory.blogspot.com/2012/02/while-im-sure-most-everyone-else-is.html

Leave a Reply

