Our Love Story

Note: I originally published this on my “secret” blog. But I really like how it turned out, and I wanted to share it here too (with some edits of course). I talked to myself and I’m totally alright with me re-posting it here ;P but only because I understand that I can’t link back due to wanting to keep that blog SECRET. 

….

The Beginning of Our Love Story:

It’s February 5th, 2008, I’m standing in my sister’s kitchen, drunk off my ass. It’s probably not even seven o’clock yet, I really don’t know. I’m on yet another drinking binge. I’m tired of everything hurting and feeling numb all the time. I’m tired of hating myself for past mistakes and I just want to forget for a while, and have some fun.

We showed up at my sister’s house, me holding the 26er of banana rum I had just bought and dragging in my two friends, Bruce and Robyn, and proclaiming to my sister, Shannon, that she should invite some of her neighbours over for a party because I was drunk and wanted to have some fun. So, Shannon strolled down to one of her neighbours house, where she knew everyone was hanging out, and I stayed in the warmth of her kitchen, pouring myself another round. Fun dance music is blasting loudly through Shannon’s livingroom speakers, and one of my favourite songs comes on.

“Let’s dance!” I tell Bruce, dragging him out into the middle of my sister’s living room after gulping back my drink. Bruce and I have been friends for about a year or so at this point, and he’s one of my best friends. At the time, I’m mildly aware of the fact that Bruce likes me. I’m not quite sure just how much, but I know he does. We’ve had one or two drunken make-out sessions that I thought were just in good fun, but apparently, unbeknown to me, he is reading deeply into.

I’m not into anyone really, I sort of have a kinda crush on a different friend of mine, Dan. He’s super nice, has his own truck and a strong work ethic. But that’s going nowhere. Dan keeps confessing his undying love for another girl, although for a while I stupidly thought that he was just playing “hard to get” or something. Girls can be so delusional. At this point, I’m almost over my crush on Dan. I basically just want to have fun.

So, Bruce and I dance for a bit, and then Bruce tells me sadly that he has to go to work. I shrug, say goodbye to him and drag Robyn over to the dance floor. Bruce looks longingly at us and then heads out, and about five minutes later Shannon comes in with a bunch of her neighbors. Everyone is there, the old guy and his son, the guy with a crazy long red beard, three women, a big burly guy, and one other. He’s ridiculously hot, and I’m pretty sure I’m drooling as I study him from across Shannon’s counter where we’ve started up a game of flip cup. I’m basically undressing him with my eyes…and I’m liking what I’m seeing.

He isn’t my “usual” type. He’s taller than I am, and wearing a freakin’ fedora. I don’t even think it’s lame, somehow it super suits him. His ears, eyebrow, and lip are all pierced. He’s got the most amazing blue eyes and just covered in tattoos and I find him absolutely irresistible. I instantly want him. I’ve never had a reaction so strongly to someone that I’ve just met before. We flirt, heavily. I show him my [one] tattoo – a rose, on my stomach. I pull my pants down a little too much because I’m sloppy and drunk and I don’t care. He shows me his pelvic tattoo (which is super hot), and we continue our game of flip cup and flirting.

As the night goes on, we dance together and flirt some more. He ends up getting a phone call around 11 and having to leave. Before he leaves, I add my number into his phone. I think. He heads out and the fun of the party leaves with him. I finish my drink, but don’t linger too long. Robyn had already ditched me for sleep, so I head upstairs to Shannon’s guest room and join her. We are sharing the small twin sized bed, and when I crawl in she wakes up.

“What did you think of the guy in the fedora? Matt?” I ask her. She tells me she thinks he’s super hot. “I know, right?” I sigh dramatically. “I don’t think he’s into me though.” How could he be? He’s got tattoos and piercings and a fedora. Nobody that hot has ever been into me.

“Why would you say that?” Robyn asks me. “He looked like he was!”

“Well, he didn’t ask me out or anything,” I feel sad about this.

“Just wait,” Robyn assures me, and we fall asleep.

………

I think about him a lot over the next few weeks. We added each other on Facebook a few days after the party. Now, it’s Valentine’s Day and I’m super bummed out that he hasn’t asked me out. I’m pretty sure he has my number, but even if he doesn’t he is Shannon’s next door neighbour and could totally get it off her if he wanted it bad enough, or ask me on Facebook. He’s becoming an unattainable dream in my mind, but he continues to confuse me by “buying” me on Friends 4 Sale. My friend, Cory, and I have many decisions on what this could actually mean. Cory is a guy, and he is insisting that it means Matt’s into me.

Since I have no actual plans for Valentine’s Day, I decide to head to the recreational group’s Valentine’s Day party to volunteer. Bruce drives me, along with a few other fellow volunteers. I’m sober this time, and I decide to stop in off at my dad’s friend’s tattoo shop to get my lip pierced. Why? Because I think it will look good. No one I know (aside from the sexy fedora wearing Matt, who I probably won’t see again) has it done. I suppose I’m also feeling a little “rebellious”.

The most painful thing about the whole ordeal is when the guy shoves a hoop through the hole on the left side of my lip, but it’s bearable. I check it out in the mirror he provides, and I think it’s pretty hot. Then I head out to show Bruce. Bruce hates it, and tells me so. He’s pissy with me because the night before he had basically asked me out via text messaging and I had told him I didn’t feel the same. I don’t. Part of me would like to, just because I feel guilty for leading me on, but I just don’t. We head to the Valentine’s Day dance and I spend the evening volunteering, pouring drinks and dancing with the members. I have more fun than I thought I was going to have.

……..

It’s now February 23rd, and I’m super busy getting ready for Shannon’s Jack and Jill. She’s getting married in April. It’s out in the middle of nowhere, and I hitch a ride with my sister Kate and her boyfriend, Kevin. The entire time we set up, I’m wondering if Matt will show up. He is a neighbour, a friend of Shannon’s, and Shannon did say that he said he’d be there…so, we’ll see. I am sitting at a table, near the door, selling tickets to everyone coming in. Bruce is helping me, keeping me company and also selling tickets. Dan is also there, helping out because I asked him as well. We needed all the help we could get. Dan is running the poker table. I have a little fun flirting with him, just because it’s funny to flirt with Dan.

Suddenly, I get a feeling, for lack of a better word, and look up. He walks into the room, hands me a ticket and smiles at me. We flirt a little (okay, a lot). Bruce is giving him dirty looks, but I don’t even really register them.

When everyone who’s going to come is inside, and all the tickets have been purchased, I stand up leaving the table to Bruce and my mom. I should feel bad for shrugging my responsibilities off on them but tell myself not to worry, almost everyone has arrived anyway. I grab a strand of beer tickets and get to work selling them. I don’t approach Matt first, because I don’t want to be obvious, but when I finally do I jokingly ask him if he wants to buy me a drink. He obliges with his adorable half grin, and three or four Strawberry Daiquiris later, I’m feeling pretty good…and pretty flirtatious. Liquid confidence. Bruce is still glaring death rays at Matt, I notice but don’t really care. In fact, I selfishly think it might “help” my cause. You know, seem more desirable or something. Matt and I are having fun, we’re hitting it off. We sneak outside with his friend to smoke a joint. When we come back inside, Matt purchases an entire tray of jello shots and we all but finish them off.

By this point, I’m really drunk. I decide it’s a great time to bring out the “kissing booth” costume my mom brought for us to raise some extra money. I put it on. People start coming up to me, giving me loonies for kisses. Matt also pays for a kiss, then I somehow manage to talk him into the costume because I’m tired of wearing it and I have a plan in mind. He puts it on, and I borrow five bucks off of my dad (of all people). I strut up to him, hand him the five and say “What will five bucks get me?”

We start making out. Heavily, and we don’t really stop for the entire night. I hitched a ride back with him and some neighbours to Shannon’s house to check on Shannon’s dog. We end up standing in Shannon’s kitchen, making out and talking. I learn that he’s recently moved back into his mom’s house after a failed relationship. And he works in a tattoo shop. We’re so lost in each other that we forget all about Jeff, Shannon’s friend and neighbor who came with us and let the dog out for a pee. He was standing on the back porch knocking on the sliding doors for nearly 15 minutes, laughing at us.

When everyone else comes to Shannon’s for the Jack and Jill after party (yeah, there was an after party after a party, that’s how we roll), Matt ends up taking off when I go to the bathroom. I feel very confused and a little bummed out. I head home with my parents so I can sleep off my drunk.

…….

The next day I am hanging out with Cory playing Guitar Hero and talking to him about the night before, about how I’m confused. He urges me to call Matt and find out what he’s saying. I do, partly because I dislike waiting games and if he’s interested I want to know. I call him, and Matt invites me to hang out in the neighbourhood. Cory drops me off, and we end up hanging out first at his mom’s house watching the Hockey game. Then, as we hold hands and walk down to his friend’s house to play pool, I ask him what he wants to tell people.

“What do you want to tell people?” he asks, skirting around the issue. I return the question and he just shrugs and says whatever I want to tell them.

We get to his friends house and continue drinking and playing pool. Later on that night, when we’re alone in his friend’s kitchen, I finally get sick of waiting and say “are you going to ask me out or what?!”

He bashfully steps back and mutters “do you wanna go out with me?”

I say yes, and it’s the start of an amazing, passionate, rock your socks off relationship.

and thus, the end of the “beginning”…

Then.

Now.

I can’t believe how lucky I am to have found Matt. He is everything to me, we are the glue to our family. He is strong, determined, stubborn, passionate, fiercely loyal, hilarious, and a million other things. I could spend a life time trying to describe him, trying to explain all the reasons why I love him…why I’m in love with him, and will continue to be until the day I die and who knows? Maybe even after I’m dead 😉 he makes me fall in love with him every single day (even when he’s driving me absolutely nuts).

Our love story is a lot longer than that, of course, and it never really ends. But that’s just how we “came to be”, I guess. Our courtship and the what not. If you’d like more, you can read about our wedding day and basically my blog throughout the years haha. Matt even has his own category! I also wrote this post on love and marriage recently.

I am linking this post up with the Valentine’s Day Love Story link up Becky {From Mrs to Mama} is hosting.

Becky’s asked some questions, too!

1. How long have you and your significant other been together? Four years on February 25th!
2. How did you meet? {What’s your “love” story?}: Posted it above!
3. If married, how long have you been married? If not, is this the guy you hope to marry? We’ve been married for a year and seven months!
4. If you are married, where did you get married at? Big or small wedding? If not, where would you like to get married? And will it be big or small? We got married in a small ceremony in North Bay at a lodge.
5. Do you have any nick-names that you call one another? Do share! Uh…not really anything unique. Just babe, sexy, hun, whatever 😉
6. Name 3 things you love most about your honey. This is hard to pick because I love everything about him most. To name a few…I love that he’s passionate, loving, and loyal!
7. Tell us how he proposed? Or your ideal proposal? He proposed Christmas Eve 2008 by getting down on one knee and stuttering “will you marry me?” He smelled of deep fryer from work and was still in his winter jacket haha!
8. Is he a flowers and teddy bear kind of guy for v-day, or strawberries, champagne, and rose petals? Um. Well. When we can afford it, he spoils me. He usually gets me a book I’ve been wanting, chocolate, or a painting that I’ve been admiring. I suppose he’s considered “practical” but I adore that he always (when we can afford it, I might add) gets me something that I really want or would enjoy.
9. Are you a sunset dinner on the beach kind of girl, or pop a movie in and relax on the couch? I’m both. I am content popping in a movie and relaxing, but I won’t say no to a sunset dinner on the beach! Any time with him I adore.
10. Tell us one thing you’d like to do with your significant one day. If you could do anything? Go anywhere? I want to go everywhere with him! But I suppose I’ll take it by year; this year we are planning on going to Niagara Falls for the weekend, just the two of us, and I also want to have a couple’s photoshoot done since we have very little [good] photos of the two of us!
11. Tell us what you plan on doing on this Valentine’s Day. Unfortunately, we’ve agreed to do nothing because the money just isn’t there. We’ll probably just have a quiet evening in watching a movie or something 🙂
12. Are you asking for anything this Valentine’s day? Just time with him!
13. Give us one piece of advice of keeping a relationship strong and full of love. Be understanding, you can’t always get what you want when you want it. I know too many girls who think their guy doesn’t love them because he doesn’t spoil them rotten at Valentine’s day. I know we’re broke right now, so I’m not expecting anything. Be considerate. Communicate all the time. And…don’t withhold love. Even when you’re mad.
14. Show us a picture of what love means to you. I posted a bunch of pictures, but I suppose this sums it up. The way he looks at our children, and at me (the second is harder to capture lol):

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in love story, Matt, memories, photos, us. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Our Love Story

  1. I LOVE your then and now pics! Maybe I need to copy cat you a little bit 🙂

  2. Aww I love it. Y'all are so cute together. Your love story rocks!

  3. Awww, great love story.. and cute couple pics!! ^^

  4. you really touched me with your love story
    I wish you to always have everything you want 🙂

  5. jessi ♥ says:

    I was going to post individual photos of before we met…but I was a sloppy drunk most of the time lol.

  6. jessi ♥ says:

    Thank you Nikki!!!

  7. jessi ♥ says:

    Thank you!! That is so sweet! 😀

  8. Natasha says:

    Beautiful Jess! You two seem amazing together. & make adorable babies 😉

  9. Litzia says:

    I already knew the story, but it was nice reading it like that, it would be fun if Matt told us what was his point of view, on those days 🙂

    I havent been here for a while, glad to see everything its fine!

Leave a Reply

