Baby, you make me crazy [lazy]

Since my husband has been off work, more or less, since October…I’ve been taking a mini vacation of sorts myself. Before Archer was born, I used to be obsessively on top of my household duties. Laundry, dishes, picking up, vacuuming, dusting, bathrooms, rinse and repeat. Day in and day out. Since having Archer…my priorities have changed. I let certain things slide. I make sure the dishes are washed and the bathrooms are cleaned, and I also make sure to pick up toys and tidy the living room whenever I can, but that’s about as far as my domestic magic is spread. I forgot how exhausting getting up 3 times a night is, and coupled with chasing a toddler around all day long…well, I can’t be bothered to give a damn.

If I’m being honest here (which I am), I’m not sure who’s to blame for this recent development. I used to be on top of my housework and I used to cook every single day, back when it was just the three of us and back when Matt was working full-time. So what’s causing it? Which one of those handsome devils is the cause of my laziness? Matt, who’s literal mindset is “don’t worry about it, we’ll get it done…later“, or the baby, who keeps me up and sucks the energy from me faster than he guzzles back breastmilk? Or, perhaps it’s neither of them. Maybe it’s the toddler to blame, for giving up nap time and making me run around the house after him. Maybe it’s all three of them. Maybe it’s winter, too. Winter sucks, winter means most of our activities need to take place indoors 99.9% of the time. I have a child who does not enjoy playing in the snow, unless I bring snow inside for him. I shouldn’t talk, I hate going outside in the winter too. Even just going from the house to the car to wherever we need to go is daunting on me. When it comes to ice, I’m like Peter Griffin on the new stairs…

Seriously. I fall nearly every time. Poor Matt has to get both the kids in the car, because I’m too afraid of falling and taking them down with me. We seriously need to purchase some salt. And a shovel. And an ice pick. Or a condo in Florida.

So, I’ve been letting things fall to the wayside. I haven’t been as “on top” in my housewifely duties as I feel that I should be, and I feel guilty. Matt could care less, really, it’s me who’s all irritated with myself. I know, this is where you would say “well Jessi, get off the damn computer and clean your house”….

Sigh. You’re right, I should, it’s that easy. But both kids are otherwise preoccupied, and I promise as soon as I’m done writing this post I’ll do just that.

Maybe.

Do you find yourself seriously “slacking” in the housework department? What’s to blame? New baby? Full-time job? How do you keep motivated when it feels like you have no time?

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in housewifey stuff, rambling, rants, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Baby, you make me crazy [lazy]

  1. dramaticmama says:

    I find myself seriously lacking in the cleaning department because I have been sick and when I take time off, I don't have anyone to help with the slack. So when I am feeling better? I don't want to clean because I have 2 days to a week to clean up after 3 people. :/

    You will get your motivation back, a baby and a toddler are draining, give it time. 🙂

  2. I vote for the condo in Florida. As long as you take me with you.

    Your dishes are done, your bathrooms are clean, and so is your living room area. That's not so bad. Nobody washes their floors nearly enough, and everybody gets behind on laundry from time to time. Matt's home every day and he's willing, so why not let him cook dinner? I know I would if Ryan cooked anything other than Mr. Noodles!

    I lack motivation to do DEEP cleaning because there's so much regular cleaning that needs to be done constantly, every day with two kids. I keep up on the dishes, the laundry, the floors (only because I have a steam mop though…if I still used a mop and bucket I doubt my floors would be as clean), and the bathrooms. Oh and I make dinner every day. That's about it! So really, I'm the same as you. I've reasoned with myself. As long as the floor that the pile of Cheerios are sitting on is clean…I'm happy.

    All the above stuff we get done is on top of everything else, remember. You're still bathing two kids (soon you'll be able to do both at once, that's a real time saver), getting them dressed, fixing them meals, playing with them. Those are the most important things.

  3. I wouldn't be so worried about it. As long as everyone is happy and taken care of.
    I fell down our front steps last year while holding skylee. Thank god I fell on my back and she was on top of me. Not so good for my back.
    I love that episode of family guy so funny.

  4. Dani says:

    I always found I kept up with the house best when my ex was home (as in not in away with the army) but working. When he was away training or in the field, I was terrible for letting things slide because I guess I felt sorry for myself basically single parenting and I used that as an excuse for not doing things sometimes. But at the same time when he was home on leave, either a long weekend, or a week or month long break, I also let things slide because we just loved hanging out together playing with Jax and playing video games. His laziness totally infected me 😛 (which is funny, as he was actually the more particular one of the 2 of us). When he was home but going to work every day I definitely was more on top of things than any other time. Having the man home def lead to a messier house every time 😛

  5. jessi ♥ says:

    I hope so!!! I miss my motivation lol. I'll certainly need it before May too… :O

    I'm glad you're feeling better!

  6. jessi ♥ says:

    LOL! Actually Matt's grandparents have a condo in Florida haha! We'll totally be going next year…if we can afford it that is. You're right, of course. Deep cleaning is an overreach when you're parenting two babies. I will be cleaning my floors today too. I should do it more since I also have a steam cleaner mop…lol.

  7. jessi ♥ says:

    That's true, everyone is happy and taken care of. And that sucks! I'm glad she was okay but your poor back!!! I love it too haha! I jokingly walk down our front steps like that now 😉

  8. jessi ♥ says:

    So I'm not alone in this LOL! I guess that just shows we're busy focusing our time on each other? Snort. I can spin it however I want, I still need to clean my house 😉

Leave a Reply

