Play

Despite being extremely sleep deprived yesterday, Saturday was pretty good. For the majority of the morning, Nolan and I played with his pirate ship, hunting for treasure. Then Matt made me a delicious hot Buffalo Chicken sandwich (Nolan ate just the chicken fingers, he doesn’t like sandwiches). He worked on his truck for a bit while Nolan and I watched Wall-E (with Archer, nestled in my arms), and when he came in he sent me upstairs for a nap (after he asked me for a “large” bowl of cereal…and a large bowl I got him!). It was glorious! Our evening was pretty uneventful. We cooked dinner, played with the kiddo, cleaned the house (like, really cleaned the house – there’s still more to do today. At least upstairs is done).

Nolan and I did our regular routine of snuggling in his bed while reading The Sleep Book by Dr. Seuss. He needs me to read him that book every single night, otherwise he gets very sad when going to bed, his entire routine is screwed up if I don’t. So I definitely make sure that I can read it to him, even if we have to postpone bed time until after the baby is fed 🙂

So far Sunday has been pretty awesome, if not really chill. Archer actually only woke up once last night, at 4am, so I’m feeling very well rested. Thank you to those of you who gave me advice on yesterday’s post. For those of you who said formula wouldn’t make a lick of difference, you were right…we did have some already mixed formula that was given to us and I did attempt to give Archer a bottle. I didn’t want to use my frozen breastmilk because I only have a few bags left in the freezer, and the odds of Archer taking a bottle are slim on a good day.

As I suspected, that didn’t go over well at all, he acted extremely insulted that I even brought a bottle around him. I don’t think it matters at all – breastmilk, formula, the insult to him is the bottle. How rude of me 😉 while I was cuddling him, rubbing his back to calm him down after my mean attempt at giving him a bottle, I told him he had to compromise a little and at least take my right boob so that my left one could have a little rest. I wasn’t expecting this to work, but I guess he wanted to make sure I kept that horrid bottle away from him and he latched right on to my right side and fed like it was going out of style.

So, note to self…when my left boob really needs a break and he’s still hungry, offer him a bottle and then he will get off his high horse and accept the right side. 😉

Our plans for today are pretty simple: play some games, cuddle a lot and hopefully finally catch up on laundry. I’m excited for tomorrow; a week of play group, baby group, and just plain old getting out of the house. Weekends kind of give me cabin fever, if I’m being honest. I know I could take Nolan outside but it’s bloody cold here and my kid hates the cold as much as I do.

Sigh. Is it spring yet?!

Happy Sunday everyone!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Instagram junkie, kids, love, photo stories, playing, weekends. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Play

  1. tierney says:

    I love, love, LOVE the picture of you, matt & archer!! It looks like it could have been an actual shoot!

    What a beauty of a family you have. Happy to hear you had a good weekend 🙂

  2. Glad he finally took to the right side, hope he keeps it up. Also glad he is sleeping better and you can catch up on your sleep.

    LOVE the first picture of Archer, the b&w one of Nolan and the one of you, Matt and baby! ADORABLE.

    Hope your enjoying your weekend!

  3. GREAT PICS as always. I'm glad to hear Archer gave you a break and let you get some rest last night. You needed it.

    I'm still completely hung over, I've only managed to get an XL triple triple into me today. And a couple of bites of cake I made for the kids. I am DYING for this epic buffalo chicken sandwich you speak of.

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    I love that picture too, I only wish Nolan would have climbed up for it but hey, you can't ask a toddler to stop playing for a sec to snap a picture haha!!! Thank you love! ❤

  5. jessi ♥ says:

    I also hope he keeps it up! And thanks, doll! I hope you enjoyed your weekend too!

  6. jessi ♥ says:

    Thanks Danielle! A triple triple sounds yummy. I'm feeling a little hungover myself today, but for a different reason. I will message you the recipe! It's sooo simple.

Leave a Reply

