My Voice (Anti-SOPA)

A while back, I read about the Online Piracy Act ages ago, a bill that is going through U.S. congress to censor the Internet to “prevent piracy”. Meaning you wouldn’t be able to post your favourite songs on Twitter or Facebook. People will be able to sue you over basically anything they want.

I personally think this bill is an overreaction. Yes, piracy is a concern, but how many bands have made it big because of YouTube? Because of people sharing their music on their pages? So many. If this bill gets passed, the dynamics of the Internet will change, and not in a good way. I won’t be blogging anymore. I won’t be able to share my voice. Neither will you.

That’s why I’ve joined the Anti-SOPA team, shouting to American congress that this isn’t a good idea, it’s the death of the Internet. I know I live in Canada, but I will be just as affected as my American friends.


PROTECT IP / SOPA Breaks The Internet from Fight for the Future on Vimeo.

My friend Liz has a petition you can sign on her site (and I’m sure many others do too), so go do so.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in changes, issues, petitions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Voice (Anti-SOPA)

  1. I signed the American petition using my parents' address. Mwahahaha.

Leave a Reply

