Conflicted

I’m conflicted, about a lot of things with this whole blogging gig. I love sharing pictures of my boys, I really do, but I’m getting worried about who’s looking at these pictures….especially after I received an inappropriate comment on Instagram about one of my nursing pictures. As a result…I won’t be posting my breastfeeding photos anymore, and I’ve made my Instagram private. At the time, I didn’t think anything of it. I love watching Archer’s peaceful face, the way he holds his hair while he nurses and the silly eye rolls and even the milky smiles he gives. I didn’t think that they could be considered “sexual” at all, the thought never crossed my mind and when I was nursing Nolan I never experienced that so it made me feel really uncomfortable.

And it’s made me double think about posting pictures twice here too. I don’t want to stop posting pictures because I love sharing how adorable my kids are, but at the same time I’m uncomfortable with who might be out there…you know?

I feel like I focus too much on the number here, the number of page hits, of followers, and I feel like I’m not really writing for me anymore. I’m also feeling type-casted here, I feel like I’ve fallen too deep into the “mommy blogging” pit and that I can’t find my way out. I created a different blog and I’ve really fallen in love with it. I love the title, I love that I feel like I can write about anything and write however I want. But I’m not sure I want to bring everything over, right now it’s pretty “anonymous”, I’ve been calling the boys by their initials instead of their full names, and I haven’t posted any pictures [of them] because I’m not sure I want it to go that way. Right now, it’s a “secret” blog and who knows, it might stay that way. For now, anyway.

But I still love this blog. I love that I can write about our daily adventures, and I do still love sharing pictures (even if I’m now second guessing this decision). For now, I’ll continue posting here (and on the other blog) and I’ll think more about what I want to do. Don’t worry, I’ll keep you all informed 😉

Also; you should note that I’m tired of winter and here’s why:

If you haven’t already, please sign the anti-SOPA petition!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bloggy stuff, I don't really know, rambling, thoughts, who knows. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Conflicted

  1. When I began my blog I felt the same way as you, and it was for that reason that until very recently, I didn't put pictures up on my blog. I guess I just try to pretend that those kinds of assholes won't find me.

    I think your idea of a private blog is very clever. In fact, I'm going to start one myself, password protect it, and offer that password to a few individuals. There are some things I want to write about on my blog but I don't because I want some people to know but not EVERYBODY.

  2. MiaB says:

    OMG! I am same way! I have a secret blog too. And lately I have been consumed with how many hits, follows, yada yada, I want to feel like I am blogging for me away. It is so hard to just write for ME anymore. I love being free on my secret blog and not having peeps know I have though about joining them but I don't want it tainted.

    I love your blog so much, you are such a great person to get to know. I connect with you soooo much.

  3. I feel ya. The I feel like I'm falling into a mommy blog slump. I need to start writing again for me. And oh wow at the snow. Wish we had some here.

  4. Tierney says:

    I don't have kids or a blog (yet) but I can understand where you're coming from. I remember Heather Spohr of thespohrsaremultiplying.com had something odd happen to her with one of her daughter's photos and she contemplated taking photos and personal information off her blog too. Whatever you decide I hope you know that people read your blog for a number of reasons, hopefully all with good intentions. I know you treasure the blogging community & I hope that even though you're a bit discouraged, you see the true benefits to this (whether that's advice, friendships, support, etc.). If it helps, I know I'd be sad if you took off! It's so fun watching your little family grow since I'm not at that stage of my life yet 🙂

  5. jessi ♥ says:

    I'm going to pretend that too. And good idea 😉

  6. jessi ♥ says:

    Thank you Mia!!! I'm not going anywhere 😉 no worries!! ❤

  7. jessi ♥ says:

    I wish I could MAIL you some lol I am so tired of snow!

  8. jessi ♥ says:

    I've been waiting for years for you to get a blog!! lol! No worries, I won't be taking off 😀

  9. Tierney says:

    I don't know how to! I looked at blogger.com but have NO idea how to get started haha. Sorry 😦

  10. jessi ♥ says:

    You need a gmail email address, then go to blogger, follow the prompts to create a blog. Or do it on WordPress! Whatever you want 🙂

Leave a Reply

