REALLY!?!?

I’m aware that I’ve been quite the Negative Nancy lately, and I’m sorry for that. Don’t worry though: I’m not sitting here crying about everything that’s bothering me and basking it in, I’m just firing out these posts to help untangle the tightly wound ball of stress in the pit of my stomach so I can be a good mom and carry out my day instead of crying in the corner somewhere. Sorry that my blog gets all the negative junk, but blogging has always been my unloading station, my therapy.

So, let’s get to it then:

I’m not impressed with how 2012 has started out. We’re still [massively] broke, Matt still doesn’t have a job (despite how hard he’s searching), and if that weren’t enough, this happened last night:

Matt was driving home from his friends’ house, he was driving slowly because it was snowing out. He was driving along one of the back roads because there’s always less people on them. Well, some idiot decided to run a stop sign and cut Matt off. It was either hit their car, or swerve to avoid it. He ended up hitting a fire hydrant. Thankfully, he wasn’t going fast or he would have damaged the car more and seriously hurt himself, and the fire hydrant didn’t go off so that was also lucky.

Matt got out of the car, shaken because that’s some scary shit, and the guy driving the other guy also got out and starting screaming at Matt. So, Matt punched him in the jaw. Mainly to get him to shut up, but also because he had reached his boiling point. The stress of our current situation (him not having a job, the up and coming move, just everything) coupled with the fact that that idiot cut him off and was now yelling at him equaled out to Matt punching him. The guy’s friend got out of the car and instantly sided with Matt, telling his buddy that he did, indeed, cut Matt off. Then he was like “we should go!” and the guy got back into the car and drove away before Matt could even get down the license plate number, or exchange insurance information.

Awesome.

So, that seriously sucks. There doesn’t seem to be anything wrong mechanically with my car, just a huge crack in my front bumper (to go along with the billions of cracks on my back bumper, thanks to me backing up into a snow bank four times two winters ago, and that guy who hit me back in the summer).

Matt says he can drill some small holes in it and hold it up with wire (well, he mentioned zip ties at first…then I started to cry, because my car is going to be held up by zip ties? REALLY!? Awesome). The important thing here is that Matt is safe, he didn’t get hurt and I’m so thankful for that. I was pretty upset last night because the situation could have been a lot worse. Matt could have been seriously hurt. But he wasn’t, so….there is that.

I really can’t take anymore crappy things happening to us. Our luck needs to turn around soon.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in frustrations, I don't really know, just our luck, worries, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to REALLY!?!?

  1. Heather says:

    I hope things start looking up for you guys soon. What a stressful and crappy situation. Can I just say though: Go Matt! πŸ˜‰

  2. noraisins says:

    I know what you mean. Last week my son was suspended pending an investigation that could lead to expulsion, I got test results back showing a mass the size of an orange on my ovary, my living room floor was flooded when the water heater busted, my car started to leaking and smelling of gas, and on top of that I had to get a second job to pay for my cats chemo treatments for cancer. It has to get better, right? Either that or there's a meteorite with my name on it. By the way, thanks for letting me vent.

  3. iamtheanykey says:

    OMG Jess, I sure hope your year gets better.

    That is some seriously shittiness right there.

    Sending you guys all the luck I can spare, and keeping you in my thoughts. I hope things get fantabulously awesome from here.

    <3

  4. Wow! That totally sucks 😦

  5. OMG girl I'm so sorry. I did have to laugh at the zip tie idea. But I'm glad his ok and that your car is still running. I know how it is to not a have working car. Hope things get better.

  6. Vivi says:

    Sometimes it seems like everything that can go wrong, will. That's how it felt last year (the beginning of 2011) with me and my bf. My mom gave me three bad checks worth 1800 dollars and got all our bank accounts closed. We were broke, I didn't have a job and then, to top it all off, my bf had to have surgery the day after Valentines. SUCKY. Then we had a falling out with his brother (who was our roommate) and he told us we had to move. We applied for apartments out where we were but it's the suburbs and neither one of us has good credit. So we got rejected. We ended up having to look in the city and found a place. At the time, though, we didn't have a car and it is an hour commute by bus. I had falling out with my mother because I found out that my father (who was never around) is not my biological father. She responded by telling me I am dead to her. Our luck started to turn around though. Slowly. I finally found a job in April 2011, we moved in July 2011. His sister gave us her old truck in AUG 2011. In Oct 2011 my bf got a promotion!!!

    This is my long way of saying: IT DOES GET BETTER.

    Just keep keeping on. Some crappy-ness has already started to seep into this year. But because we've been through so much crap together we've learned how to weather the storm.

    Good Luck πŸ™‚

  7. It really burns my ass that this dipshit had the nerve to yell at Matt after cutting him off by running a flipping stop sign. But then Matt punched him the face and well, I still love that as much as I did last night.

    I'm sorry you guys are having such a rough go. Damn. I've been through it and it sucked from my end of things, but it almost sucks more watching a friend go through it and not being able to do anything to help.

    Your luck has to turn soon. You guys are such a wonderful family and you deserve so much more than this. Just remember, at the end of the day (oh GOD, I sound like Jersey Shore) you have each other and that is what's most important.

  8. Oh no! 😦 What a jerk! I hate crappy drivers! Grrr. I am sending positive vibrations your way, oh and a brownie too. You need a brownie.

  9. @Heather: This made me laugh out loud lol πŸ˜‰ yeah, go Matt!!!

    @noraisins: Oh hunnie that's horrible! You definitely had the worst week!! 😦 sending out healing vibes, good luck vibes, and strength vibes your way. BIG HUGS!!!

    @iamtheanykey: Thanks Blaine!!

    @Heather Cheney: Totally 😦

    @Vivi: thank you, you're right…it DOES get better and we have each other to weather the storms!

    @Danielle-Marie: I KNOW RIGHT?! I'm surprised Matt didn't knock him out lol. I know what you mean about the friend going through crappy things and being unable to help, I've been there too and somehow it sucks MORE. I can't stand people I care about suffering and being unable to help them!

    @Old School/New School Mom: Thanks hun! A brownie would be nice πŸ˜‰

  10. @Heather: This made me laugh out loud lol πŸ˜‰ yeah, go Matt!!!

    @noraisins: Oh hunnie that's horrible! You definitely had the worst week!! 😦 sending out healing vibes, good luck vibes, and strength vibes your way. BIG HUGS!!!

    @iamtheanykey: Thanks Blaine!!

    @Heather Cheney: Totally 😦

    @Vivi: thank you, you're right…it DOES get better and we have each other to weather the storms!

    @Danielle-Marie: I KNOW RIGHT?! I'm surprised Matt didn't knock him out lol. I know what you mean about the friend going through crappy things and being unable to help, I've been there too and somehow it sucks MORE. I can't stand people I care about suffering and being unable to help them!

    @Old School/New School Mom: Thanks hun! A brownie would be nice πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

