8 Months Later…

I’ve been meaning to make the fourth bedroom in our house rental into a play room for months now. Eight months to be exact! I know, I’m the worst procrastinator ever. I was just so tired and sore during my pregnancy with Archer that it was an effort to even prepare for his arrival.

Anyways, here’s what the play room looks like right now:

It’s still definitely a work in progress, and not at all what I “envisioned” but at least it’s a play room, right? I mean, before this room was literally just the catch all for all the random crap. Extra clothes for the kids, bins we hadn’t bothered to unpack yet. Those are safely tucked away in the closet for now ;0) I figured what’s the sense in unpacking those bins when we’ll probably be moving in 3 months?

One day, I’d love to have a play room for the kids that looks like this:

I honestly love cubby shelving units, especially ones that aren’t too high! I might even do that in the boys’ room (because I have decided that they will be sharing a room, when Archer gets older).
 [source]
I also really want to do something like this on one of the walls, but obviously with “Nolan” and “Archer” :0) I loved playing Scrabble with my dad growing up, and I can’t wait to play with the kids too. Also…it’s very adorable!
However…I’m not sure how much more time I’m going to invest in this play room. I mean, I’d love to make it perfect for them, but I sort of want to wait until we know what we’re doing. There’s no sense in spending a lot of money on cubby shelving like that if we’re gonna be moving around a lot.
Speaking of moving (which we will, undoubtedly, be doing regardless..this place is WAY too expensive for us)…I know I’ve mentioned before that one of my friend’s mom’s husband might be able to get Matt a job working on the pipelines in Alberta. We’re still waiting to hear back, but my fingers are desperately crossed. Of course, I’m not looking forward to having him gone for 20 days at a time but honestly? I’m so tired of living the way we are. We are broke all the time. We can barely afford groceries and we seriously take major hits whenever something comes up (like a trip down south, or Christmas, for example). We haven’t even been able to start education funds for the kids, or a retirement fund for ourselves. We don’t have savings either. I’m tired of barely getting by, and I know Matt is too. But still…the thought of being away from us for twenty days, the thought of being away from home, is very terrifying for Matt.
I’m more optimistic about things because I know that the stress of not having enough money is getting to us. We have two kids to raise, and we want to set them up for a good and bright future…and we can’t even do that right now. We’d also love to be able to take off for a weekend, just the two of us, every once in a while. Matt would be home for 10 day stretches, which isn’t a lot but it’s pretty good. He wouldn’t have to worry about working for 10 whole days, we could go places and do things together as a family for TEN DAYS! Heck, we could even go on trips to Disneyland or something like that! Obviously not right away, but you catch my drift right? That would be far better than struggling all the time.
I just wish the job market was better here. Matt’s applied everywhere and to no avail. He’s still employed by his old boss, on a “leave of absence” and that really screws us up. But Matt figured he’d stay employed there, working whenever he could, until something better came up because obviously, a kinda-job is better than no job at all. His boss said things would pick up in the new year, and that he might have work for Matt starting next week.
So, fingers crossed. Please. Fingers crossed that he gets a job out in Alberta, that the transition is bearable for all of us, and that in the mean time he can pick up some shifts at the shop.
About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in family, the future, thoughts, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 8 Months Later…

  1. Heather says:

    Fingers crossed for you guys!

    I hate how expensive everything is, mainly rent. We start making a bit more money and prices start to raise so we're back to square one of living paycheck to paycheck…and we still pull in a decent income! Ergh.

  2. Oh I'm soooo jealous of your playroom! I really want one but our house is only a three bedroom.

    I completely understand how you feel as Ryan and I were living that way with our kids not too long ago. I am keeping my fingers and toes crossed that Matt gets this job. Remember it's not quantity of time, it's quality. I think this job would be wonderful for your family. ❤

  3. Renee says:

    Woah, just scrapping through is AWFUL!! we havent got savings for anything either!! Living pay to pay sucks (even more so when there's no pay!!) Il be praying for yas and this new job!!! (Love the nursery idea!! I'l see if i can find the link for my fav' pinterest kids room thing! Hang on!
    Here it is!! http://pinterest.com/pin/180777372512104232/
    I LOVE this idea!!

    Keeping fingers crossed!! 🙂

  4. Kendra says:

    That play room is dreamy! you should totally do it! And I love the name Archer 🙂

  5. Christa Cox says:

    Thats so awesome!
    We only have one extra bedroom so if we have another baby i dont know WHAT we are going to do with all the toys haha

  6. jessi ♥ says:

    @Heather: I hate how expensive everything is too :0( it's definitely hard to get ahead renting! Mainly because the money goes “nowhere”. At least with home ownership, you have something to show for it. Hope things get better for you guys too!

    @Danielle-Marie: Don't be too jealous! I probably won't be here all that long anyway haha! You are so right about quality!

    @Renee: Thank you! And I love that idea haha!

    @Kendra: Thank you!!!

    @Christa Cox: Haha maybe have them share a room? Or divide the toys up or something? haha

  7. dramaticmama says:

    Your play room is cute! I wish we had a playroom. Dustin has SO many toys. >.< lol. I really like the scrabble letters on the wall idea. Really cute!

Leave a Reply

