Up and coming stuff…

I hope you all had a fantastic New Years! 

Mine…could have been better. I think I may have a meat intolerance, or meat allergy. Seems like every single time I eat pork, I get majorly sick. But I can never remember this when I’m actually eating pork. I probably choose to pretend that won’t happen, considering our freezer is full of pork right now {thanks to my MIL giving us TONS of pork from a fresh pig}. Anyways, I spent the majority of the evening being majorly sick. And then at midnight, Matt and I were still trying to get Archer down for the night.

Still…it was better than last year! We entered 2011 on a not so great note. Matt and I spent New Years Day in a massive fight and stony silence. He had gone out for New Years Eve while I stayed in with his mom {we were still down south, visiting family}. He was supposed to come back at 1am, but by 4am he still wasn’t back and his phone was dead. I was super mad at him. He felt really bad, but I was too pissed off to care. In my eyes, it shouldn’t have happened. So this year, I got my New Years kiss and to spend whatever time with him I had while NOT in the bathroom haha. Too much info, I know, sorry.

Anyways. If there’s one thing I’ve learned about 2011, it’s that I need to let go a little more. I hang on to negative things too much, and I let them ruin my day or week. I act like a super bitch and it’s really not cool at all. I did this a lot last year, especially over my issues with my mom, and any time Matt and I had a fight. Our fights always occurred when we were both stressing about money or when I was depressed over the whole mom thing.

2012 is going to be different. I’m going to let go of the negative, and move on from things that upset me. I’m going to be more understanding and even forgiving, especially when it comes to Matt. In the grand scheme of things, the stuff I get super pissed about are so ridiculously insignificant that it’s really not worth the amount of energy it takes to be mad and stay mad.

Still, I’m happy that this bringing in of the new year was better than last years. Even if I spent most of it really sick. At least I have a present coming! My MIL ordered a Woombie for us last night! Archer is forever escaping his swaddling blanket and pulling them up onto his face while sleeping. Luckily, he sleeps right beside me so I can always adjust things the moment I hear. But soon enough, we’ll be buying a crib and maybe putting him in his own room. I want him to be safe but warm, especially since our house gets pretty chilly at night! So, that’s coming our way and I’m totally stoked.

AND there is a Breathablebaby bumper giveaway going on at So Easy Being Green! I saw it this morning and instantly clicked on the website to read more about it. Breathablebaby bumpers are SAFE, as in, you can breathe through them so they don’t pose any suffocation dangers. I love how cute bumpers look on cribs, and I don’t want Archer to mash his sweet little face against the bars. The crib bumper we currently have {and don’t use, at all} just isn’t safe. The best part is that Breathablebaby bumpers come in all sorts of cute patters! I like the sage and blue stripes, personally.

So, I’ve entered that! And I really hope to win. :0)

New Year, New Babies, New Mommies of 2

Now, onto the bloggy stuff!

Yesterday morning, I spent a great deal of the day reading through my old blog’s archives. I realized something, in doing that: I was a better writer when I wrote at Sarcastica. I don’t know why, I just was. I was able to pour heart into my stories and keep my sarcastic edge that I feel I’ve let slip away.

Truth be told; I miss Sarcastica. It’s too late to go back, and I wouldn’t anyway. I just…miss it. Much like one would miss an old friendship that just slipped away due to the ever changing of directions we humans take.
I’ve got a lot of exciting plans for this here blog, Notes of Life & Love. 2012 will be the year of growth and discovery. I’ll be getting a new look, for one, and I’ll also be re-posting some of my favourite posts from Sarcastica/The Bottle Chronicles. I also want to go back to writing more about my bone disorder. I mention it so infrequently these days that every time I do, I get people asking me what it is! So much for activating the existence of my disorder, huh?
I was ever so sad when I couldn’t figure out how to bring over my posts from WordPress to Blogger. I know several readers left me links on how to do it, but I couldn’t figure it out, no matter how hard I tried! It just kept failing. I have all of my WordPress posts saved on my computer, I’m planning on one day printing them all and making a “book” of sorts to have for the kids. I think it would be really interesting to share with them just how much my life has changed when I started blogging in 2005. It’s changed a lot, I’ve come a very long way. I guess it’s not all that surprising, one would expect to mature a little in 6 years…but still…what I wouldn’t give to read about my parents’ lives before us and during our young days. Especially my mom’s….I’d be particular interested in reading her thoughts of being a teen, then meeting my dad, then becoming a mom…I wonder if there would be any indication of what made her decide to write us off completely.
Anyways, new and exciting things will be happening around here, and I can’t wait for it to happen!
{P.S. If you don’t already, please follow me on Facebook and Google +! And if you have a page you’d like me to follow, let me know, and I’ll do just that!}.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bloggy stuff, quick notes, random, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Up and coming stuff…

  1. That sucks you were so sick! Ryan and I used to have MANY fights over him not coming home when he was supposed to. Except Ryan wouldn't get home until like 8am. GRR! I have a problem with harping on things and being bitchy too…it's in my resolutions…we'll see if I can actually do better. I am SO jealous about your Woombie! I wanted one SO bad because Hannah did the same thing as Archer. Looking forward to reading more of your blog in 2012! Wow, I think I've been reading you for over a year now!

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: Oh wow, that would tick me off so much!!! 8am!? OMG lol I thought 4am was a big bad deal haha! I guess we'll both have to keep each other in line over the whole bitching and harping then, any time we feel like bitching or harping, TEXT each other lmfao! And yeah, I'm stoked to finally be getting one. I got an email saying it was being packaged and would ship out tomorrow ^.^

  3. Sorry you got sick but yay for getting to spend it with the hubs!

    Following you on Facebook and Twitter! If ya wanna do the same (don't have to!) the links are on my blog.

    I ADORE you new header! SUPER CUTE.

    Happy New Year!

  4. Liz says:

    Mike and I tend to fight more when we're both stressed, too. The important thing is to remember to talk. We tend to be more in tune with each other after super long conversations out in the car when we lay everything out, including the ugly stuff. We need to have those conversations more often. We had one a few weeks ago and things have been a lot better since.

  5. jessi ♥ says:

    @Beautiful Mess: Thanks!!! I will head to your blog and search out your Facebook. I'm already following you on Twitter! Happy New Year to you too!

    @Liz: Very true!! I'm glad things are getting better for you too! I think it helps being more aware of what you're saying/doing. Like right now, I'm aware that I'm somewhat ignoring Matt ahha!

Leave a Reply

