2011 Recap

 2011 has been full of both wonderful things and challenges! I decided to do a little recap to review the year, because even though it wasn’t all sunshine and happiness, I feel like I learned a lot
I started this new blog {Notes of Life and Love} in February, after outgrowing the skin of my old blog. 2011 was already in full swing by that point! I got a new tattoo, Matt and I had secretly decided to start trying for a baby, and I went off my pill in January but like a week later I was pregnant. After discovering I was pregnant, I struggled over some questions on whether or not to tell my mom.

In March, I saw Archer for the first time ever. Via ultrasound, of course! When we found out about the pregnancy, Matt and I decided to look for a slightly bigger place. I remember when we saw this house…I was so excited, it was full of potential and hope, now I can’t wait to leave! Don’t get me wrong, I adore this house and all the indoor space, but the rental company has been known to really screw tenets over, and I’m terrified they’ll try to pull one over us.
Anyways. I also blogged about a pretty “controversial” topic and received a lot of interesting feedback. 
In April, we had our first ever potty training attempt! We’ve had a billion more since then and still aren’t any closer to being diaper free…oh well, when the time is right! I started planning out what I wanted the nursery to look like. Nolan turned 2 and we celebrated his 2nd birthday with Matt’s family and my family down South! Nolan got his first haircut, I wrote about my thoughts on birth control and teen pregnancy, and I got frustrated with the whole “moving” process a mere few days before our move!
In May we moved. I did a pretty elaborate house tour. I wished things were different with my mom, celebrated my 3rd mother’s day, started hitting up the waterfront on a semi-regular basis. We also found out that we were expecting a BOY!

In June, Matt turned 25, I turned 22, we went on a lot of picnics in the park, I wrote a sappy Father’s Day post to Matt, my dear friend Robyn came to visit, Nolan started helping me with laundry, and I started blogging about decorating the nursery.

In July, I got super emotional over not having my mom around, then Nolan started sleeping in a big boy bed. Matt and I also celebrated our one year wedding anniversary, and I wrote a sappy letter to him. We left July with me getting a little depressed over our financial situation.

In August I wrote a response post about what I plan on doing when the kids don’t need me as much. Matt graduated college, celebrated with family, and then we went to his ceremony later that month. I had a heartbreaking, heated e-mail exchange with my mom. I had guilt over being pregnant and not being able to do a lot of activities with Nolan.

In September we went down South for my niece’s baptism, JD did a pregnancy photoshoot for me, and Nolan finally had his Sick Kids appointment. While I anticipated the arrival of our newest bundle, I had flashbacks to Nolan’s birth day, then I wrote about my/our decision to get my tubes tied.

Before I knew it, it was October and we took Nolan to a pumpkin patch to pick out pumpkins for the first time ever. Suddenly, it was “baby eve” so we painted my belly! Archer made his first earth-side appearance on my blog, I had my first ever guest posting series{1,2,3,4,5}, and wrote about the whole birth/hospital experience this time around. Archer had his first bath, I got nervous when the reality of having two children to care for {by myself} settled in. I also shared our baby name list! I also realized some difficult things about myself and how I’d been acting all year long. We carved some pretty awesome pumpkins, and had a pretty sick Halloween!

In November I shared some secrets on keeping Christmas cheap and confessed a secret: I wasn’t being a great wife. I wrote about anxiety over having two, I reached out to my mother. Again. She didn’t respond. We went to the Santa Claus parade and I started getting into the Christmas spirit. I had some pretty bad falls {which I’m still trying to recover from}. I decorated the house, took a Christmas photoshoot of the boys, and we set up our tree.

Now it’s December! This month has been very good to us so far! We got to go down South for my nephew’s birthday and had a fantastic visit with everyone. I got to see an uncle I haven’t seen in many years, and did a massive photo dump of our trip. I wrote a letter to Archer for his 2nd monthday. I took more cute photos of the boys together. Archer started giggling. I decided to look into getting a second opinion about Nolan’s MHE care. I talked about Christmas traditions, and about how I think I yell too much.
The rest of December should be really good. Christmas Eve we are going to my SIL’s for a huge family Christmas dinner with Matt’s dad’s side, then we’ll do just the four-of-us family time Christmas Eve and morning. On Christmas day, we’ll be heading to my MIL’s down south. Boxing day we are having Christmas dinner at my Granny’s house. We’ll be staying down south for the rest of December, visiting with family and friends. I’m so excited!

Now that the recap is done…I can talk about what I truly learned this year.
I learned that I can either let myself fall into an endless pit of depression over the not so awesome things in my life {aka the whole “mom” situation}, or I could choose instead to focus on how great I truly have it. I have wonderful kids, an amazing husband, a fantastic dad who more than makes up for the craptastic mom card I was dealt. My sisters are amazing, so are my grandparents and cousins. And I lucked out in the mother-in-law department. I’m not alone.
I learned that it’s okay to cry about the not so great things in life.
I learned that over budgeting is just as bad as not budgeting.
I learned to let go of negativity and embrace positivity.
I learned to live in the moment, be in the moment, 100%.
I learned to tear down the walls I unknowingly built between me and the rest of the world; including my husband. I learned how to let people back in, especially my husband.
I learned that cuddling, holding, and just touching him each day helped prevent fights and keep us more connected.
I learned to find the beauty in everything.
I learned a little more patience than I had before.
I accepted things about myself that I couldn’t and cannot change.
I started finding me again.

All in all, 2011 has been a fantastic year! I can’t wait for 2012!

In 2012, I am excited for:

+ Possibly moving back down south, but definitely moving.
+ Nolan’s 3rd birthday.
+ Our 2nd wedding anniversary.
+ Doing more activities and going on more adventures.
+ Archer’s 1st birthday.
In 2012, I hope for:
 
+ A more stable financial future {for Matt to find a really good job}.
+ My family to continue to be in great health.
+ I hope that Matt and I could finally go somewhere together, just the two of us…a vacation of sorts. Perhaps for our 2nd wedding anniversary…
+ More laughter, more happiness.
+ To be closer to those that I love.
Did you do a year recap? Feel free to join the linky I made! Just for giggles, because I’d love to read everybody’s year end recap!
 

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bloggy stuff, fun stuff, link ups, recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2011 Recap

  1. oh i have to do this. You had a huge year.

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @Nikki Darlin': Yay! Can't wait to read your review! And I did lol 🙂

  3. Camilleta says:

    Wow, that sounds like a very busy year! BTW, your boys are adorable.

    Happy Holidays. =)

  4. What an exciting year! I hope you and Matt get away on some sort of vacation/mini-vacation too in 2012. You never talk about doing things just the two of you and I think you really deserve it!

Leave a Reply

