Such and Such

I forgot to mention, and join, the Restless blog hop on Friday, so I’m doing that now!

young and restless

If you’re new to my blog from the blog hop {or just new to my blog}, my name is Jess and I never shut up 😉 haha. Seriously though, I’ve been blogging for like 5 years {not always here, my first blog was Miss Misery Smiles. Because I was borderline emo}. I blog about my life with my husband and kids, I blog about random thoughts, hopes and dreams. I blog about the things I see around the Internet that I want. Basically, this blog is a huge collection of everything and anything!

To learn more about me, check out the about me page, and also feel free to check out our wedding post and the birth stories of my kids if you have a moment!
*
Now, it’s been a crazy weekend wrapping up from a long week. We haven’t done a whole heck of a lot, but I’m exhausted never the less. I guess that’s just the joy of being a mama to a toddler and a newborn!

Yesterday {Saturday}, the littles and I went to my friend Jamie’s baby shower. I literally only knew two people there, Jamie and her 3 year old son. I am patting myself on the back for going, because old me would have made up some excuse and not gone, as the idea of sitting in a room full of people I don’t know is terrifying. But we were invited, Jamie wanted us there and I honestly can’t play hide away every time a new social situation arrives that I’m not 100% comfortable with.

I’ve made leaps and bounds in the past 2.5 years with this whole “social anxiety” thing. I grew up with my circle of friends, in a little town so new social situations weren’t a regular occurrence for me. When I became pregnant with Nolan, I just sorta shelled myself up and new social situations became this huge scary thing. I guess I thought people were going to judge me on my age and what not.

Now, I still get anxious that people are judging me, but I suck up because Nolan has fun. For a while, it took a lot to get me out of the house with Nolan, and I regressed while pregnant with Archer. But I think my regression had more to do with the season. Most people love summer and hate winter, but summer brings out all of my insecurities about myself. Summer has me feeling exposed.
Plus I was in a lot of pain, from pregnancy and my bone disorder. Pregnancy does wreck havoc on bone disorders and chronic pain disorders.

But now I’m actually comfortable at the EYC! Comfortable enough to nurse Archer in my sling while Nolan plays with the other kids in the gym. Maybe it has to do with the fact that I’ve made some pretty awesome friends, closer to my age {Jamie}, and that the other moms who go are pretty nonjudgmental compared to what I used to experience when going out. I feel like I belong now.

I hope I won’t regress again in the summer. I hope I figure out a way to deal with those “exposed” feelings, for the sake of Nolan, who also has MHE.

Anyways, our week looks a lot like our week usually looks. EYC on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Play dates tossed in there at some point. Lots of cleaning and organizing for Christmas. Packing of our bags, etc.

I’m selling my jogging stroller at some point today, hopefully {knock on wood!} and then I’m going to grab some stamps and FINALLY mail out our Christmas cards. I keep forgetting about them and suddenly remember them when I’m broke ahha! Not good. I’m also going to get some photos developed and grab some frames, as part of the Christmas presents I’m giving my dad and grandparents and Kim. Pictures of the boys! Best gift ever haha!

Anyways, here are some random cute shots of the boys from this weekend!!

 Nolan, giving the cat a “huggie”

 Nolan, wearing my wedding shoes…which he’s now obsessed with.

 Archer, being adorable. Note the flashy camera rope thing haha!

 My little super man! I love his hair!

Giving kisses!

Hope you’re all having a great weekend!
♥

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in me, photos, quick notes, random, the boys, thoughts, updates, yay me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

