Getting into the Christmas Spirit

Yesterday I was able to complete some things on my Christmas to-do list, and I feel significantly better about the whole “Christmas” thing now.
I decorated the boys’ stockings last night, and I must say…they turned out pretty well for a person who sucks at crafting of any sort!
I don’t think they are going to hold up until next Christmas though. But I eventually want to get them special, knitted stockings with their names embroidered on them. For now though, these are perfect!Β 
I can’t tell you how nice getting out of the house to do some Christmas shopping was, although I wasn’t a fan of all the traffic at the mall! It took me half an hour to just park! BUT…I was able to get the kids in the family done. I also bought Matt his gifts, but he’s already driving me insane about it. Matt doesn’t like waiting for things. I wrapped and hide his gifts but he found them and told me I was predictable. I hope he doesn’t ruin the surprise for himself, like he has in the past. I won’t be rushing out to buy him something to open on Christmas day – he’s shit out of luck if he ruins his surprise πŸ˜‰
I already know what my Christmas gift this year is…and I’m totally stoked about it!
Thanks to my MIL, this bad boy is my Christmas gift!! If it weren’t for Etosia I wouldn’t have known about the Black Friday sale at Joovy, and I wouldn’t be getting a double stroller for an unforeseeable long time {because I wouldn’t pay full price for something, even if I LOVED it}. In any case, I saw mention of the sale and had to go over, then fell in love with the Caboose Stand On Tandem Double Stroller and had to beg for it ask nicely for it for Christmas. I’m deeply excited because it’s car seat compatible and Nolan is going to just freakin’ love sitting on the back!
So thanks Etosia!
Now we’re all but done, all we need to do is buy for the people we drew for Secret Santa. Oh, and Santa needs to get stocking stuffers and one cool toy each for the boys.
I have managed to keep Christmas under budget by keeping all of the kids in our family {nieces, nephews, cousins} under $15, and shopping at Value Village for their book gifts. We just bought them lots of books and a couple outfits for the boys, and they “got each other” little toys.
I kept my kids gifts under $50, for all that! They have tons of things to unwrap Christmas morning!
{Partly because I wrapped all the books individually haha!}
The presents on the far right are for the both of them to “share”, and they get to open two of those gifts {the bigger ones} Christmas Eve because they are part of our soon-to-be family tradition; reading T’was The Night Before Christmas and How the Grinch Stole Christmas on Christmas Eve before we hang stockings and leave cookies for Santa. πŸ™‚
I found both books on sale at Cole’s, and they are the only “new” books I bought for the kids. As I said, I prefer to buy secondhand books, but I couldn’t find a good copy of either of those books so why not?!
I still kept under $50 and I’m totally excited about that.
Now I can chill the eff out a little bit about Christmas, and stop riding Matt to let me set up the tree early! I think I can wait the four days to do it πŸ™‚Β 
I’m totally stoked, not only for nearly finishing Christmas shopping but because this weekend coming up we will be going down south for Xander’s birthday party! I can’t wait to see my family, and have Archer meet Grandpa Kent, Uncle Kody, Auntie Shannon & Uncle Nelson, Uncle Kevin & Auntie JoJo! I’m sad that we can’t stay longer than just a few days, but Archer has an appointment on the 7th, Nolan has one on the 11th and I have one on the 15th.
I’m still hoping to take photos of the boys today. I was going to do that yesterday, but the camera batteries weren’t charged enough. They should be now though! In the meantime, I need to clean the house and make myself some breakfast.
OH! AND: guess who slept from 12am until 7am….
THAT’S RIGHT! ARCHER!!!Β 
I kept waking up to check on him, but he slept until 7am, then I woke him up for a feeding and a diaper change.
So awesome! Hopefully this wasn’t a fluke thing and will continue on πŸ™‚
Hope you all are enjoying your Sunday!!!
P.S. I made a Google+ page too! So you can now follow me on Google+, Pinterest, Twitter, and like my page on Facebook. Holy networking addict, huh?! I’m not sure how often I’m going to use the Google+ page because it’s pretty confusing but hopefully I can figure it out πŸ˜‰
β™₯
About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Christmas, kids, life as I know it, phone pics, random, tidbits, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Getting into the Christmas Spirit

  1. I liked your FB page! So happy for your sleep victory! YAY! Also, that is the most awesome Xmas present ever! That stroller rocks! The stocking looks fabulous and very crafty!

  2. jess β™₯ says:

    @Old School/New School Mom: Thank you! I'm happy about the sleep victory too. And I can't wait for it to arrive, I keep checking the site to see if it's shipped yet haha {it hasn't, since it was just ordered this morning. BUT STILL}. The stockings look crafty? Really? Lol all I did was write their names in glue and pour glitter dust over them lmao!

  3. Liz says:

    Yay, I'm so glad you were able to get so much Christmas shopping done! It gives me hope for my shopping, hahaha. I've got a few people done and I feel a lot better about the whole thing now, because so far I've been able to find great gifts for around $10. I ordered some books on barnesandnoble.com last night for a few people. I love giving books as gifts.

    That stroller is super cute! It's nice and compact looking too, unlike some of the double strollers I've seen. I see them all the time and I'm like, “How the hell would I push that thing around?!” Yours looks like it's going to rock.

    I really like your stockings, too. I would not be able to write names in glitter that neatly. I should have you do my future stockings. (;

    I'm also really glad Archer slept so long (because hopefully that means you got some sleep, too)! Have a great day! I'll see you on G+, maybe. πŸ˜€

  4. jess β™₯ says:

    @Liz: Me too! You really CAN find great gifts for under 10 bucks. That's how we did it this year haha! I love books as gifts too. I fell for that stroller for that very reason: it looks like it will fit in the trunk of my car, for one, very important ahha. I literally had to practice before I actually did it! I wrote Nolan's out twice before I perfected it πŸ™‚

  5. The stockings look lovely. I am now avoiding the mall like the plague. I went the day after our tax-free day at the mall thinking it would be a lot less congested, but when I went on Saturday it was terrible. I got overwhelmed within a half hour and said LET'S GET OUT OF HERE. Good for you for staying within a reasonable budget for Christmas! You'll have to teach me your ways. And that's fantastic about your fancy new double stroller πŸ™‚

  6. jess β™₯ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: Thank you!! I hear you about the congestion in the malls…I went Sunday, there were still sales on from “black Friday” so it was crazy. We're pretty much done and have promised to avoid the mall here on out haha!

Leave a Reply

