Just Play

Despite having a chronic pain disorder, I try to my hardest to make sure every day is filled with laughter and play.
Nolan’s favourite activities right now are dancing, colouring, playing “Lion” {which is, essentially, where we all crawl around on the floor growling and chasing each other – fun fun! Even IF it kills my knees/hips/back..old lady alert much?}, playing cars and building towers out of mega blocks. He also loves puzzles and reading.
Since Matt has been home during the last few weeks, he usually cooks at some point during the day – be it lunch or dinner – and that means he usually blasts music, music that we all end up dancing to in the kitchen! It’s fun, really fun. I don’t care how dorky Matt and I look, Nolan loves it and does not stop laughing the entire time so to me it’s totally worth it!
The other night, while Matt cooked a roast {which was delicious by the way!}, we did just that; danced in the kitchen to music.
Matt grabbed the camera and took a few pictures of Nolan and I. We had been dancing, but my camera isn’t really great at catching movement {because I haven’t played with the settings enough}.

 I look exhausted, but who cares right? {Also, totally sorry about the boobs. I can’t hide them, no matter what I do!}

And then I continued taking pictures, because my kids are adorable!

 Fuzzy, but I love it!

We didn’t go anywhere different, we were just at home in our house…but it was one of the best days yet this week. Probably because of the atmosphere! I was able to let go of the worry and tension I feel about money {sigh}, and enjoy the moments with my family.

It’s important to me to try and pack as much play into our day as I possibly can. Even if it means I don’t get around to catching up in laundry or vacuuming. I would rather my kids have awesome memories of the fun we all had together instead of a spotless-all-the-time house.
This isn’t always easy for me because mess drives me NUTS but I’m finding it easier and easier to do 😉

I’m so excited for every day with these remarkable men; and I’m so blessed to have them in my life.

How do you play?

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in capturing memories, family, just for fun, life as I know it, love, marriage, my life, parenthood, photos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Play

  1. Renee says:

    Oh my gosh your kids are adorable!!! I just wanted to say that you have the most AMAZING attitude!! Your so positive in the face of what some people might easily wilt under!! Looking forward to reading more about you and your beautiful family!!
    (via Restless Blog hop!)

  2. jess ♥ says:

    @Renee: Thank you so much! Your comment brightened my day 🙂

Leave a Reply

