this & that vol.2

Time for another week in cell phone pics πŸ˜€
Sunday was a lazy day, we spent the morning snuggling, reading books, and snuggling some more! Nolan had a nap and when he woke up we spent a good 45 minutes painting and colouring. Then we hooked up the laptop to the TV so we could watch The Lion King! Nolan had never seen it before and he loved it, he was dancing around to the dance scenes and at the end of it, he flipped his couch over and ROARED like Simba did haha. So cute! Then we caught the tail end of Aladin on TV…Matt was the most into it haha!

Monday was pretty chill too.
We had a lazy morning, snuggling on the couch, watching cartoons – nothing glamorous. After lunch, we went for a family walk to Tim Hortons. There was a fire truck in the parking lot at Tims, and the fire fighters were SO nice! They waved at us and they even put their lights on for Nolan! We got our coffees and then tried to walk around the block, but my hips were killing me just five minutes into the walk. 😦
Archer and I watched some episodes of Parenthood On Demand while Nolan actually napped. I think I’ll do this walk before naptime thing more often!
{Although I’m seriously doubting myself…I had a hard time getting just Archer ready today, and Matt was taking care of getting Nolan ready}.

Tuesday was a beautiful day out! The sun was shining and it wasn’t as chilly as it has been the past two weeks. We had a pretty uneventful morning – I let Matt sleep in a bit, then I woke him up because I really needed to shower. HA! That sounds bad, but in reality my boobs were SO SORE that I needed like a 20 minute hotter than hell shower! It was still sore throughout the day 😦
When I got out of the shower, Matt had a quick one and then we made the kids lunch {haha, well, Matt made grilled cheese and I fed the baby ;)}. While Matt was cooking, he & Nolan were dancing and having a blast in the kitchen. I snapped the first picture of Matt as he watched Nolan show off some new moods haha.
After lunch, we bundled up the kids and headed out for a walk to Tims. I wanted to stay out way longer but my back pain & hip pain was just too much 😦 Still, we had tons of fun and Nolan talked about his cookie treat the entire way home!

While Nolan napped in the afternoon, Matt & I watched some episodes of NCIS on Demand, and then Matt went to the dollarstore to buy me two brand new composition books {to tide me over, apparently, until he can afford to get me the real leather journal that I’ve been drooling over}. I love a shinny composition book! One will be my thoughts journal and another will keep recipes and DIY projects and other random stuff I want to try.
The afternoon was spent watching movies, and {in Archer’s case} sleeping πŸ™‚
And also: I’ve decided I don’t want a haircut, because my eyebrows need some serious attention. So, instead of a haircut…I’m gonna get my eyebrows waxed haha!
{Mainly because I’m not sure if I really WANT to get my hair cut, I might be kicking myself for chopping it off days later when I can’t toss it in a pony tail to bathe the kids}.
That night when Nolan was in bed, Matt and I had a movie date & watched Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2. Amazing movie!

Wednesday Nolan and I had a mommy & son date, we went to the EYC – just the two of us. He made a craft, played with all the toys and the other kids and just had a blast. We played outside the school in the leaves while we waited for Matt to pick us up. Then Archer and I spent some quality time together while Nolan and Matt napped. I dressed Archer up in a cute little outfit and we snuggled while I watched Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows again. The afternoon was lazy; we just hung out, did some house work and laundry, and enjoyed each others company.

Thursday was pretty awesome, despite the fact that we didn’t do anything. Nolan was really into his brother; he kept kissing Archer and trying to hug him. Twas adorable! He was also really into bugging Sketch today, the two of them were hilarious. After lunch we listened to music and Matt played Beautiful by H.I.M – it was “our song” when we first started dating – and danced with me in the kitchen. It was grossly romantic πŸ˜‰ that man makes me smile haha!
I was going to make goo with Nolan, but I was sent upstairs for a nap by Matt in the afternoon, then by the time I woke up it was dinner rush time. Matt ended up cooking the Chicken Alfredo I was planning on making because Archer wanted to nurse haha.
The evening was full of baby snuggles, baby comb overs, and hanging out with my friend Mir. πŸ™‚

Friday was my first ever time taking both kids out by myself. Matt was going to come with us, but the poor guy got even less sleep than my 3 hours, so I let him stay home and I took the boys to the EYC, mainly because I promised Nolan we would go & he was looking forward to it. I chatted with a bunch of pretty awesome other moms, and there were 2 other tiny babies there that day too. One, a little girl, was even born the exact same day as Archer! Nolan made a craft, rode a bike, and basically just had a freaking blast! I was tired but it felt great getting out with both kids. The change of scenery was definitely needed!
When we got home from the EYC, I was feeding Archer and Nolan was in the kitchen. I thought he was playing with the cat. I should have known by the silence he was up to no good. Suddenly he came into the living room with his pants and diaper around his ankles and said “Uh oh Mommy. Look at the table!”
I had a sixth sense that something horrible had occurred on the table, so I stopped nursing Archer and put him down and went to investigate. Yup, something horrible had happened – Nolan had taken a poop right on top of my table! I gave him a lecture, told him we poop in the toilet only and he said “sorry mommy”. So, that was fun. {NOT}.
Matt went grocery shopping, then I ran a couple errands by myself. Then we all went to Walmart for a diaper/wipe run.
In the evening, I spent a good hour just playing with Nolan on the floor. I haven’t been able to do that in so very long, so it was a treat for both of us. Usually I can only spend 10 minutes at a time on the floor before my body starts aching too much.
So, despite the pooping on the table incident, Friday was good.

*

And that was, essentially, more or less, our week in cell phone pics!!!
I’m actually super-dooper proud of myself for getting out of the house so much with the kids this past week. It’s definitely something I’m going to continue to do because not only did we all have so much fun, but I felt great at the end of each day. I felt like I had accomplished a lot!
So next week, I’ll be doing the same! The EYC has play group every Monday, Wednesday and Friday and on Tuesday’s they have a registered nurse come in to weigh and check infant development. She also offers breastfeeding support {which I don’t think we need, we’re actually doing pretty good}. So we’ll try and hit up the EYC at least twice each week!

Hope the rest of you had a fabulous week!

β™₯

Linking up with Amy from A Good Life!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in day to day stuff, our week, phone pics, photos, this n that, tidbits. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to this & that vol.2

  1. dramaticmama says:

    I love the format of this post. Weird, I know. But I really like it.

    Also? Your pictures, are awesome. I still can't believe how much A looks like N when he was that small! HOLY! lol.

    Good for you for getting out of the house. Your anxiety should go down the more you do it yourself. I am proud of you. Especially since winter is coming, and coming fast, and I am scared I might hibernate.

  2. good for you for taking both kiddos out! i am sure it is pretty scary the first time.

  3. jess β™₯ says:

    @Dramaticmama: Yeah it's crazy how identical they look!!! And you're right, which is why I'm forcing myself to do it at LEAST once a week, until I can't {due to weather and lack of a car}.

    @Amy@agoodlife: It was at first but the scariness went away quickly when I realized it was pretty easy! Of course they were both really well behaved soo…that might have affected it haha

  4. mama coop says:

    I am so happy I found your blog! Your sons are such sweeties I've just spend a good amount of time reading all about you guys your adorable and thanks for following my blog πŸ™‚
    Jessica

  5. jess β™₯ says:

    @mama coop: awwh this was so nice to read this morning! hehe. Thank you very much, they are sweeties {but can be straight up demons at times haha!}. I'm really glad I found yours too! Can't wait to see pictures of your little guy, and read all about your adventures with him!

  6. Carolyn says:

    Looks like a fun week, your kiddos are adorable! I love his home grown onesie πŸ™‚

  7. jess β™₯ says:

    @Carolyn: Thank you!!! It was a fun week πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

