Envisioning: The Living Room

Hello lovelies! I’m back with another home decor/self torture post!
Last week, I put together some images and thoughts on what I wanna do in our dining room. Today, it’s all about the living room baby!
I seriously need to win the lottery. Or learn to budget and save better haha!

It’s probably going to take us a while to save up and purchase things for the living room, since we don’t buy things on credit. But I’m hoping to make my vision come to life by buying as many things “second hand” as I can, or making them myself. 

I want to do a gray living room theme with splashes of yellow and turquoise. The picture below was as closest I could find of what I want {although I dislike that rug haha}.
How could would that coffee table be? Not that I have any idea where to get it haha. 
Maybe I’ll magically stumble across something like it!
I like this couch and chair from Ikea:
Apparently, I might not find their couches comfortable for our main living room {I honestly have NEVER sat on an Ikea couch, or even been to an Ikea}, but if I don’t find them comfortable, I’ll be buying a different couch. One that is comfortable and gray! haha.
I’m so drooling over these two chairs from Urban Outfitters {but they do NOT fit my budget right now haha, although…if we’re saving and adding slowly…hmmm}

 Ziggy chair & Madeline chair
{the second one is my favourite!}

And, since we’re on the Urban Outfitters mindset…

these curtains are to die for.
Totally affordable too. Not sure if Matt would like them though haha…
{but that’s what the man cave is for, RIGHT?!}

I want to keep our furniture bright, light and airy in the living room. I think I want to go with the birch effect furniture for end tables etc, and I am definitely going to snag up two of these LACK side tables from Ikea, for 10 bucks…who can go wrong?? The TV bench isn’t that expensive either. I haven’t decided if I want to buy the matching coffee table, but it’s there if I want to haha.

I’d also love to buy an EXPEDIT bookcase. I’m seriously like IN LOVE with them and plan on buying like four of them. Three black-brown ones for our bedroom, and a birch one for the living room to match the end tables {and possible coffee table}. 

So, that’s all the furniture. I will want to get new table lamps too. This one looks pretty cool:
And I know that there are many online tutorials for changing the colour of lampshades. I’d either want to change the colour to yellow or turquoise, to keep with them theme haha. 
UGH I’m driving myself crazy!
But this is oddly fun. 
The lady from Debt Do Us Part says it’s good to set realistic goals. Buying new furniture {slowly but surely} is a more realistic goal for us right now. One room at a time!!! 
About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in decorating, design, dreaming, house and home, housewifey stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Envisioning: The Living Room

  1. Heather says:

    I love it all!

    I know what you mean about needing to win the lottery :/

    We've been in our apartment for over a year and it still isn't all the way decorated. Sigh. Maybe by the time I retire, haha.

  2. jess ♥ says:

    @Heather: We've been here only 6 months, but we STILL don't have curtains in our bedroom. At least, not hung up properly on a curtain rod! They are pinned up with thumb tacks LOL! I figured if I added a lot of personal touches that could move with us {furniture, textiles etc}, I could make our home more US without “damaging” it. Of course I need to win the lottery ahha! Perhaps to win it I should start playing it 😉

  3. I love your ideas. I have been slowly redoing our whole house. The only room thats fully done is my daughters room and thats because i made most of the stuff. I'm working on the bathroom now. I just buy stuff when I see it. Last thing I bought was a green toilet seat cover for $1 at the thrift store.

  4. jess ♥ says:

    @Nikki Darlin': The kids bedrooms will be a work in progress 😉 I keep buying things and adding to them as I go. I wanna get the big ticket purchases {table set for the kitchen, couch and end tables etc for the living room} out of the way before I start the little things 🙂 once I get the couch for the living room, this couch can go to the basement and I won't have to worry about that for a while ahha!

  5. That's how we're doing it! One thing at a time I mean. We got a Leon's credit card/line of credit. We buy something, pay it off, then buy something else. It takes time but eventually we'll both have our homes looking lovely 🙂

  6. Ally says:

    I love how much light the room has even though the window seems so small. My taste for interior design is quite similar to yours! Also the font of your blog is cute 🙂

  7. jess ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: OH I'd love a Leon's credit card haha! I don't think we qualify for one though 😦 we're gonna have to do the old save and pay. I like your way better, because you can get something, pay it off, buy another something, etc etc.

    @Ally: I love it too! So no matter where we move to, our living room will always be bright and cheerful 🙂 And thanks aha I love the font 😉

Leave a Reply

