The Problem With Pinterest…

The problem with Pinterest is that I get sucked into it and end up sitting here for hours pinning stuff when I should be cleaning, or sleeping, or showering. 
{Don’t worry, I don’t neglect my kids to pin, scout’s honor! Nolan actually helps me pin stuff ahha!}.
Last night, I found a bunch more DIY projects and Christmas crafts that I want to, well, do. 
So, I pinned them to my Craft/DIY board “to do later”….
which brings me to the other problem with Pinterest {at least, in my case}…
I never actually get around to doing these projects.
But all that is gonna change! I’ve picked three DIY Christmas projects that I am going to do by the end of November:
 1. This Christmas Wreath. I am pretty much in love with it.

2. Ornaments in the window. Seems simple enough, am I right?!

3. DIY Christmas trees. Perfect for table decorations!

4. Painted pine cones. So easy, even I can do it 😉

5. Spray painted sparkle branches in a glass vase. So pretty!

6. Rein-beers! Perfect Christmas gift haha!

So yeah; I’ll start off with those and see how I do 😉
It’s high time I bought myself a glue gun and some glue sticks, and actually did a DIY project that I’ve repinned on Pinterest.
I’ve had Pinterest for like 6 months, so that’s just pathetic haha!!

Another Christmas related issue weighing heavily on my mind:
When I was really little, we had a lovely fireplace that we hung out stockings on.
When my dad built our “new” house {as we’ve always called it}, we tied our stockings onto the railing.
BUT, I also don’t have a railing…
{or at least not one that we could tie stockings too – they’d just slide down when stuffed, and the stairs is totally cut off from the living room, where the tree will be}
So I’m at a loss on where to hang/put them.
Hanging the stocking was such a major tradition growing up, and I want it to be for my boys too!

I actually am so worried about this that I had to search [Pinterest haha] to see some “inspiration”. I like these ideas…

  via
Cute fall back if I can’t find anything {only I don’t have a gorgeous chair like that haha, it’d have to be set up on my couch}.

via
Love the idea of hanging stockings off a painted branch, but so unsure on where I would put it.

via
Fairly good idea…

 What’s your take? Where do you hang your stockings {if you don’t have a fireplace mantel}?
Let me know in the comments!!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Christmas, crafts, diy, inspiration, photos, Pinterest. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Problem With Pinterest…

  1. I agree! Secretly addicted! Shh 😉

  2. tamara says:

    my mom always puts our stockings at the end of our beds…still does it to this day

  3. jess ♥ says:

    @Tori Baldridge: I'm making my addiction known because the first step is admitting, right 😉 haha!

    @Tamara: Matt is game for that, and I think I might do that actually but the ONLY problem is that I'd be afraid to leave chocolates and goodies in there haha, Nolan would be wired before we even woke up!

  4. Jess says:

    I never realised that pininterest could be used for diy stuff until recently.

    My Mum made us big Christmas stockings but we never hung them up, they were always put near the tree or Mum bought them out because otherwise we sneaked peaks at night haha.

  5. tamara says:

    lol that's a risk for sure…maybe put it on his dresser or somewhere he can't reach it?

  6. jess ♥ says:

    @Jess: I wanna make big stockings! But then I'd feel obligated to fill them…and my wallet just ran away crying with all the things I *want* to do right now lmfao.

    @Tamara: haha that COULD work but I kinda like to have all the gifts/Santa things in the same area, if that makes sense?

  7. Jeana says:

    My mom would hang my stocking on my headboard. I think she's also hung it on my door knob before.I never minded where the stocking was, it was just fun no matter what!

  8. jess ♥ says:

    @Jeana: True! I was also excited just to open it haha!

  9. LOL I'm so damn lazy. I just fill the stockings up and put them under the tree usually. However, this year I might hang them from the stair case banister. I thought that might look nice. All your DIY projects look awesome. I think I may try the ornaments in the window one. P.S. Pinterest is evil. Since discovering it, I think I've spent at least 12 hours just clicking around on that website. I CAN'T HELP IT.

  10. I like that damn site. I had a hand full of Halloween things I wanted to do but didn't get around to. I love the one's you have picked out. I wanna do some too now!

  11. jess ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: LOL! I will probably just end up doing that. That IS what I did for Nolan's first Christmas, so yeah. WHY ARE WE NOT PINTEREST FRIENDS?! Add me!

    @Nikki Darlin': I had SO MANY Halloween things picked out too and I didn't get around to doing ANY of them, which is why I'm pretty much determined to do some Christmas ones!

Leave a Reply

