Envisioning: The Dining Room

I really dislike the look of our dining room.
Right now, it’s so plain and boring. No pictures, nothing that makes it POP and say “welcome! sit and eat!”. So I decided to put together an entire post of what I’d like to do over the course of the next few months.
Why? Because I’m bored, and one of my favourite pastimes is to torture myself envisioning decorating up our spaces and buying new furniture. HA!
I love the look of the dining room pictured below, only I want to add more red. Ultimately, yellow, red, and white will be the “dining room” theme colours.

dining room inspiration
via

We need to get new chairs because our current kitchen chairs aren’t ours, we borrowed them off Matt’s dad years ago, and he’ll be needing them back this spring. One day I’d love to have fabric chairs, but that’s sort of impractical with two young kids, and we’d end up spending more on fabric chairs than we would on an entire new dining table & chair set. I was checking out Ikea for tables and I found one that fits within our immediate budget:
I’m told these chairs aren’t the comfiest, but unless I find an awesome secondhand table set for a price I’d pay {so far, no luck in that department}, we will be going with this table. Another one that caught my eye was this one but I don’t think that the chairs would function well with a booster seats on them.
I want to find new curtains too, something like these:
Only not so expensive. I’d probably go pick out the fabric myself and find an online tutorial on how to make them haha. But I definitely want something bright and cheery! This one also caught my eye, only it sort of gives me a headache to stare at it haha.
I’d also like to buy two of these cubby shelve from Ikea, and paint it a bright, sunshine yellow:
I’d put cute little things there, keeping a red theme. Red vases holding tiny flowers, red bowls, my red teapot and cream & sugar bowls, etc etc.

I’ve had my eye out on this glass door cabinet for a billion years too. Or, something like it. I’d sort of prefer a nice white pantry without glass doors.

I can totally picture the dining room, cheerful yellow flowers in a red vase sitting in the middle of the table, so much colour and light…and I can’t wait to actually put my vision to life.

I talked to Matt about my desire to brighten up our spaces and make our home feel more cozy and reflect us, and he’s game. In the new year, the first thing I’m going to do is purchase the table and cubby shelves. The cabinet can wait a while, since we already have a pantry {it’s a crappy Walmart one though and I’d like to replace it as soon as humanly possible}. I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled for affordable patterned curtains and cute little yellow and red decorative pieces. But I am excited to buy a new dining room set on the super cheap!
Of course, it’s not what we’ll have always, when we’re making tons of money I want to get a legit fancy set from a different furniture store {like The Brick or Leons}, but I want a HUGE table that will sit TONS of family during holiday dinners etc. Obviously that table has to wait until we have our own place 😉

We are going to manage this by, *gulp* staying in this house for longer than we intended. Sometimes, my neighbors tick me off so much that I can’t help but want to move out, but really? We are lucky here. There is tons of space for the kids and us, and it’s affordable. And for the past several months now, I haven’t been bothered or as irritated about being here. I’m content and happy.
Besides, what’s the sense in moving back down south and paying nearly double what we pay here in rent? I’d rather wait until we can afford to buy a house.
Sure, I’d love to be down south but we really can’t afford anything more, and in the New Year when Archer is older I will be able to make more trips down South to visit my family.

Tomorrow I’ll post my ideas/vision for the living room, because I had a lot of fun writing this post! It’s fun to envision things, and get an idea of what it will cost.
 

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in dreaming, house and home, housewifey stuff, keeping cozy, projects, random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Envisioning: The Dining Room

  1. Allie says:

    I love all these ideas! It is so fun to envision rooms in your house, i think I do this daily haha pinterest does not help my obsession haha

  2. jess ♥ says:

    @Allie: Pinterest doesn't help ANYBODY'S obsession lol. I am so addicted to it! Are we following each others boards yet? I'm jessicanotes there too haha

Leave a Reply

