Monday Mania

On the weekend, I decided to re-organize the living room. Since most of Nolan’s books had found their way downstairs anyway, I figured why not bring a bookcase down?
After all, the living room is where we spend most of our time, living and such. I could have {and probably should have, it would have been less work} brought the oak bookcase from Archer’s room down, since he isn’t even in his room yet. But I wanted the black one, because it’s longer and “goes with” the living room better. 
So, I did double the work and moved the black bookcase downstairs and the oak one back into Nolan’s room – temporarily, until Matt buys another black bookcase {because I do like the look of black in Nolan’s room too}. Nolan still has TONS of books in his bedroom.
Now we have a slightly more organized living room:

Matt was taken by surprise when he came home and found the black bookcase downstairs, and then I got into a lot of crap because apparently I shouldn’t be lifting shit like that 4 weeks after a c-section…pff. Whatever. Personally I think his knickers were in a knot because I still make him do laundry. {NOTE: Don’t be an idiot like me and lift stuff you shouldn’t before the 6th week is up, OKAY?! I am a special breed of stupid.}
I’m glad I brought the bookcase downstairs, mainly because I want to encourage reading at ALL parts of the day and for the most part, we don’t really go upstairs during the day {especially since Nolan has decided naps aren’t his forte}. 
Next up on my to-do list for this week:
1. Go through Nolan’s toys in the living room and basement. Get rid/store toys he doesn’t regularly play with, keep the ones he often plays with upstairs. {I need to make room for the Christmas tree in the living room, obviously! It will be going in the left corner by the window where a bunch of Nolan’s toys are currently stacked}. 
2. Clean and re-organize the hall closet and my walk in closet.
3. Clean and re-organize the spare bedroom and “man cave”.

I’m also finally going through my thousands of pictures for my “family wall” that I want to put together. Originally, I was just going to pick out nice frames in different shapes and sizes. Now I also want to add the DIY canvas photos for the really special ones! I’m going to have to wait until after Christmas for all that to happen, but I’m starting the photo picking out process now. I love photos of family. LOVE THEM. And I love them to look “old fashioned” and “antique”. I have a couple of really old photos {of my great granny, etc} that are also joining the family wall.

Here’s a little preview:

Those are the latest photos to make it to the family wall list. I have tons of awesome photos of Nolan and the rest of the family, but I’ve mostly posted all of them 😉

Aside from all that housewife stuff, I’ve been keeping busy with kids and Matt and writing. I’m nearly at 5,000 words for my NaNoWriMo novel! This is extremely exciting to me, because I barely have time to close my eyes, let alone write!
I haven’t participated in NaNoWriMo since 2009, I had a lot more time for writing then, so obviously I can’t compare myself to then.
I write during kid naps, and during Nolan’s “morning cartoon” zone out, and at night time. I even got up at 6:30am this morning to write a bit! I only got in an hour, but still…exciting. I know I probably won’t make 50,000 words by November 31st but I have a different goal set in mind:
I’m actually going to finish this book.
The last time I participated in NaNoWriMo, as soon as I hit the 50,000 word count I figured I was done and just abandoned the story. NOT GOOD, and definitely not the point of NaNoWriMo.
Matt has been a great cheerleader, I mentioned that I wanted to be a best selling published author and that I wanted him to be my trophy husband, so he’s very eager for me to finish a writing project haha!
I just don’t know if my brain can make this particular story stand on its own.
Regardless, I need to get back into writing.

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? What’s your handle? Let’s be writing buddies!!
Now, I’m going to work on my story some more, and maybe catch up on my blog reader!!!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in house and home, housewifey stuff, keeping cozy, tidbits. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Mania

  1. HAHA you crack me up….moving heavy stuff! Your a baller!!! I love Archer's hair…I mean seriously! He looks so old with those long locks! I love it!

    High 5 for all that organization!! Wanna come to my house next!?!??!:)

  2. jess ♥ says:

    @Allie: I think I might actually have to get his hair cut before his first birthday haha, he's rocking a pretty sweet mullet right now bahah. I haven't done ALL that organizing, yet, it's on my to-do list which could very well be left on there for a while haha! But if I could I would, to help a prego lady out!

Leave a Reply

