The Great Pumpkin Carving Adventure of 2011…

Yesterday afternoon, we carved the boys’ pumpkins!Β 
It was the first year that Nolan was able to partake in the pumpkin gutting! How exciting πŸ™‚
Only, he wasn’t thrilled about it. He didn’t freak out like we expected him to, but he definitely didn’t volunteer to do it again after the first time. He just sort of poked the pile of guts Matt made and said “ew, yuck” haha.

I won’t lie, Matt did like all of the pumpkin work there. The drawing, the gutting, the carving. I had my hands tied up trying to keep Nolan from climbing on the table and I was nursing Archer at the same time. They turned out fantastic, and although he hates the feeling of pumpkin guts {as his expression in like 99.9% of those photos suggests}, he has a blast carving so I’m glad that the job of pumpkin carving won’t fall on my shoulders.Β 
Especially considering later on tonight, when I was trying to carve my pumpkin and couldn’t get the knife out after putting it in just once. Matt had to finish carving for me, but I did draw my own pumpkin design!
This is my pumpkin:

Β 

I’ve affectionately named him Zach the Zombie. Haha…

And now all the pumpkins {I fell asleep before Matt finished carving his, so no solo pictures lol}:

Matt is kick ass at pumpkin carving lol.

Happy Halloween everyone!!!
Be safe tonight!!!

β™₯

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in family, fun stuff, good times, photos, seasons, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Great Pumpkin Carving Adventure of 2011…

  1. Awesome pumpkins! Mine's not even worth taking a picture of, we got one pumpkin and it's just a standard triangles for eyes and a nose and a smile for a mouth. Oh well aha.

  2. jess β™₯ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: Thanks! Last year ours was the traditional triangles and a grin lol. This year I wanted to do something epic though, and I think we did pretty good? It was my first year actually investing time and thought into it. I pat myself on the back hehe ❀

  3. Lisa says:

    Stopping by to say hi! I've been a reader for a while, but just recently got my own blog and started commenting on all the blogs I regularly read πŸ™‚

    Your pumpkins look great! I haven't carved a pumpkin since I was a kid and I miss it. It looks like you guys had a ton of fun.

    If you have a chance, stop by my blog and say hi!

    ~Lisa
    http://msmarvelproject.blog.com

  4. tierney says:

    your pumpkins are unreal– i wish i had those carving skills! have fun tonight πŸ™‚

  5. jess β™₯ says:

    @Lisa: I will check out your blog for sure! Always love finding new great reads πŸ˜€ and thanks!!! You should start carving again, its fun!

    @Tierney: Matt has the carving skills, I didn't carve any of them lol. I just drew mine out πŸ˜‰ But thanks!

  6. dramaticmama says:

    I really LOVE your pumpkin Jess!! It's my favorite. πŸ™‚

  7. jess β™₯ says:

    @Dramaticmama: Thanks!!! I love them all so much lol. I'm excited for next year, it will be even more badass πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

