Seriously Thursday v.8

Linking up with Becky again! 

* I seriously got called “little girl” by a medical receptionist the other day while taking Archer to the ACU at the hospital, and not just once, where it could have been a harmless slip up, but three times. “That’ll be x-amount of dollars, little girl“, “just let me get your receipt, little girl“, “here you go, little girl“. And the tone was totally belittling and rude. Like, what the hell? Almost said “thanks, old broad,” but I’m not that rude. 
* Seriously why do people always assume that because a mother is “young”, it’s okay to treat them that way? Belittling them, talking down to them, giving them dirty looks, calling them “little girl” etc? Has anyone ever done/said that to you? How did you react? 
* Seriously tired of people giving dirty looks, period. How hard is it to smile at people? Even if you don’t agree with what they’re wearing or how they “look”? 
* Seriously I think I was meant to live in like the 1950s where people were actually friendly towards one another. And when people wore poodle skirts and listened to records and drank milkshakes at cool diners. I love poodle skirts.
* Seriously, I started watching Sons of Anarchy the other night with Matt and I freaking love this show! Where has it been all my life?! Jackson is hot, the story line pulls you in, and the acting is fantastic. Add that to my list of shows that I’m addicted to {along with Vampire Diaries, True Blood, Game of Thrones, Grey’s Anatomy}. We stay up super late watching it, and I’m beginning to pay for it but I CAN’T HELP IT! This show is awesome on so many levels.
* Seriously I wish we had the extra moneys to buy a king sized bed and more comfortable mattress. Oh, and a new couch and TV for downstairs…and maybe a newer car. And the millions of other things on my wish list?
* Seriously Christmas is in two months people! I plan on starting my shopping at the end of October. I hear you can stretch your budget further by purchasing things online, but I’ve never done this before…tips people? I’m not an expert online shopper. 
* Seriously somebody needs to hook me up with mad couponing skillz.

* Seriously I love Allie’s life, the other day she posted an awesome tutorial on how to make DIY canvas photos! I absolutely love canvas photos but can’t justify spending that much money on them {and neither can my hubby}. So I’m stoked that she posted a tutorial, it never even occurred to me that you could make them yourself!

* Seriously I really wish our town had a H&M, Carters and Oosh Koosh, Old Navy, and Babies R Us. I keep dreaming about going to those stores to do some Christmas shopping, but I don’t want to make the 2.5 hour long drive.

* Seriously Nolan actually let me sleep in today!!! I had time to shower, get dressed, make a bowl of oatmeal and have a tea.

* Seriously I know it’s an old show but I still love Rosanne. I used to watch it all the time when I was younger. The 90s were good, I miss them!

* Seriously though, I will never watch her new show…does not appeal to me in any way. I think I only like Rosanne so much because of all the other characters….Dan and Darlene in particular.

* Seriously I heard that they are planning on locking up the Harry Potter DVD series!! Apparently the last shipment is December 29th!! WHAT THE HECK?! The last Harry Potter movie hasn’t even been out for a full year yet {or has it? I’m in a parenting time warp here}. I haven’t even seen the last movie yet! I know, it’s shameful, considering in my “youth” I was a die hard HP fan. I doubt I’ll be able to get all the DVDs before they are “locked up”, so I has a sad.

* Seriously stoked to see Breaking Dawn!!! I just might pre-order my tickets now. I think I’ll make Matt go with me, since he did take me to see every other one.

* Seriously I can’t wait to take the kids to Disneyland. Honestly, I had so much fun when I was little, and I can’t wait to make those memories with my kids 🙂

* Seriously the kids TV show Franny’s Feet drives me in-freaking-sane. I just can’t stand the “it’s FRANNNNTASTIC” shit, and the fact that she steals other peoples’ shoes and wears them. Gross! What kids show drives you nuts? Also on my list: Max and Ruby.

* Seriously excited for the weekend! We’re going to carve our pumpkins this weekend, and prep for our HALLOWEEN!!! We’re going to take the kids to the mall for the Halloween trick or treat they do for the little ones, then Matt wants to take Nolan to the “rich neighborhood” for a bit of trick or treating, mainly to score an awesome candy stash for us. WHAT?! It’s a right of passage for parents to eat their kids Halloween candy.

* Seriously excited for Monday, I get to finally do some clothing shopping for everyone. Matt, the kids, me. We have a photo shoot the following weekend and NO ONE has “nice” clothes to wear. I’m also going to check out Sears and buy Archer a Halloween “costume” {apparently they have cookie monster sleepers etc}. He’s too tiny to fit into any costumes I’ve come across 😦 bummer.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in quick notes, Seriously Thursday, stuff, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Seriously Thursday v.8

  1. Natasha says:

    Omg, I HATE people's dirty looks & comments. Yes, I know I look like I'm 15. Can I help it? No. I get the “Is your mom home?” & “Aren't you a little young to have children” all the time. It seriously drives me nuts. Just because I look young, doesn't mean I can't be a good parent. & why should I constantly have to tell people how old I am. Ugh, hate it! People need to mind their own business.

    I'm planning on doing a lot of my x-mas shopping online this year too, so I'd love some tips too if you come across any!

    & omg, love Roseanne too! I thought I was the only one who still watched it :p

  2. jess ♥ says:

    @Natasha: I also don't see why I have to tell people how old I am. Mom's who are in their thirties and older don't have to justify their age. If I forget my rings at home, the looks INCREASE times a thousand. I've even had head shakers, unless I'm out with Matt. Then nobody messes with me haha! And nope, you're not the only closet Rosanne fan 😉

  3. The woman who owned the bridal boutique I bought my dress from called me “little girl” constantly too. Oh wait, sometimes it was “little chick.” Firstly, the only thing physically little about me is my height and perhaps my feet. Secondly, I'm fucking 24 years old! Seriously, I wish I had the money to renovate my entire fricken house, nevermind my terrible furniture. But I'll settle for my new Queen size bed for now because I've never had anything bigger than a 1 and a half in my life! Gets here in a week! SERIOUSLY I saw the homemade DIY canvases and I am soooooooo excited to make my mommy's Christmas present this year! Seriously Roseanne is THE BOMB. Loooove it. Seriously, it's true about HP and I'm gonna lock up my own DVDs for fear of them becoming damaged and now irreplaceable until further notice. SERIOUSLY OMG BREAKING DAWN EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!! Seriously can't wait to take the kids to Disneyworld too. Wait. You said Disneyland. YOU WENT TO CALIFORNIA? I'm jealous. I went to the one in Florida. Seriously, I HATE Max and Ruby. And the Wiggles. And the Fresh Beat Band. Fuck you, Fresh Beat Band. SERIOUSLY EXCITED FOR HALLOWEEN (I'm dressing up as Snooki for a party this weekend). But I'm bummed Ryan can't join me to take the kids out on actual Halloween because he has to work 😦

    Okay, I'm done now. A bit hyper, too much coffee.

  4. hannah. says:

    I also LOVE Sons of Anarchy!
    Love your Seriously?! post! Come say hi!

    xoxox…Hannah @ A Lovely Mess 🙂

  5. jess ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: Seriously I would have SNAPPED on that lady. Little chick? Little ANYTHING is ridic. What about “miss?” I don't mind that, even if I am a Mrs. And no, I meant Disneyworld but I fail to know the difference lmfao.

    @Hannah: SUCH an awesome show, I'm pretty much in love with Jax lmfao. Thanks! And I will 🙂

  6. “Little girl?” WTF? That is so ridiculous. I don't think I'd call an actual child “little girl,” let alone an adult woman. That's so crazy.

Leave a Reply

