Homesick.

Today is my wonderful Dad’s birthday. That’s him with Archer on October 6th, his first time meeting his fourth grandchild. My dad is a super amazing guy, if you know our family and you know my dad – you know he’s awesome. 
He’s a hardworking, dedicated family man and always has been. He has always been my “hero”, even though he’s made his share of mistakes in life, parenting us and being a great dad has never been one of them, as well as teaching us a strong work ethic and family values.
I miss my dad a lot today, because I can’t give him a hug on his birthday and wish him a happy birthday in person. I also can’t be there for his birthday dinner, to eat cake and laugh with the family. Today, I’m feeling the distance a lot. I miss my family – my dad, my sisters, my grandparents, my cousins…everyone. It sucks being so close yet so far away. Yes, a 4 hour drive is really not that far away…but it is when funds are low and you can’t exactly travel yet anyway.
I was hoping we’d get to travel out for his birthday, but Archer had a doctors appointment today and has one Monday morning bright and early so we can’t leave town this weekend. I called my dad instead to wish him a happy birthday, and he told me that if all goes well with work he will be coming up to visit in two weekends. That made my day a little brighter, and I’m really hoping he can make it up. So, my fingers are crossed! 
One of the hardest things about living far away from all my family is the fact that I always used to picture my kids growing up with my sisters’ kids and getting to see my parents {their grandparents} on a regular basis. I pictured sleepovers at their grandparents house, and their aunties houses. 
A lot has changed in the past 2 years, like my parents splitting up and mom no longer being a part of our lives {by her own choice}, but my dad has continued to be an amazing role model for my kids and for that I am extremely thankful. He’s completely hands on and always wants to take the grandkids places. Last time we were down, he took Nolan for the day and took him to the zoo and the park. Nolan had a blast hanging out with his grampa and always does, it reminds me of how I feel about my papa. My papa used to take us everywhere, and I had so many adventures with him growing up. I’m excited for Nolan to have the same adventures with my dad.
And I miss them, my whole family, but especially my dad today because it’s his birthday. 
Happy Birthday Dad, I love you, and I miss you!!
See you soon!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in family, homesick, life as I know it, love, photos. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homesick.

  1. dramaticmama says:

    HOLY EMOTIONAL! {stupid hormones}
    I am actually tearing up reading that Jess. 😦
    I know that I miss you a terrible amount, we hungout like SO much back in the day and then you met Matt, had a baby, I met C & moved away from you, then you moved even further away from me, and now we like never see each other. & I am just a friend, I can't imagine what it must feel like to live that far away from family! 😦 <33

  2. Awww. Happy birthday to your father! He sounds like such a wonderful man, and reminds me of my own dad. I'm so happy for you that you have a great relationship with your dad, and I'm sorry you don't get to see him very often. I can relate, with my parents down in Philadelphia. Anyways, happiest of birthdays to him!

  3. jess ♥ says:

    @dramaticmama: I know, it sucks 😦 you need to get your license, and we both need to stop being so broke lol.

    @Danielle-Marie: Thanks Danielle! He is a wonderful man. Distance sucks!

  4. Pingback: A Father « The Fevered Pen

Leave a Reply

