I need some Extreme Domestic Goddess Dust sprinkled my way

My house looks like a bomb went off in it. I know that’s naturally what a house with a newborn and a toddler looks like, but I still don’t like it. It makes me grouchy, because I feel like I should some how still be able to keep the house super clean and organized and I’m failing. 
I want to tackle the laundry today, but I’m trying to be smart about this whole “c-section healing process” and not over do it. Sure, I lift Nolan because I’m an asshole who can’t follow direction but I told myself it’d be okay if I took it easy with everything else and, you know, didn’t vacuum or scrub floors or do laundry because picking Nolan up is far more important to me {but that doesn’t mean that the mess won’t drive me absolutely nut-so}.
Robyn is on her way too, she should arrive by 11:15 according to her GPS. But she tends to speed, so she’ll probably be here sooner. If I weren’t so lazy/recovering from surgery, I would totally be power cleaning this house. Instead I’m blogging because I don’t want to over do it on my first day without Matt or my MIL to help out should I need it. Robyn will be here, yes, but it feels wrong to ask her to do things like my dishes, change poopy diapers and clean my house. 
{Note: it felt wrong asking my MIL too, but she just did that stuff without me asking because she knows me haha}.
On a related note {to the whole extreme domestic goddess dust thing}, last night I cooked my first meal since the c-section. I made the lamest, most boring spaghetti ever. I burned the shit out of the ground beef because I was also trying to tidy the living room and keep an eye out for Archer who grunts like an old man in his sleep so I constantly think he’s waking up when he’s not. Matt had taken Nolan to Walmart to pick up some stuff for me, so I didn’t have the distraction of a toddler as well but I still somehow managed to butcher the meal. I’m not used to butchering meals that badly {except for Shepherds pie, according to Nolan I “yucky” that shit up real easy}. Plus we were out of like all my regular ingredients, including GARLIC. I’m not too sure what I’m doing for dinner tonight, since we are fresh out of everything, but I hope I don’t butcher it too. 
UGH MY HOUSE IS A DISASTER. I’m really trying not to let the mess get to me, because obviously taking care of the kiddos and myself is far more important than what my house looks like at this point…but STILL. Insert whinny emoticon and exclamation marks!!
In other news, I fired up the laptop today to see Matt has a Job Bank search opened in one of the windows, which is totally awesome because I have been begging him to find a better job. His job is great, don’t get me wrong, the pay is good and his boss is awesome, BUT it isn’t a registered shop so all the hours he’s putting in don’t go to completing his apprenticeship. He’s yet to start that and it’s like a 3-5 year thing so…I kinda want him to start it sooner rather than later, so he finishes sooner rather than later. So, fingers crossed that he finds a really awesome shop locally that will give him an apprenticeship {and fingers crossed that the pay cut won’t be that major}. 

I’m definitely itching to get out of this hell hole!!! The house on the inside is fine and dandy but I’m getting really tired of neighbors and drama and crap. Most of the drama and crap surrounds the damn property management company, who is reportedly screwing over TONS of tenants. I’m terrified they’ll try and pull one over on us in May if we choose to leave. {Haha, IF, more like WHEN}. I want to find a new place so bad, somewhere sort of in the country or at least in town with a decent sized back yard and no attached neighbors, but of course we have to wait it out until May. I’m also hoping that we’ll somehow qualify for a mortgage…buying our own house would be awesome. 
But I really don’t want to live North anymore. I want to be around family, surrounded by family actually. I want to be a few minutes drive from my sisters and my dad and Matt’s mom. I want to always have family nearby should I miss them. The problem is that Matt LOVES living up North, and mostly all of the jobs are here too…unless he gets a job where he’d have to travel.
ANYWAYS; so yeah, I don’t know where I’m going with this random sequence of thoughts post. Bottom line is: I’m tired, my house is messy, and my boys are amazing.
Happy Monday, everyone!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in life as I know it, photos, quick notes, random, the boys, thoughts, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I need some Extreme Domestic Goddess Dust sprinkled my way

  1. Ahh it's rough when you're first getting into the swing of things with a newborn and toddler, but you are doing a great job. If you ask me, the fact that you even got a dinner put together yesterday is an accomplishment. I think we ordered pizza until Hannah was at least 2 weeks old (or until the thought of pizza was making me gag anyways). It IS hard to let the house work go. I'm exactly like you in that sense. Mess drives me insane (how convenient that we had children so close together when we're neat freaks lmao). Try to satisfy the urge by just doing light duty things, leave the rest for Matt. And if it doesn't get done at all, I promise you that your house WILL NOT look that way forever. Everybody expects your home to be in shambles when your baby is that young anyways. As for moving south, I tend to agree that you should come down here! Not just because it actually makes the prospect of us meeting realistic, but because I know what it's like being far away from family. When you start a family of your own, those things become a lot more important, and I think Matt would enjoy it down south too. Maybe he should Job Bank search for southern Ontario 🙂

  2. jess ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: Today I picked up garbage and did a load of the baby's laundry lol. I feel better, but my house is still a mess! I agree, he SHOULD job bank search for Southern Ontario lol

  3. It's so hard not to pick up your toddler. GRRR. For instance what if he's throwing a tantrum and lying on the floor? I could never figure that one out. I hear you girl.

  4. jess ♥ says:

    @Old School/New School Mom: I know! It's hard, and I don't listen at all lol. I've been picking him up since last week… BAD ME

Leave a Reply

