It’s Baby Eve!

Today was my very last day of being pregnant, ever. I’m trying to find the words to describe my thought process…but it’s so difficult! On the one hand, it’s totally cool knowing exactly when our sweet baby will be here. On the other hand…I’m super nervous and anxious. I went into “early labor” with Nolan at my 37th week appointment, and I was already scheduled to get an ultrasound to see if Nolan was still breech {and he was}. During the ultrasound, the tech also realized that my amniotic fluid was low, so they decided to do an “emergency” c-section that night instead of risking sending me home to have me go into labor there, then have to battle through traffic on the Don Valley Parkway {we lived nearly two hours East of Toronto back then}. That wouldn’t have been good at all. So it really did make sense to have the c-section. 
I suppose right now I sorta feel weird about the fact that they will be “taking him out” before my body is “ready” to birth him, you know? I tried to get a later c-section date, but my doctor is pretty much full up so…October 5th it is. I will be 38 weeks and three days. I know that they can’t risk having me go into labor naturally, since they want a super controlled setting in which they can treat me with my DDAVP medicine prior to surgery.
I’m still worried though, worried that he will be super pissed at the interruption of his incubation time.
But I am so very excited to hold him in my arms. I can barely eat, and I stayed up super late last night just thinking about Wednesday, trying to picture how I will feel when he is finally here.
Yesterday I finished packing his hospital bag, and now I just have to pack mine and double check that I have everything I need.
I’ve been trying to distract myself, to keep from exploding with excitement and nerves. I’ve been cleaning and organizing things that I really shouldn’t worry about, but I have to do something while Matt cleans all the carpets with the steam carpet cleaner we rented. Despite the fact that he demands I do nothing – it’s so hard not to. I have to be distracted! Last night I ticked him off by going through all of Nolan’s toys in the living room, throwing out the broken ones etc.
Luckily, my wonderful mother-in-law arrived from out of town to help with the distractions, and I had my pre-admissions appointment at the hospital. Then I had to swing by my OB’s office to sign the “get er fixed” forms. After that, we did a little fun activity with Nolan: painting my pregnant belly! Even if it was a little messy, I totally recommend this to any pregnant mama with older kids. It’s so much fun!

I’m going to give Nolan extra snuggles and stories at bedtime tonight, because I won’t be able to for a little bit. I think that’s what sucks the most about having another c-section: I’ll have to really take it easy, and not do a lot of the stuff I regularly do without think. Climbing into Nolan’s twin sized bed with the guard rails is difficult. Never fear, we’ll still snuggle and read on the couch but it won’t be the same…you know? At least not until my belly is healed and I can climb into his bed again. 
I am so excited for him to meet his brother, like…words can’t even express it. I just know I’ll be bawling like a baby.
I can’t believe it. Tomorrow. It’s so close!
I will post a quick update with a photo of baby, his name and birth stats as soon as I’m aware enough to do so.
Then, starting on Thursday {and breaking only for the weekend}, I have asked some friends to write guest posts for my blog about motherhood. I’ve already read them and trust me they are amazing!
I’m so excited/nervous/scared/thrilled.
♥
About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in count downs, day to day stuff, family, thoughts, updates, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s Baby Eve!

  1. I read the title and thought you ended up going into labor and had a girl, hahaha. I'm awesome.

    That belly painting idea is the coolest idea EVER. I can't wait to do that!

    Keeping you in my thoughts. Good luck and enjoy your last night!

  2. Heather says:

    Good luck tomorrow! I hope everything goes off without a hitch and both you and him are safe and sound when it's all over.

    Can't wait to see pics 🙂

  3. awww!!! I'll be on this side thinking and praying for you!!!! I can't wait to see pictures and hear of your experience. That little guy is gonna be one hell of a big brother! Sleep well and enjoy your very last day of being pregnant!!

  4. Tierney says:

    So excited for you! Wishing you the best of luck tomorrow and that adjusting to the new baby goes smoothly for each of you! I can't wait to hear all about him! I think all of your readers are (almost) as excited as you are. We'll all be sending good thoughts your way 🙂

  5. So so so so sooooooo excited for you. Good luck, happy thoughts, and prayers your way. I know it'll all turn out great. Little man will be fine…NO, PERFECT! You will do beautifully. Second time c-sections are easy peasy lemon squeezy. The hardest part, like you said, is being away from Nolan. But its only a couple of days and then you'll all be together, your family complete. XOXO.

  6. BEYOND excited for you guys!! Family of 4 will be here TOMORROW! I cannot wait to see the newest addition!!! Good Luck to you and CONGRATS to you 3!!!:) xoxoxoxoox

  7. Karen S in Oz says:

    So very excited. Good luck with everything and can't wait to see your new precious boy 🙂
    Loved the belly painting. Fantastic idea. Keeping you in my thoughts.

  8. Ashlee says:

    Oh good luck and congrats!! The belly painting looks so fun! How cute

  9. Jessa says:

    Woohoo for today!!! It's MY baby brothers birthday, so obviously a wonderful day to have a baby! Can't WAIT to see photos of your new baby boy!

  10. Mason's Mama says:

    Thinking and praying for you guys today!!! Happy Birthday sweet baby boy!!

  11. Pingback: The Birthday Eve « The Fevered Pen

Leave a Reply

