Four…

FOUR MORE DAYS!!!

Alright folks, I’m getting deeply excited now. As if I wasn’t already 😉
Last night, Matt picked up the bassinet and it is so damn cute! He thinks it’s super frilly and girlie, but I love it. Now I’m feeling even lighter than before, because I have somewhere for baby to rest during the day when we are downstairs! {This was a concern because of the c-section, I didn’t want to be running up and down the stairs when we spend the majority of our time downstairs during the day.}

Today I was desperate to do something “special” for our last Saturday as a family of three! So after breakfast, we went to the mall and bought Nolan a winter jacket. I finally got my eyebrows waxed {trust me: it was needed and I have put it off long enough!}. After our quick mall trip, we headed out of town. We were going to head straight to the pumpkin patch, but when we were nearly there Matt decided he wanted to continue on towards Sudbury to visit with his brother. We got halfway to Sudbury before I finally ignored Matt’s “rules” to not text him {he wanted it to be a surprise} and texted his brother only to find out he was laid up on the couch with the bug that’s going around!

We still proceeded to Sudbury because we were nearly there, and Matt was convinced we could get me a winter jacket. Of course, Old Navy didn’t have any winter jackets so we left empty handed and went to Home Scene because I adore that store! I spent forever browsing the fall/Halloween section, haha.
We ended up just picking out a little present for the baby {which I will blog about later, when I do the nursery progress report} and then left Sudbury to finally go to the pumpkin patch!

It was tons of fun!

 Nolan rocking his new winter jacket {that totally matches his Daddy’s! How cute is that?!}

 Exploring the pumpkins for the best one!

 Gosh he is a handsome fellow!

 So many pumpkins!

 There were wild turkeys and chickens running around, and Nolan had a blast chasing them haha.

Waiting to purchase wagon ride tickets & not looking too sure about it!

 Little maze they had {which we definitely hit up after our wagon ride!}

 “Let’s GO!”

 All of us! The only picture with me in it from our entire time there haha. The life of a mom?

 Loving the sights!

Just about to go into the maze & coming out!

Telling me how awesome the maze was, and looking a little exhausted haha. {He didn’t sleep in the car at ALL}.

I had such a blast with my boys today & I’m really glad we decided to go to the pumpkin patch! I absolutely love pumpkin patches, and fall! I only wish we had time to paint a pumpkin and have Nolan’s face painted – although I doubt it would have stayed painted for very long anyway!

We picked out two giant pumpkins and two tiny ones for the kids, and I’m so excited to carve them! I won’t be getting ahead of myself though…last year we carved our pumpkin a little too early so it sorta rotted by the time Halloween finally arrived. I also was dying to buy corn stocks to decorate our front porch with, but they wouldn’t fit in our car 😦

Plus Matt isn’t exactly sold with me decorating the outside of our house. We live in the end unit of a bunch of row houses, and our house is right beside a very well used path. We always get stupid kids doing stupid things…and Matt worries that I’d invest a lot of time {and, let’s face it, money} on decorating only to have the neighborhood trouble makers destroy it. 😦 SIGH.

I won’t lie, it really ticks me off that I can’t go nuts on our front porch because of the neighborhood trouble makers. I love fall, and Halloween! And decorating for the seasons! I drive Matt nuts, seriously.

Maybe next year when we move somewhere nicer, I will be able to do things like that! In any case, I’m glad we got our pumpkins and had a wonderful Saturday spent completely outside of the house! I definitely want to go back before fall ends.

In any case, I’ll definitely be making these Halloween Jar Luminaries! They will be in the house, so I won’t worry about silly trouble makers ruining them. As for the pumpkins, I totally plan on finding some stencils online to use! They’re gonna look epic.

HAH! I love that this post about how there’s only four days left until c-section day totally turned into a post all about fall and Halloween. Oops? Guess I’m just trying to keep myself from freaking out with excitement about that haha. 

 ****

Also, I wanted to let y’all know I’ve joined the Restless Blog Hop over at Christa’s blog. I love blog hops, I think they are fantastic ways of finding new blogs and “meeting” new people!

young and restless

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in count downs, fall, family, fun stuff, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Four…

  1. Congrats on your new little who will be in here in just a few days!

    I love fall so much too! I'm so excited to take our little guy to the pumpkin patch, I'm just waiting for it to feel a little more fall-like here in Northern CA. It's about 75 degrees today so I think we are getting there!

    Thanks for stopping by from the blog hop!

    <3 Melissa @ knit purl baby

  2. I love the picture of the tons of pumpkins!
    I sent my husband to the attic on Sept 1 to get down my fall decor =)

  3. Jessa says:

    I let my husband go alone to Walmart and he came home with more Halloween decorations….

  4. jess ♥ says:

    @Melissa @knit purl baby: Thank you so much!! Yeah, it was 8 degrees C today, which felt pretty fall-like to me haha!! And no problem, it was a pleasure finding and reading your blog 🙂

    @Learning to be wife & mommy: Thanks!!! I wish I had kept our fall decor, it was dollarstore stuff but still lol! I should have hung on to it!

    @Jessa: HAH! Your husband sounds like me, actually. I told Matt that I'm TOTALLY buying a fog machine and a billion other awesome decorations next year. I understand why we can't this year, but next year my goal is to be in a better neighborhood etc 😀 Perhaps even in our own house!! {now THAT'S wishful thinking…sigh}

  5. So cute! Good luck with the csection. 🙂

  6. Jess says:

    I wish we did Halloween in Australia! We sort of do but it's nothing in terms of you guys.

    I can't believe I've got 50 days (give or take) and was thinking that was nothing…4 days OMG!

    Good luck with everything. I'm going to sign up for twitter just to stay in the loop with how it all goes.

  7. so adorable 🙂
    great blog:)
    Im just having giveaway, so if you want you can join it 🙂 Its free and easy
    ⓈⓈ ⒻⒶⓈⒽⒾⓄⓃ ⓌⓄⓇⓁⒹ

  8. jess ♥ says:

    @RJ and Jessie: Thank you!!!

    @Jess: 😀 50 days will fly by!!! Thank you 🙂

    @SS Fashion World: Thank you!!!

  9. Meg says:

    Oh my gosh – I love that picture of Nolan and daddy in matching jackets! Seriously so cute!!

  10. jess ♥ says:

    @Meg: Thank you! I agree! It kills me lmao! So adorable I can't even stand it. I want to get them matching hats and mitts too but Matt isn't a big hat and mitt guy lol. If only they had a tiny full snowsuit option for newborns lmao!

Leave a Reply

