11 More Days….

 “Smoothie Time”
*

This morning we did some last minute baby shopping at the mall. I think I can nearly say we have everything we need when baby first arrives. I’m sure we’re forgetting little things here and there, but we got the major things so I can breathe a little easier.
Whilst walking around Walmart, I started to get sharp pains in my lower back {along with the painful braxtons I’ve been having for days now}. We sat down in the food court for a bit, and Nolan & I split a smoothie, but I was still mega sore and uncomfortable. 
Matt thinks I’ve been doing too much – rearranging the baby’s room when he was at work, carrying baskets of laundry around, cleaning, chasing a toddler – and I suppose I have, but how can you not? I can’t just do nothing all day.
When we got home Matt put Nolan down for a nap {which he didn’t take, of course}, gave me a massage and then ran me a bath. I think the massage and the bath helped some but I’m still sore. I know I need to take it easy but there is just so much that needs to be done, we only have 11 days. Next weekend we need to rent a carpet steam cleaner, because our carpets seriously need it {and the baby’s room has a mystery smell of what Matt thinks is old cat pee from the previous people who lived here}, so obviously we have to have a clean house for that.
But I am going to take it easier. I know, I keep saying that…but it’s true. I’m tired of pushing myself to the point of being in extremely uncomfortable pain, and I need to accept that I just can’t do things as easily {or as often} as I could earlier on in this pregnancy. I fight a never ending battle with mess and clutter, so I need to relax and realize that the mess and clutter? Isn’t going anywhere. So long as the house gets cleaned and vacuumed by next weekend {for us to steam clean the carpets}, it should be okay…right? 
Ugh. 
I’m not impressed with my body though. Today my friend Brittany is throwing a little birthday party for her daughter, Serena, who is two today. Nolan adores Serena and loves seeing her, so I’m super bummed out that we’re not able to go. I feel like I’m constantly canceling on poor Brittany, thanks to these pregnancy pains {and the lack of car issue}. 😦
I’m also super stressing about Monday and Tuesday. I have appointments both days, and Matt can’t take his truck to work. I’m really hoping we can figure something out, because I can’t miss these appointments…but alas, Matt’s boss is getting frustrated with the amount of time he’s had to take off recently {thanks to me and my bloody appointments}, and the baby isn’t even here yet. Matt is afraid to tick his boss off too much, thus loosing the week he plans on taking off in October for the baby. 
It really sucks not really having anybody around to help out in binds like this. Down South I have SO many family members, so many friends with cars that getting help when in a sticky situation is possible. But here…well. It’s just us. Brittany watches Nolan for me when I have appointments {thank you Brittany!!}, but if I don’t have my car…how do I get to appointments in the first place?
Ugh. So, yeah. 11 more days. I can’t wait. I’m tired of being sore all the time, and of not knowing if I should be concerned about things. Again I need to ask why can’t we just have buzzers that go off when we’re in labor?! Seriously. It would make things so much easier. 

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in I don't really know, photos, quick notes, rambling, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 11 More Days….

  1. Aw, poor Mommy! You're in the home stretch, though, so just try to take it easy and not worry. Everything will come together, and even if you don't get everything done, Baby will be happy and very well loved. I can't wait to “meet” him!

    xo

  2. Take it easy girl! I'm so glad Matt is helping out A LOT! That makes a big difference. And Liz is right, you are in the home stretch. HOW EXCITING!

  3. jess ♥ says:

    @Liz: You're right! And I can't wait to introduce him 😉

    @Old School/New School Mom: I'm glad too, sucks for the 8 hours he's not around during the week though lol. Just nine more days!

  4. Matt is probably right…you DO probably need to take it a little easier. But I get how hard it is to do so when you've got another little one to care for. I'm sorry you don't have family nearby, but I am glad for you that Matt is so supportive. It was the other way around for me when I was pregnant with Hannah and I think I would've much rather had it your way.

  5. jess ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: I just feel bad, cause he works so hard all day and has to come home and do like EVERYTHING. UGH. It sucks. Matt has been helpful the whole pregnancy but the last little while he's been even MORE helpful. Remember how I complained on twitter that his way of “doing the dishes” for me was to pile them, dirty, by the sink? LOL well now he actually WASHES them!!!

Leave a Reply

