Twenty-Nine Weeks

 {28 weeks and 6 days}

My twenty-eight week of pregnancy was a rather exciting and interesting one. I ended up in the hospital after experiencing cramps and tightness, was told I have an “irritable uterus” and flushed with fluids then sent home {after they checked my cervix and gave me an ultrasound to check my amniotic fluid}. The next day, I went to the hospital for my pre-admissions appointment and glucose test. My pre-admissions appointment went very well, we got all the paperwork filled out and signed, but the glucose test? Not so well. I ended up throwing up the entire drink just 10 minutes after finishing it. Nasty. So I had to go in the following day. Thankfully, everything went smoothly and I kept the drink down! Needless to say, I’m glad we’re entering a new week {in general and in pregnancy}.

 {29 weeks}

So, how am I feeling? Large and in charge! Well, sort of in charge. I’ve been super exhausted lately! After just waking up I’ll long to crawl back into bed for another 3 hours. I’ve been napping while Nolan naps, and keeping very hydrated to avoid anymore hospital trips. Don’t want my uterus to get irritated again! My breasts have been leaking quite a bit lately, too. I know, too much information! All I can say is that I’m honestly glad I purchased a few washable nursing pads because I am not ready to need to buy boxes of nursing pads each month!

I now require body pillows on either side of me, so that no matter which way I face I can support my belly and hips without needing to wake up and readjust everything. Poor Matt has been sleeping on just three inches of bed lately, thanks to all the space I take up! I told him he’s lucky he gets that 😉 I’m sure as I get bigger that space will decrease.

Baby boy makes his presence known very often. I love his kicks and wiggles, and I find it amusing that I can actually grab his little feet when he pushes out as much as he does. It’s a little game we play, and he loves it because he keeps coming back for more 😉

Baby boy also loves to play with his big brother!

Whenever Nolan interacts with my belly {which is often lately}, his little baby brother kicks like mad and starts dancing! Even if he was at rest. I love it. Nolan will put his hands on my belly and say “KICK BABY!”. The other day, I told him his brother was kicking and Nolan dropped everything he was playing with to run over and feel it! Then he climbed up on my lap and put his foot gently on my belly. It was the sweetest thing ever, because the brothers were feet to feet!


From Baby Center:

“Your baby now weighs about 2 1/2 pounds (like a butternut squash) and is a tad over 15 inches long from head to heel. His muscles and lungs are continuing to mature, and his head is growing bigger to make room for his developing brain. To meet his increasing nutritional demands, you’ll need plenty of protein, vitamins C, folic acid, and iron. And because his bones are soaking up lots of calcium, be sure to drink your milk (or find another good source of calcium, such as cheese, yogurt, or enriched orange juice). This trimester, about 250 milligrams of calcium are deposited in your baby’s hardening skeleton each day.”

So I suppose I should stop feeling guilty about eating nearly a whole block of cheese to myself, huh? No risk of baby not getting enough calcium, that’s for sure!

My next prenatal visit is August 23rd, and I’m hoping that we’ll start getting the anesthesiologist appointments and hematologist appointments set up, and possibly figure out what day our c-section will be on. Yes, we’ve decided to go through with the c-section, for many reasons really. When I visited the hematologist in Hamilton, she recommended that I stick to what worked best last time. I healed perfectly fine and they were able to administer the medicine I need to prevent any uncontrolled bleeding from happening.

I am sort of sad about this, but I’d rather not risk it. I don’t want to screw up my backs and hips more. I know that a c-section recovery will be difficult, but if I mess with my hips and back….well, the recovery time could be even more difficult. I still want to play with my little ones, after all! I’m not saying I would for sure end up screwing up my hips and back, but who knows? I’ve never had an x-ray on my hips and pelvic area to see if birthing is even an option, since Nolan was an unplanned pregnancy and this pregnancy happened very quickly. I also have MHE on a completely different gene than anyone I know, so I can’t exactly compare my body to theirs.

BUT, there is a bonus with a scheduled c-section! I’ll get to know exactly when this sweet prince is coming!

I’ve been nesting like crazy, making lists and going nuts with trying to prepare for baby. My next major project is to paint the dresser. I have purchased baby laundry soap and started washing the few outfits we have. I’ve cleaned out baby’s closet and had the crib set up. I’m still feeling as if I’m not accomplishing enough though. Waiting for the funds to be there is difficult, especially when I just want to get everything done!

Lately, I’ve been getting asked a lot by friends/family/strangers about name choices. Have we chosen a name yet? The answer is yes, he has a name, a beautiful name. But we aren’t going to reveal it until after he makes his sweet appearance! Every time I tell people this, they seem to get irritated with me. Especially the strangers! Oh well! I can’t wait to share it with everyone, but I do want to keep it secret until he is born. So, roughly 11 more weeks to go!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bump watch, photos, pregnancy, updates, what's up in my uterus. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Twenty-Nine Weeks

  1. Heather says:

    I understand not wanting to share the name; people sure do love to share their opinions about them (good or bad)!

  2. Hehe the picture with Nolan playing with cereal on your belly is cute.

    I understand your disappointment in having to go forward with a c-section but I'm kind of glad you're doing it this way too. Like the doc said, you know it went well last time so that's comforting.

    I'm the type who won't even reveal/find out my baby's gender so I think it's great you're surprising us with little man's name 🙂

  3. jessi ♥ says:

    @Heather: Oh I know!! We've heard it all already from the family members we told – most of them, don't like it. Then and again, they didn't like Nolan's name at first either! It's too different. They prefer names like Jacob and David I guess lol! {Not that there's anything wrong with those names, just that we want something different!}

    @Danielle-Marie: I have A LOT of pictures like that, actually lol. And yeah, it is comforting. My body does handle surgical procedures pretty good, I've been through it so many time so it's not as scary to me as the prospect of tearing really badly, hurting my hips/back etc. And yeah, I wasn't THAT patient lol 😉

Leave a Reply

