Busy Saturday

Today was a good day. In the morning, Nolan and I went over to Nat’s for a play date with little cousin A {who actually isn’t all that little at all…he’s a bit bigger than Nolan}.

Nat and I chatted while the kiddos played together, and they played together very nicely! Usually Nolan is apprehensive around A. I missed out on the adorable hug the boys shared, and was super bummed about it because HELLO, toddlers hugging is ridiculously cute. We didn’t even prompt them 😉

We came home for a family nap, which was super nice and needed! Nolan woke up very frustrated and sad though, and it took us a good half hour to get him to calm down and stop crying. The three of us snuggled on the couch, ate grapes and cheese and watched Ponyo – Nolan’s favourite movie right now {why, I don’t know}. After the movie, Matt went out to pick up more spray paint for the change pad table. We’re on our third can of spray paint, and I’m hoping this is it but I’m not holding my breath. This project had required more spray paint than I thought! I told Matt we should have just bought a can of paint, but apparently the spindles would be difficult to paint with a brush and spray paint will look better, it’s just irritating because we keep under guessing how much paint we’ll need. **AND apparently the humidity made some of the paint bubble, and Matt is now talking of needing to sand it and re-do it. SERIOUSLY, head to desk frustrating. 😦

BUT, the change pad table is looking fabulous and I can’t wait for it to be finished and put back together so I can show y’all how awesome it looks 🙂 I love the colour we picked!

After Matt put a coat of paint on the change pad table pieces and after we ate dinner & gave Nolan a quick bath, we had to go back to Nat’s so I could grab my camera and Nolan’s sippy cup. We are down to 2 sippy cups, and I haven’t bought more because I feel like Nolan is almost near ditching them all together. The two we have are mostly used when we go out and to give him water during nap time {it gets really hot upstairs}. He drinks out of a big boy cup at every meal and even in between {when he steals whatever we’re drinking}.

Then we decided to take Nolan to that little park/beach area Matt showed me! I went a little nuts with pictures…{totally loving the Barbl camera on Retro Cam}:

 

 First time [ever] on a teeter totter!

I took some with my regular camera option on my phone because the colours were just so pretty…

And then Matt stole my phone to snap some pictures…

It was a fun little trip! Nolan was an hour late for bed but he passed out basically 5 minutes after I put him down.

Tomorrow is supposed to be a rainy day, but I’m hoping that will change. We haven’t gone to the Midway because the appeal of it has worn off – too many people, too much money to spend on stuff we can’t even really take advantage of. Nolan won’t go on any rides by himself, I’m pregnant and Matt doesn’t trust the rides anyway haha. I’m sad that Matt and I will miss out on the bands, but when you don’t have a sitter…sigh. Such is life!

Hope you are all having a great weekend with your families!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in day to day stuff, nesting, photos, random, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Busy Saturday

  1. Cute pics! Aww, your boy is almost ready for a REAL CUP and mine won't even use a sippy. Boo to bottles!!!!

  2. Karen S in Oz says:

    Gorgeous Pics 🙂

Leave a Reply

