Twenty-eight Weeks

Twenty-eight weeks as of Sunday…two more weeks until we hit the thirty week mark, which has always been a “big pregnancy milestone” in my mind. The big 3-0. I don’t know why exactly, but that’s how it is!

The Hulk is hilariously active, and I love it. I love waking up to his kicks and grooves, I love feeling him freak out whenever he hears Matt or Nolan talking. He is still flipping around in there like crazy.

According to Baby Center, baby boy weighs two and a quarter pounds and measures at 14.8 inches from head to toe. That’s 6.2 inches shorter than Nolan was when he was born! Crazy, huh? Also, Baby Center says that he probably is able to sense light filtering in from my belly now, what with his eyesight developing. Pretty wicked! We will definitely keep trying the flashlight on the belly trick to see how he reacts from week to week.

I’ve finally entered my third trimester and I’m feeling pretty good about it. My appetites are back {heh, we won’t go into detail there…}, despite my energy levels being at an all time low. I do have random bursts of energy that I jump all over and use to clean my entire house {because it falls into dismay when I’m not energetic}. In fact, Sunday morning I spent cleaning our entire house. Upstairs sparkled, downstairs sparkled and I nearly got caught up in laundry {but let’s be realistic here…laundry never stops when you have kids}. But I get tired really easy, and the heat doesn’t help. Yesterday I took Nolan to the park, the one five minutes away from our house and my legs were so exhausted and heavy by the time they got there, all I could do was sit! I guess I could chalk it up to my cleaning spree earlier that day…

Also, my body seems incapable of sleeping in past 7am, despite really needing to most days. Baby boy wakes me up by pushing out and causing tons of pressure in my belly, and then I’m up…feeling him kick and move about.

And my rib cage? HOLY HELL. It doesn’t always hurt, but sometimes it really kills. Like Sunday morning when I was laying on the couch snuggling with Matt and Nolan. WHAM rib cage pain FTL. I’ve also been feeling slight twinges of pain in my c-section scar area, but I’m told that’s normal! As always, my hips ache often but that’s probably just due to weight gain and having sucky hips.

Baby is doing some pretty interesting things in my belly too. My belly button has been sticking out since I got pregnant, basically, and last night while watching True Blood with Matt…baby decided to put what felt like his little hand in my belly button and push out. It was the strangest sensation ever, and totally noticeable from the outside too. I felt it, and so did Matt. He proceeded to push out with his little hands and knees and feet, causing big smiles and laughter from Matt and I because we could see everything. 

So, yeah. Bottom line is I’m feeling pretty damn good, despite the exhaustion and occasional twinges of pain here and there. 12 more weeks until baby boy makes his appearance! Can’t wait!!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in photos, pregnancy, updates, what's up in my uterus. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Twenty-eight Weeks

  1. 4:48am!? Omg did you really write it at that time? I'm glad you are feeling good though!

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: no lol! My blogger time thing is messed. I wrote some of it last night and finished it at like 7am this morning. And thanks! Me too. Totally forgot to write about my depth perception fails!

  3. I have been watching True Blood too and I love it- so addicting.

    I have seen mummies use those musical belts to try and calm the baby- not sure if they work 🙂 but I think if I had a little baby in my belly I would try it or the bath tub.

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    @Erika Lee Sears: It totally is!! I love True Blood! And those belts are a tad bit expensive for me lol! I just rub my belly and we talk to him, plus play some music outside. Baby can sense vibrations and apparently noise now so it works I think!

Leave a Reply

