One Year Later…

Dear Matt;

As you already know, today is our one year wedding anniversary. Power to us for not forgetting! All those Facebook reminders must have helped 😉

A year ago today, I primped and prettied myself up to walk down the aisle to marry the love of my life – you. I nervously pounded back a glass of orange juice and champagne, and could only eat a banana and some other fruit. I was so nervous that I would screw up the vows, or trip over my feet, or do something else horrendously embarrassing that would prompt you to run away from me at the alter. Luckily, none of those things {save for me tripping over my own feet} happened. Our wedding ceremony was beautiful and perfect, especially with Nolan’s baby laughter in the background.

I didn’t think it was possible to fall more in love with you than I was already on this day, last year, but somehow…it happened. And it continues to happen. Every time you come home after a long day of working and school, and immediately get on the floor to build towers or play trucks with Nolan, every time you crawl into bed after me, thinking I’m sleeping, and put your hands gently on my belly to feel baby kicking and hold me close. Every time I look at you, really.

You are a remarkable man, a hard worker and an incredible father. I am so blessed to get to share my life with you, to walk by your side and hold your hand through it all. You make me feel important and loved, and I know sometimes I get a little whiny and “oh woe is me!” but I do know the truth of it: I am important, and I am loved. You do a great job reminding me that, even when I’m being “smoopey” for no reason ;). And I can easily forgive your slights, such as not rushing out at midnight to buy me a carton of serbert, because I know that next time you go grocery shopping you’ll pick it up 😉

I was hoping to do something spectacular for our one year wedding anniversary, like take a small weekend trip or something, but our budget doesn’t allow for that and that’s okay. Instead, we get to go out on a date in your truck because we finally have a sitter who will come to our house 😉 I’m incredibly excited, I love riding around with you in your truck {even if she is a money pit!}. Besides, time with you is all I need! We’ve proved time and time again that we don’t need tons of cash and fancy trips to have a good time, we can have a blast just sitting around in our underwear watching Trailer Park Boys! Now that’s love 😉

So, happy anniversary, lover! Here’s to many more!

Love always,
The Wifey {aka Jess}

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in letters, love, Matt, milestones, photos. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One Year Later…

  1. Natasha says:

    Awh, so cute! Hope you two have an awesome day!

  2. Jessa says:

    Happy Anniversary!!! ❤

  3. jessi ♥ says:

    @Natasha: Thank you!! We did 🙂

    @Jessa: Thanks love!

    @Danielle-Marie: Thank you! 😀

  4. Karen S in Oz says:

    That was beautiful. Happy Anniversary 🙂 Gosh it has gone so quickly.
    Glad that you had a wonderful day and got to go out on a date.

  5. jessi ♥ says:

    @Karen S: Thank you!

  6. criri says:

    Sorry I am late. Congratulations! The first year is the toughest, even if you've lived together before it's still different. I wish you both lots of Love, Laughter, and lifelong Joy! ❤ xo

  7. jessi ♥ says:

    @criri: Thank you!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

