First night in his big boy bed!

While Nolan and I were down south, Matt set up Nolan’s bed. Last night he got to sleep in it for the first time! He slept very well in it and was all smiles when I went to get him this morning. He hasn’t yet attempted to climb out of the bed {and called for my help when he was ready to get out}.

He looks so lost in that big bed!

But he loves it, so there’s that. Nolan has the bed I’ve had since I was 10 years old. Pretty cool huh? I’ll be dressing it up to make it look more “masculine”.

The second hand dresser we bought that I’m going to have needs one more coat of paint before I can give Nolan the matching dresser, but I predict by Saturday I will have his room all but set up! I still need to pick up a few things {blinds that actually fit, red knobs for his dresser and night stand, etc} but we have the red Ikea shelves thanks to my beautiful friend Robyn who picked them up for me last week! I can’t wait to hang them and start decorating πŸ˜‰

As for the nursery….well. Sigh. I’ve accepted the fact that I probably won’t be ordering any of the lovely things I wanted to order. I also won’t be doing it in an owl theme, at least not right away. Life happened, and vehicles need some repairs and Matt has several expensive certification tests coming up…so we’re holding off until who knows when. We do have a perfectly good bedding set – the Zanzibar nursery theme that Nolan had, so we’re planning on reusing that for baby. We’ll make his room look different somehow. I’m very sad I can’t do my owl theme…but maybe one day? Who says you have to have the completed nursery by the time they arrive anyway, right? 😦 The important thing is the baby! He has somewhere to sleep, have his bum changed, be rocked and cuddled, and so on and so forth.

Nolan went through several different nursery schemes before I found “the one” for him anyway. His big boy bedroom is going to be a mixture of all the things he loves πŸ™‚

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in changes, kids, N, photos, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First night in his big boy bed!

  1. Heehee, he does look a little lost in that bed, but so cute in that little sea of stuffed animals! It reminds me of my sister, who had to sleep with every single one she owned, and had so many that there was hardly any room for her!

    That sucks that you can't do the owls. I wanted to see pictures, because I love owls and was thinking about stealing that theme for my future baby. (; In all seriousness though, you're right: The important thing is that he has somewhere to sleep, and in time you will get his nursery put together. You will have your owls! β™₯

  2. What a good boy! I love the bed…it's not at all feminine looking so you did a very good job making it go from your bed to Nolan's bed. Hey, if it makes you feel any better we aren't decorating our kids' rooms until we take possession of the new house. Both my kids had very basic baby bedding and gender neutral colours because 1.) we couldn't afford it and 2.) I didn't want to shell out that kind of money when they didn't yet have personalities.

  3. @Liz: He does look lost lol! He loves his sea of stuffed animals, every night before bed he “reads” to them {after we have our story time}, and he always chatters away with them in the morning. Super adorable! Sigh, yeah I'm super bummed about the owl thing 😦 like super bummed. But alas….baby needs clothes and diapers over owls right? <3

    @Danielle-Marie: True, that does make me feel better! It's hard to do something “special” for a baby when you have NO idea what they're going to be like. I'm still going to do special, but I think I'll be making the special parts photos and handmade crafts instead of an entire theme.

  4. dramaticmama says:

    Awh yay! BIG BOY BED! πŸ™‚
    Is this the bed we had sleepovers on? lol.

    I can't believe that he has his own big boy bed already!!!

  5. @Dramaticmama: YEP lol it sure is. I know! It's insanity!

Leave a Reply

